We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Best Western Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Best Western Russell Hotel to your Saves list
The Best Western Russell Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   136 Boxley Road | Penenden Heath, Maidstone ME14 2AE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Maidstone
Peterborough
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Firstly the hotel has all you need for a relaxing stay and great wifi too if you have to work into the evening or update Linked In/Facebook/BBC i player.
The staff were very good too. Nothing ever too much trouble and the food was good value, wholesome and filling.
For some reason I was unable to get a card key that worked, so after a couple of trips back down to reception I was finally given a master key that worked. The problem persisted on my second night, again solved by the master key. Very odd.
Once into my room It was very warm. Turning off the radiator and opening my window, eventually cooled it down ( by 4am ) the insulation there is quality! On my next night, with radiator still off and window open the room was still warm, but more comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BNelsonBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Best Western The Russell Hotel. I am happy to read that you found the staff helpful; it is always encouraging to receive positive feedback.

With regards to your comments about the radiator and the keycard, I can assure you that those have been passed on to the relevant departments and been dealt with.

Thank you once again for your comments. I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    62
    38
    10
    12
See reviews for
24
62
13
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

From the initial enquiry to breakfast the day after the wedding reception last weekend, the service we have received form the staff has been stupendous. Thank you Sara, Fil , Brian, chef and the rest of the team for making our party so wonderful. This hotel may be 3 stars : but we received nothing but 5 star service!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BNelsonBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Liquer1958,

Thank you for taking the time and leaving a review and many congratulations again!

It is very much appreciated and I can assure you that the team will be delighted to hear your positive feedback.
I was glad to read that you enjoyed the service that we offer here at the Russell Hotel and that you found these to be a high standard.
Thank you again for your comments and hope to welcome you back for your 1st anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Held a birthday party at the hotel last weekend. The function room, staff, facilities, and food were excellent. As one of my friends put it they have managed to achieve a high quality formal setup with a personal informal feel. Would recommend and go back there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BNelsonBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Nick C,

Thank you for your positive feedback and we really hope that you had a fabulous time here at the Russell Hotel.
I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed and complemented the service at the birthday party!

We appreciate your kind feedback and will share it with the team. Thank you for your review again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a convenient hotel just off the M2, the room was very spacious and comfortable, reception were polite and helpful, dining experience was good although the lighting was a little to dark for my liking, certainly use again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BNelsonBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Best Western The Russell Hotel.

I am pleased to see that your stay with us was enjoyable and we were able to deliver all that you expected, your kind comments have been shared with the team - so was your opinion about the lighting in our Garden Restaurant.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Best Western The Russell Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

To find a hotel that isn't just the same old places great and some of the rooms are really rather brilliant. This is ideal for couples who want a getaway when they can eat and drink at the same location and relax. I liked the sofas in the reception area and e bed was huge. Good value and excellent staff. Easy secure parking too.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BNelsonBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Tim,

Thank you very much for leaving us a positive review. We, at The Best Western The Russell Hotel appreciate any review but it is always nice to hear that our guests - like you - enjoyed their stay with us.
Thank you for choosing us and we are hoping to welcome you again in the future.
Once again - Thank you for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night. We were greeted by Rosita on reception. She was lovely and made us feel really welcome. Room was great nice and spacious although a little noisy from room above. We would stay here again but wouldn't say £12 each for breakfast there is a great whetherspoon near by!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay here at BEST WESTERN The Russell Hotel. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the service you received was of a high standard that we strive to achieve.
With regards to your comments about the breakfast prices, I will be sure to consider these when any reviews take place. Please note that if breakfast is pre-booked the cost is £10 per adult and free of charge for any children under 13.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamata, Greece
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our daughter chose the Russell Hotel for her special day based on the friendly but professional staff, & we weren't let down. Everybody had a fabulous day. The whole day was very well organised, the food for both the wedding breakfast & the buffet in the evening was very good, & the service was excellent. We have been to many weddings & very often the top table have finished there course before the last table have been served, but this was not the case at the Russell. There was enough staff for all tables to be served within minutes.
Including the happy couple, & ourselves, about 40 guests stayed overnight & were rewarded with an excellent & varied breakfast.

Room Tip: This hotel was formerly a convent & later a convent school, & as such the room size & sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Babs
Thank you for your very kind review about our hotel, the staff and the service we provided. We always strive to achieve 100% satisfaction so it is always a pleasure to read that we have fulfilled all expectations, even more so when it is from the mother of the Bride.
We are delighted your daughter and son in law had a fabulous day to mark such a special occasion and that everybody who attended did too.
Please do spread the word as we would love to be able to help a further friend or relative with an event here at Best Western The Russell Hotel.
Wishing you all the best for 2013 & I hope that we will see you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Best Western Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Best Western Russell Hotel

Address: 136 Boxley Road | Penenden Heath, Maidstone ME14 2AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Best Western Russell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Victorian Hotel built in the 1800's was remodeled in 2004. Situated just minutes from the M20 and M2 motorways and close to Maidstone Town Centre, The Hotel also boasts beautiful landscaped gardens and sun terraces. Delightful International Cuisine is served in The Garden Restaurant and Bar and five air-conditioned function suites catering for up to 300 delegates. Free use of Maidstone's premier health and fitness club whilst resident in the hotel and health and beauty discounts at The Courtyard. FREE wireless connection throughout the whole hotel and in ALL public areas and conference suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Best Western Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Russell Hotel
Best Western Maidstone
Maidstone Best Western
The Best Western Russell Hotel Maidstone, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Best Western Russell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.