We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leeds Castle

Leeds Castle
Penfold Hill | Leeds, Maidstone ME17 1PL, England
01622 765400
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$136*
and up
Leeds Castle Private Viewing, Canterbury and...
Ranked #2 of 18 Attractions in Maidstone
Type: Castles, Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Considered one of the most romantic castles in England, this historic site was originally the stately home of the Saxon royal family during the reign of Ethelbert IV in 856-860.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Caters for everyone from families with children to couples interested in history and/or just walking around gardens and the landscape.
Our principal visit was the castle, quite a long walk from the car park but most enjoyable (warm sunny day) and great views as we approached it surrounded by water with rippling reflections. A free land train is available running from the car park to the casle. We received warm and well informed information from the staff as we walked from room to room.One would need to write a book to describe this place and the pleasure it gives, and there is an excellent guide which is well worth purchasing. A mini guide with a layout map is available (which we recommend).The last private owner, Lady Baillie, left the property to the Leeds Castle Foundation, private charitable trust whose aim is to preserve the property for the benefit of the public forever..

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    864
    454
    113
    39
    79
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Attended a wedding reception there... What a place to hold it. Fantastic. Staff helpful. Venue out of this world.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for family day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I recently visited Leeds Castle with my family and we all had a great day out. Kids enjoyed feeding ducks ....castle looked beautiful. It got good restaurants to cater day visitors and it have good play area for kids. The best part is ticket last for a year so it's good value for money.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“not a good new years eve”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

As a group of 8 people once again we chose to see news years eve at the fairfax hall leeds castle, but sadly this will be our last, we had to wait a very long time for our meals and when they did turn up my wife being a vegetarian was told they had run out of vegetarian soup, and we were told we should have pre ordered, but on checking the paper work the menu clearly showed two menu's , my wife had to share a vegetarian soup , on every course we had to ask if our food was coming as the wait was unbearable, and to top it all , when the champagne was being served to toast in the new year, once again we had to ask , we finaly recieved it at 2 minutes to twelve, at £110 per head the service leaves a lot to be desired !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A lovely castle and good day out - the maze is fab”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

It's a beautiful area and the castle is interesting.
We had great fun in the maze.
The food selection wasn't the greatest but you don't expect it to be at these places.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leeds Castle also viewed

Hever, Sevenoaks District
Maidstone, Kent
 

Been to Leeds Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leeds Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.