We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leeds Castle

Leeds Castle
Penfold Hill | Leeds, Maidstone ME17 1PL, England
01622 765400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$136*
and up
Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and...
Ranked #2 of 18 Attractions in Maidstone
Type: Castles, Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Considered one of the most romantic castles in England, this historic site was originally the stately home of the Saxon royal family during the reign of Ethelbert IV in 856-860.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Castle itself is really beautiful and well worth a visit. Great facilities for the disabled with an area to watch a DVD of the areas upstairs. The dining room is breathtaking.
Was rather disappointed in the formal gardens as they were so small and not very well laid out plus one of the gardens could not be reached if in a wheelchair. The grounds were vast with huge areas of grass and trees but quite a lot of walking for the less able.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    864
    454
    113
    39
    79
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds and castle but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Have wanted to visit Leeds Castle for years having seen it from the motorway on our trips down to get the ferry. We did enjoy our visit............... the grounds are wonderful, black swans magnificent and the castle did not disappoint. However the admission charge of £21 per adult we did think was a bit pricey. The ticket is for a year but living so far away we will not be able to revisit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
144 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Beautiful castle...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Leeds Castle is absolutely beautiful. The castle is surrounded by a mote and the grounds are lush and green. The castle is home to many species of birds including several balck swans. We were told that at one time the resident birds were housed in an aviary, but when it became to expensive to care for them, the birds were released into the wild and most of them remained at the castle. The castle also available for weddings...how cool would it be to be married in a castle? There is a small food and gift shop on the premises. A great way to spend an afternoon!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Polished all round jewel of an attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We were impressed by the marketing before we even arrived!

The castle and its surrounds did not disappoint. All beautiful, interesting and a delight, with something of interest to every generation.

We think it's great value for money - pay once and free entry for a year. We'll definitely be going back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msida, Malta
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful but quite expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The castle itself is beautiful and really worth visiting, but the highlights are definitely the grounds. All in all a place to spend a lovely day exploring, however the price was too expensive and quite unfair as one has to buy a full-year ticket for 21 GBP and cannot simply buy a normal day ticket. Also there s not much choice when it comes to buying lunch, and this is quite expensive too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leeds Castle also viewed

Hever, Sevenoaks District
Maidstone, Kent
 

Been to Leeds Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leeds Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.