We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
The Townhouse Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 King Street, Maidstone ME14 1BH, England (Formerly King Street Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Maidstone
Annan, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Welcoming and helpful, very convenient for the town centre. Looks like it has a very good restaurant although we didn't have the opportunity to use it. It was very hot when we were here but the room temperature was comfortable at night time.

Room Tip: We were in a family room on the ground floor, the room itself was good, only down side was the outlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
20
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed over in a twin room with another family member. I am familiar with the town and was delighted to find such a nice hotel in a very central location. I was concerned about the parking but it was a breeze. I parked in the adjacent Chequers multi-storey rooftop - you do need to go into the town centre and make sure you get on the roof top if at all possible otherwise it could be a bit of a pain. The arrangement was that for £4 I could park from 6 pm - 10 am; the hotel staff sorted it out and I paid them in the morning and just pressed the 'help' buzzer at the car park exit barrier and was let out. (Sounds like a faff but it really wasn't - try parking overnight in Brighton!!!).
Our room was more than adequate in size and spotlessly clean. A couple of little niggles about the room which could be easily sorted out and could have upped my rating to 'excellent' were no bathroom shelf for toiletries, shortage of sockets and no suitcase stand, I don't like having to put my case on the bed. And the perennial problem logging onto the WiFi. We didn't eat in the dining room but the menus read very well I must say. We had breakfast included in our Friday night rate (£99).
I found the coffee at breakfast very strong and would have like hot milk or cream. The 'butter' was the strangest that I've ever seen! An ice cream scoop of 'white' is the only way to describe it - I'd bet a lot of £ it was 'faux butter' aka marg. which is a shame because the cooked breakfast was lovely if somewhat huge! There wasn't any of the advertised home made granola and no fruit at all which was disappointing...details, details, details... The warm croissants were delicious however, we couldn't resist having one to share.
One final point would be to have a notice on the door as when the very imposing doors are shut it looked to me to be closed and a bit unwelcoming. Actually you just need to push them open but I honestly thought that the hotel was all shut up when we got there at 3.30pm..duh, but a little note saying - Welcome, come on in' would have been helpful. I'm being picky because it was all so close to being an excellent stay. Overall we enjoyed it and slept well as it was very peaceful at night. All in all warmly recommended.

Room Tip: We were in a twin new part up around the back - very quiet when we stayed in Room 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

went with my partner on sat night to get away.
when I walked in the hotel it looked lovely,
bit disappointed with our room. it was downstairs .everyone from the dining room could see into our room so we had to pull the roman blind.
the room itself was very small and very hot.
think it was no 11 ,
staff was lovely,didnt eat there as we was going into town for drinks

Room Tip: make sure you have a room upstairs no 11 was very stuffy and very overlooked
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Lovely Hotel, we stayed for bed and breakfast, and booked a superior room. On arrival was greeted by Adam, who was very friendly, and explained everything very clearly. Room was very clean, and comfortable, bed was very comfy, breakfast was very nice, athough we had to wait for a while for table, we was looked after with a superb pot of tea - staff exceptionally friendly, Anyone who wishes to stay in Kent, this is definitely the place to stay, hopefully we will have a opportunity to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent four nights at the Town House whilst exploring Kent's attractions. This is a charming hotel with really friendly staff and a fantastic chef.Sunday lunch and evening meals were of an unexpected high standard with a lovely ambiance in the small restaurant and bar. Parking is easily sorted with overnight access to an adjacent multistory with which the hotel has an arrangement for guests to park until 10.00am. Rooms are very well furnished and beds very comfortable. The new owners and staff are working very hard to make this a very unique and special place to stay. The only negatives were with some aspects of the plumbing which I understand are being sorted and breakfast choice (cereals and continental) could be improved.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a premium room or asking for the new extension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean large rooms with tea/coffee facilities. Staff really helpful & pleasant. Cooked breakfast really nice as was the homemade muesli. Could have had more choice of cerial yoghurt and fruit. Room a little noisy as above restaurant. Was dissapointed with room service meal of chicken Caesar salad where lettuce not dry so made croutons soggy. Also had bacon instead if anchovies which made a nice change but no Parmesan shavings, which for me makes it. I didn't complain at the time but feel that if I had it would have been addressed as staff were very helpful. Restaurant prices a bit high so gave that a miss. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Stayed 3 nights & although bed made it was not changed which was disappointing. Still a nice little hotel with good ambiance.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Town House after a long journey from Wales on our way to the ferry port in Dover. We were both immediately struck by the decor of the main reception, which looks very chic with a stylish cocktail bar.

I got talking to the manager who explained that the hotel had recently been refurbished and this was clear from the room which was rather plush.

We had a meal in the restaurant. Food was nice and the atmosphere was intimate.

But mostly importantly of all, we had a fantastic night's sleep! Just what was needed after spending most of the day bleary-eyed on the M4.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse Hotel

Address: 74 King Street, Maidstone ME14 1BH, England (Formerly King Street Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Townhouse Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse Hotel located in the heart of Maidstone town centre was built in 1802 as a rectory and represents a wonderful example of Georgian architecture. This Grade II listed building has been refurbished, transforming it into Maidstone's first 'Boutique' hotel and restaurant. Offering 17 stunning rooms and an exemplary restaurant The Townhouse can cater for almost all your needs.Gareth Cox at the Townhouse is our stunning and highly rated fine dining restaurant. The new head chef Gareth Cox uses only the best of local and seasonal produce to create innovative and unique dishes as well as some tried and tested classics (with a little twist of his own) . Gareth has been trained to a Michelin level under some of Britain's most influential chefs such as Gordon Ramsey, Richard Phillips and numerous 5 star hotels throughout London.The Townhouse Hotel is close to County Hall, Kent archives, Leeds Castle, Hever Castle, Mote Park, Hop Farm Family Park, Hop Farm, Archbishop's Palace, Maidstone Hospital and County Court, All Saints Church and Vintners Park. We are also within walking distance of The Orangery, Turkey Mill for guests who are attending weddings and functions there. The Townhouse Hotel is also ideal for anyone who likes to be close to all the restaurants, pubs, theaters, cinemas, bus and train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Street Maidstone
The Townhouse Hotel Maidstone, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.