We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great muesum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maidstone Museum & Bentlif Art Gallery

Maidstone Museum & Bentlif Art Gallery
St. Faith's Street, Maidstone ME14 1LH, England
01622 602838
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Attractions in Maidstone
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great muesum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

As we are local to the town, we have visited several times. My daughter loves it there. Free entry is a bonus

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    33
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another attraction in the town centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We always came here when the family were much younger. Now visit less but still come with one of my children, now grown up. Lots of local history and natural history collections to be proud of. Not struck on the 'glass box' addition but someone obviously thought it was nice. Always plenty of room to look at the exhibits when we have visited and nice to see young couples with their children enjoying the collections. A good one for maybe a rainy day!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent local history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I liked the local history and conterbutions it was great to see so many local people donated artafacts and life exspernces to the museum

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martock, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Maidstone Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a cute, quiet museum with a very eclectic collection. It's in an Elizabethan manor house that was donated to the city in the 1800s (please correct me if I'm wrong). I had a blast just being in a house that old! It's for people who love history.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interesting place, difficult with a pram : (”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The museum was very interesting, with many different areas and rooms containing different items or exhibitions. It was quite difficult to access all of it with a pram, although there is a lift to the upper floor. The children particularly enjoyed the huge outdoor draughts and chess sets!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maidstone Museum & Bentlif Art Gallery also viewed

 
Maidstone, Kent
 

Been to Maidstone Museum & Bentlif Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maidstone Museum & Bentlif Art Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.