We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shamrat

Shamrat
36 Lower Stone Street, Maidstone ME15 6LX, England
01622 764961
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 205 Restaurants in Maidstone
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Kent, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Dined here as a family group. Service was very good even though the restaurant was very busy. We all enjoyed our food, it was very tasty with nice flavours. Portion sizes were not over large but perfectly adequate, and we look forward to eating here again in the future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    26
    13
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Ate here with my colleagues while working in Maidstone. The food was very good, we got the usual poppadams and pickles to start and they unusually had a hot sauce as one of the pickles which was a nice change and was lovely. All three of us had different dishes and all thouroughly enjoyed them.

The staff were very friendly and happy to help, there was one odd moment when the waiter decided to clear the table cloth while we were still sat at the table, meaning he had to reach across the table which was a little rude. But other than that a great meal

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
365 reviews 365 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
“Good, and just about into the Very Good category”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I should preface this review by admitting a background and familiarity with Indian food that is probably greater than most (see personal profile for details), which means that I am often less impressed than some who enthuse over fairly typical high street Indian restaurants. Don’t misunderstand me, these usually provide a decent curry, but in most cases without that vibrancy to lift them above the broad range of uniformity found in high street curryhouses throughout the country. I did visit this restaurant a few years ago (along with every other Indian restaurant in Maidstone at the time at the rate of 2 or 3 a week) when reviewing for the Curry Club and I recall that although a fairly typical high street Indian restaurant, it was (along with the Tandoor Mahal) probably the best in town (at the time). I was interested to revisit.

The entrance is into the comfortable reception area I remembered where, on the very wet midweek January day when we visited a fire (gas imitation but effective) blazed welcomingly in the hearth. The dining area behind has a Tudor appearance and wall lights giving a cosy ambience (although I imagine it could feel a little cramped when crowded, as it undoubtedly is on Friday and Saturday evenings). The menu lists all the popular names along with a good selection of more innovative dishes.

Opinions on the starters were mixed. The Onion Bhajis (invariably one of our benchmarks) were excellent - very well spiced and uniformly crisp – and the best we have had for some time. However, although they came with a small and basic salad garnish, there was no riata provided to go with them as is usually the case, so although very tasty they were quite dry to eat. (Perhaps we should have asked, as possibly the waiter forgot it, but I did see riata listed on the menu at £1.75 so maybe it is a chargeable addition. If so, then as the bhajis were a bit more expensive than average an additional £1.75 for an onion riata would have made it expensively priced at £5.20). Also very good was the Tandoori Aloo, as although the base was ordinary new potatoes they were mixed in a delicious masala sauce. Less appetising was the Spicy Crab Cake, which was very disappointing as it was two fairly small patties of what was essentially mashed potato. Any crab in it was so minimal as to be undetectable. It was certainly not worth the £5.95 for two small potato cakes.

The main dishes were generally good. The Peri Peri Chicken was very tasty - well spiced and pleasingly hot - as was the Masu Aloo (a lamb and potato dish). Chicken Tikka Dhansak was also good, although not dissimilar to that provided by any decent Indian restaurant, while the recipient of the Shashlick Chicken described it as “all right, but nothing special.” (I tried a bit and would agree with that). The accompanying vegetable dishes were enjoyable, although the Punch Dahl! (sic)- ordered as it was described as ‘five types of lentil cooked with onion, garlic, coriander and curry leaves’ and therefore sounded different – tasted much the same as a standard Tarka Dall. The Aloo Banda (potato with cabbage) was different and very pleasant. The Nan was also very good – hot and so light that it almost melted in the mouth.

The prices are slightly higher than the average high street curryhouse (although many dishes do come with rice), but at the end we were offered a complimentary drink, so this does offset it. I would not describe the portions as large (particularly the vegetable side dishes), although they are perfectly adequate. (In other words, if it is your habit to take leftovers home, then don’t bank on it here!) The service was excellent - attentive without being overbearing - and the manager an ever-present friendly and engaging character who clearly knows how to look after his customers (although reading the Trip Advisor reviews this may not be the same for delivery customers!).

Despite the poor Crab Cake and fairly standard Shashlick and Dall, the food overall was better than the average, as is the ambience, service and customer care shown by the manager (not to mention the complimentary drinks), so even with my hard-nosed approach it does warrant a four-star rating.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“A thoroughly enjoyable 1st time dining experience at the Shamrat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

A group of four of us visited the Shamrat on a Thursday evening, three of us for the first time and would all agree that it would definitely warrant a re-visit; with an extensive menu, delicious food and exceptionally friendly service from A.J. and Emael it made for a truly memorable evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Me14 5RU
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Indian Restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We have been eating at the Shamrat for the last ten years or more and have never had a bad experience . The food is excellent and the most friendly staff are always on hand to advise you with your choice. Get them to do the special Egg Bhuna, really good. Jamal the owner is always on hand and makes you feel really welcome. The whole restaurant has a family atmosphere and you feel you are part of that family. We really should keep this restaurant a secret it is to good for everyone to know about. I have introduced the Shamrat to my closest friends and they all agree, make me want to go there just writing about it. Try it and you will not regret it

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shamrat also viewed

 
Maidstone, Kent
 

Been to Shamrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamrat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.