We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
The Townhouse Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 King Street, Maidstone ME14 1BH, England (Formerly King Street Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Maidstone
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night to go to friends party. Lovely room, welcoming reception and great location. Would have been good if breakfast was a little later. 930 is a bit early to stop serving on a Sunday! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
20
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed one night at the Townhouse on business on my own. Excellent check in- so friendly and the young lady that checked me in even carried my suitcase upstairs even though I could have done this myself. Close to town centre. Room lovely, clean and the bed very comfortable and from someone who doesn't sleep that good in Hotel beds I would recommend this obese.

Room Tip: As a business traveller who wants wifi access which is free ask for a room with better access. My ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice, maybe not quite the £119 price tag nice, but it's a decent little hotel.

The service however was some of the worst I've ever encountered and we travel a lot.

My boyfriend and I were in town visiting family and friends, we live in Sydney, Aus so it was a busy night for us. The hotel had provided all the guests with an out of ours key code to get into the hotel.

We arrived back at the hotel at 3am to find that even with the key code the door had been bolted from the inside and we were locked out. I called the out of hours mobile number provided and it was then I encountered the WORST customer service I've ever experienced.

The guy who answered the phone had the worst attitude and was actually trying to tell me it was my problem as I'm out so late. He repeatedly asked me the time and told me that he was at home with his family. His tone was so rude, I actually had to ask himself to remind himself that I was a customer and he is the provided out of hours contact and should speak more professionally.

As it turns out absolutely not one member of staff actually stays on site during the night, this particular staff member lived 30 minutes away in a taxi.

At 4am and thoroughly outraged at how id been spoken to, we were eventually let in after the guy scaled the wall at the back on the building to let us in.

Based on this one Staff members behaviour we will certainly be avoiding this place on all future visits and telling all our friends to do the same.

I find it completely outrageous that not one staff member remains in the hotel, over night, there is no security and the only contact is 30 minutes drive away.

I would highly recommend that if you intend on staying out later than 11pm that you look at very similar nearby hotels like The Grangemore and Oakwood house where the experience is a little more professional and courteous.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

After travelling up from South Wales we stayed at the Townhouse for 1 night during a brief vist to Kent and we wished we had stayed longer.The staff were extremely professional and welcoming Having stayed in so many chain hotels it was a pleasant surprise to have a room with so much character and charm with beautiful high ceilings. There is a new very modern garden terrace and courtyard at the rear of the hotel which was a pleasant surprise and excellent waiter, waitress service meant a few more glasses of wine were drunk than were meant to be!! We had a delicious evening meal 5 star standard and there was no problem catering for my coeliac gluten intolerance allergy.No hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed in the Town House Hotel in August after travelling around the country for 9 weeks. This was by far the best hotel I stayed in throughout this time. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and went out of their way to help us whenever possible. I'd highly reccomend Adam's 'Town House Special' cocktail at the bar and I loved the warm crossaints in the morning. If I was being picky the room was a bit small, would have liked a bath and more plug sockets. Overall it was fresh, clean and friendly and I would say it's probably the best hotel in Maidstone.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a family room on the top floor of the annexe building. Clean and nice and quiet. Ours the only room on that floor so no stress about our toddler or baby waking any neighbours.
Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful (carrying bags, setting up travel cot in advance, providing milk, generally pleasant and nice).
Room nicely decorated, not especially fancy but again that was a good thing with 2 children in with us.
Restaurant really nice, we had Sunday lunch which was exceptional.
Handy for Turkey Mill as well as the town centre.
The only thing I'd say was that for families, do be aware that the room we had didn't have a bath, only a shower. Fine for us but not all kids cope well with that. Also, parking potentially an issue, but we managed to get a space right outside (free from 6pm to 8am and all day Sunday) every day except one, when we were able to park in the hotel spaces very close by (though had to move by 8am).
Overall, a lovely stay in a really nice, quiet family room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I booked four rooms for my friends and I (we were going to a wedding) Which was quite a responsibility! to my relief, all of us were so happy with the hotel. The staff gave us a really warm welcome, the carpark we used is next door (£4 for the night) the room was bright and fresh with The White Company soaps etc. and big kingsize bed. The food was amazing - we had a cheeky burger before the wedding which was fab and breakfast was great and cooked to order. If you're going to Maidstone, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse Hotel

Address: 74 King Street, Maidstone ME14 1BH, England (Formerly King Street Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Townhouse Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse Hotel located in the heart of Maidstone town centre was built in 1802 as a rectory and represents a wonderful example of Georgian architecture. This Grade II listed building has been refurbished, transforming it into Maidstone's first 'Boutique' hotel and restaurant. Offering 17 stunning rooms and an exemplary restaurant The Townhouse can cater for almost all your needs.Gareth Cox at the Townhouse is our stunning and highly rated fine dining restaurant. The new head chef Gareth Cox uses only the best of local and seasonal produce to create innovative and unique dishes as well as some tried and tested classics (with a little twist of his own) . Gareth has been trained to a Michelin level under some of Britain's most influential chefs such as Gordon Ramsey, Richard Phillips and numerous 5 star hotels throughout London.The Townhouse Hotel is close to County Hall, Kent archives, Leeds Castle, Hever Castle, Mote Park, Hop Farm Family Park, Hop Farm, Archbishop's Palace, Maidstone Hospital and County Court, All Saints Church and Vintners Park. We are also within walking distance of The Orangery, Turkey Mill for guests who are attending weddings and functions there. The Townhouse Hotel is also ideal for anyone who likes to be close to all the restaurants, pubs, theaters, cinemas, bus and train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Street Maidstone
The Townhouse Hotel Maidstone, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.