We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique style hotel close to town centre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Townhouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Townhouse Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 King Street, Maidstone ME14 1BH, England (Formerly King Street Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Maidstone
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Boutique style hotel close to town centre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean large rooms with tea/coffee facilities. Staff really helpful & pleasant. Cooked breakfast really nice as was the homemade muesli. Could have had more choice of cerial yoghurt and fruit. Room a little noisy as above restaurant. Was dissapointed with room service meal of chicken Caesar salad where lettuce not dry so made croutons soggy. Also had bacon instead if anchovies which made a nice change but no Parmesan shavings, which for me makes it. I didn't complain at the time but feel that if I had it would have been addressed as staff were very helpful. Restaurant prices a bit high so gave that a miss. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Stayed 3 nights & although bed made it was not changed which was disappointing. Still a nice little hotel with good ambiance.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
15
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Town House after a long journey from Wales on our way to the ferry port in Dover. We were both immediately struck by the decor of the main reception, which looks very chic with a stylish cocktail bar.

I got talking to the manager who explained that the hotel had recently been refurbished and this was clear from the room which was rather plush.

We had a meal in the restaurant. Food was nice and the atmosphere was intimate.

But mostly importantly of all, we had a fantastic night's sleep! Just what was needed after spending most of the day bleary-eyed on the M4.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We booked here on the strength of the reviews on this site two months in advance. We paid for a king size bed and were given a double. Dinner in the dining room was served by people who behaved like Basil and Sybil Fawlty. There was one other couple in the dining room. We arrived a few minutes before our reservation but were told to wait in the lobby - and we're left there for a quarter of an hour. Once seated the three course set menu took two hours and 40 minutes to complete. The wait between courses was not less than half an hour. When I offered a credit card for meal payment I was told it could not be processed for two days as the hotel's credit card terminal was not working. The
email receipt promised has not been sent to me. However the breakfast was good and the young person who organized that and our checkout was all efficiency. She seemed to be running the place single-handed....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Only stayed one night in a family room which was excellent. Comfortable beds with good pillows. The only problem was no internet in the room, only the lounge bar & restaurant. The real bonus was the restaurant, very good food & service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were staying in the hotel, not using it as a restaurant. The room was very tastefully decorated and clean. We were in room 6 which had a east facing bathroom with no blind. In the morning as the sun was very bright we found the glare uncomfortable, and found ourselves squinting to use the bathroom facilities. The room and bathroom were of a generous size, with tea making facilities and complimentory biscuit snacks. The staff were friendly and helpful. We chose not to have breakfast, as we were informed it was an extra £10 each per day, and previous reviews suggested it was not worth it. The hotel does not have its own car parking, the arrangement it has with the nearby shopping centre was ok for us, as they weather was fine, however if the weather was poor it would be a bit of a bind having to walk several minutes with luggage etc in the rain !! Overall I would still recommend the hotel, but people should take heed of the problems that restrictions parking could create

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed one night with our two children in the family room. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was tastefully decorated and warm and comfortable. We had an easy night's stay and good breakfast in the morning. Definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giggleswick/Yorkshire Dales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Looking for a hotel in Maidstone we just happened to come across th Townhouse Hotel, nearly booked the Hilton but so glad we didn't. If you want something a little different from the big chains this is the place to go. A very warm welcome from Adam when we arrived, a really nice quiet lovely furnished room, very clean and lovely decorated, please just put a hook on bathroom door and maybe a small shelf for toiletries in bathroom-apart from that wonderful place breakfast 1st class and served at the table you could tell they cooked it fresh for you! We also had dinner one night in the bistro, which was really nice nothing to complain about everything we ordered was fresh and delicous clean plates. Nice touch is the small wine bar with reasonable priced wine, we took what was left after we had a glass to finish off in our room, this was no problem in fact everything at the Townhouse was no problem. We will certainly return again. Really great to have such good service.

Room Tip: By the standard of the room we were given and looking at the pictures online i think they all look r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse Hotel

Address: 74 King Street, Maidstone ME14 1BH, England (Formerly King Street Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Townhouse Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse Hotel located in the heart of Maidstone town centre was built in 1802 as a rectory and represents a wonderful example of Georgian architecture. This Grade II listed building has been refurbished, transforming it into Maidstone's first 'Boutique' hotel and restaurant. Offering 17 stunning rooms and an exemplary restaurant The Townhouse can cater for almost all your needs.Gareth Cox at the Townhouse is our stunning and highly rated fine dining restaurant. The new head chef Gareth Cox uses only the best of local and seasonal produce to create innovative and unique dishes as well as some tried and tested classics (with a little twist of his own) . Gareth has been trained to a Michelin level under some of Britain's most influential chefs such as Gordon Ramsey, Richard Phillips and numerous 5 star hotels throughout London.The Townhouse Hotel is close to County Hall, Kent archives, Leeds Castle, Hever Castle, Mote Park, Hop Farm Family Park, Hop Farm, Archbishop's Palace, Maidstone Hospital and County Court, All Saints Church and Vintners Park. We are also within walking distance of The Orangery, Turkey Mill for guests who are attending weddings and functions there. The Townhouse Hotel is also ideal for anyone who likes to be close to all the restaurants, pubs, theaters, cinemas, bus and train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Street Maidstone
The Townhouse Hotel Maidstone, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.