We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shamrat

Shamrat
36 Lower Stone Street, Maidstone ME15 6LX, England
01622 764961
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 223 Restaurants in Maidstone
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Maidstone England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“5* Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Went to the Shamrat last night for a family meal, we were greeted by a very friendly bar waiter who offered us a drink while waiting for our table. We we shown our table a few minutes later. We ordered our food and it was outstanding plus the service we received was exceptional.
Later the owner Jamel came to our table and offered us a baileys free of charge.
Just a great night out. Thanks Shamrat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    18
    9
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This has to be one of the busiest restaurants in Maidstone, and I can see why! Food is really good, and service is prompt - even when busy.

Overall, a nice bustling restaurant on the edge of the town centre.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Where has Aston gone?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is by far our favourite indian restaurant in Maidstone. Small but very warm and cosy atmosphere, perfect on a mild winter's evening. The quality of the food is of very high standard and always consistent. Try the Shamrat special "Jal Masala" out of this world - avoid the chillis if you are not a fan of bit of heat in your curry. Staff are very friendly and polite. However i have noticed on our last few visits we have not seen the young lad who looks like Aston which was a little disappointing, he used to look after us very well and was popular amongst other customers too. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone who is yet to try out the Shamrat, I am confident you will not regret your choice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Dined here as a family group. Service was very good even though the restaurant was very busy. We all enjoyed our food, it was very tasty with nice flavours. Portion sizes were not over large but perfectly adequate, and we look forward to eating here again in the future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Ate here with my colleagues while working in Maidstone. The food was very good, we got the usual poppadams and pickles to start and they unusually had a hot sauce as one of the pickles which was a nice change and was lovely. All three of us had different dishes and all thouroughly enjoyed them.

The staff were very friendly and happy to help, there was one odd moment when the waiter decided to clear the table cloth while we were still sat at the table, meaning he had to reach across the table which was a little rude. But other than that a great meal

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shamrat also viewed

 

Been to Shamrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamrat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.