We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shamrat

Shamrat
36 Lower Stone Street, Maidstone ME15 6LX, England
01622 764961
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 204 restaurants in Maidstone
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Studley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I visited in a group of 5 on a Wednesday night and the place was packed. It was not a problem for the staff though as they assured us we could have a table in 10 minutes, which we were happy with. We sat up the bar and had a Cobra and chatted to a local couple who had been coming to this restaurant for 25 years and would not go anywhere else in the area - they were not wrong. We got to our table and all ordered starters and mains and very single one of us loved our dishes. Beautifully cooked and fabulously tasty, and believe me we are big curry eaters from around the UK and we were all extremely happy. Great atmosphere in the place and the staff were excellent. Will definitely visit again when in the area. If you like curry, you will love Shamrat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    114
    13
    7
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would visit again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

After not taking notice of tripadvisor feedback recently, I did this time and was very happy with the result. Food excellent, service excellent, Cobra cold and free flowing. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

very conveniently situated on the edge of town and walking distance from all bars and public transport links. Very welcoming entrance into the bar with seating area. Immediate attention given for drinks. Extensive menu and caters well for vegetarians. They are more than accommodating to cook off menu just ask and they will happily make suggestions if you are undecided. Beautifully presented meal arriving hot and in good time.

Very busy throughout in the restaurant and on the telephone with delivery orders. There was a good mix of customers who were all greeted warmly and many who were clearly regulars. I can hand on heart say it's the best indian restaurant for many miles. Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster on Sea
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Set in Lower Stone Street and handy for car parking, this is a restaurant with a lovely atmosphere - cosy bar and seating area, with the restaurant at the back. Staff are very attentive and helpful and the food arrives piping hot and well presented. We asked for a couple of things not on the menu and both arrived at our table - one being cooked specially for us! Portions were a good size and what we couldn't eat was packaged up for us to take home.
I had a beautifully creamy lamb passanda - very rich and satisfying.
The restaurant was packed by 8pm with a real mix of clientele - families with children, friends, lads and couples - which is a sign that this is a good eatery with loyal customers.
This was our first visit but we will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Re visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Hadn't been here for years due to moving and work etc but started eating here from the day it opened back in the eighties . It always was the best Indian for miles and nothing has changed still the best nan in town

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shamrat also viewed

Maidstone, Kent
Maidstone, Kent
 

Been to Shamrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamrat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.