We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Sunday Roast Around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mu Mu

Mu Mu
108-110 Week Street, Maidstone ME14 1RH, England
+44 1622 669800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 205 Restaurants in Maidstone
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: Fusion, Eclectic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Best Sunday Roast Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I went to Mu Mu recently for their newly advertised Sunday Lunches. I was greeted at the door by a very friendly and helpful lady who looked after me very well throughout my lunch. The restaurant has a kind of gothic feel to it. Mu Mu is very much a bohemian chic venue in general and I can very much recommend the cocktails they serve in their funky cocktail lounge too. I have to say that the roast was by far the best around by a country mile. This was like a home cooked roast cooked to perfection with top quality organic ingredients. The beef was pink in the middle just how I like it (I was asked beforehand how I liked my beef - impressive) the vegetables were perfectly cooked, still firm in the middle (you get carrots, cauliflower cheese, peas in butter sauce, mash & roast potatoes). The spuds were great, crunchy on the outside, fluffy and light in the middle. The gravy was thick and flavoursome, all complimented with some potent but lovely corse home made horseradish - excellent. I have eaten roasts in many of the very good local pubs and restaurants around the Maidstone area including soufflés and the Dirty Habit and personally this tops them all hands down. The roast is served on a large square plate, the food is very well presented and the portion is more than generous. I'm glad I didn't order a starter! All of this for £9.95, I'm most definitely going back again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    608
    94
    27
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best food And value in maidstone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I went to mumu's for my hen party. The restaurant is lovely the decor, atmosphere, food and service was excellent ... Had a great time and very good value for money ... The food is also presented beautifully ... Absolutly couldn't fault it ... The only issue was the service in the bars and club bits was extremely slow which was very annoying as there was 20 of us took a while to get served and then to get our drinks but apart from that which can be easily improved we all had a fantastic nite thanks

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best meal So Far.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Me and my friend Every week try something new to eat, we came across mumus and was excited to try it out. When we first arrived the décor of mumus is surely amazing. we was met at the door by a friendly Waiter and showed us to to a table straight away. The food Was amazing the taste was beautiful and the presentation was exquisite. We felt we should name the waiter in this as he was friendly, helpful and the true reason we then Came back again.
The next time we returned to mumus, he recognised us and gave us the same polite service as before. Lee both trips was a brilliant customer service and has Earn Every part of this trip adviser

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun with food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

If we could have given Mu-Mu a 6 on the review, we would have. A fantastic meal with friends in eccentric surroundings looked after by the very capable Maitré D Hannah and her staff made for a great evening. The presentation of the food was outstanding. Take a look at the menu online to get an idea of just how much fun the chef and his crew are having with the food!! Great atmosphere (and wallpaper), fun menu (tracing paper), and the table dressing was good too. If you can make it to Maidstone, try it!! Wonderful

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Eclectic Excentric Electric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

If you're looking for that something extra, check this place out.  Quirky, chic and fun.  Great food, service and a place to enjoy not just the food, but the atmosphere.

My only one very small niggle, service was a tiny bit slow between courses.  Other than that, fantastiquche! 

I'll be sure to arrange a work Christmas party here!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mu Mu also viewed

 

Been to Mu Mu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mu Mu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.