We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Best Western Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Best Western Russell Hotel to your Saves list
The Best Western Russell Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   136 Boxley Road | Penenden Heath, Maidstone ME14 2AE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Maidstone
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Christmas Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We was a bit unsure about the entertainment that was booked for our christmas party ‘The Drag With No Name’ but we all enjoyed the evening and the act was extremely entertaining. The DJ was very professional and he played exactly the correct type of song to get a party atmosphere. The meal was also of an extremely good standard albeit a bit scarce on vegetables this year, (two roast potatoes per person, I felt was a bit light). And finally the bar staff and waiter/waitress service were also very good.

Well done to all your staff, keep up the good work and I hope to hear from you next year

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Raymond,
Thank you for your kind review. I am very pleased to read that your party had an enjoyable evening at our cabaret act event here at Best Western The Russell Hotel.
The event that you attended was new for this year so we will be looking at a similar act now for next year so we do hope to welcome you back next year.
Please rest assure that we will be using your feedback about the vegetable's when preparing for 2013.
Merry Christmas & Happy New Year from the team here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    62
    38
    10
    12
See reviews for
24
62
13
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Im a regular visitor to Miadstone to see my grandparents. We've tried them all and found this to be the worst value hotel. The location is neither town centre nor travel/tourist.
The hotel was fine inside but not worth more that £50 per night. The staff seemed like they couldn't be bothered.
I've since stayed elsewhere and found Hamlets/Larkfield Priory to be my new favourite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Dermott,
Thank you for your review about your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we would like to use your feedback to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
So if you would be so kind as to email any further details with regards to your stay to melissa.henley@therussellhotel.com, this would be greatly appreciated.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed two nights, room was clinical as expected from this type of hotel, oddly the door only opened to a maximum of 24 inched due to a strange closure arrangement.
Bath was grimey. Lack of tea bags and sugar. Only 4 tea bags, 2 sugars and 1 pack of biscuits between 2 people.
Room really warm, but turning the radiator off and opening windows sorts that out.
Reception staff stated it was a policy of Best Western to put limited items out expecvting guests to ask for more if needed!!.
Evening meal ok, but no Chutney with cheese platter, although listed. Who runs out of chutney?.
Also no Strawberry coulis,
Poor sign when only 4 people eating in restaraunt.

We wouldnt recommend this place to anyone its soulless.
Car park very dark.
No lift to upper floors.

Room Tip: Not room 326, especially if you have a reasonable sized suitcase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please accept my sincere apologies for not surpassing your expectations upon your recent visit to BEST WESTERN The Russell hotel.
Since reading your review, I have spoken in depth to both the Housekeeping and Kitchen departments as well as inspecting room 326. With regards to your comments about the tea tray, although providing this is not a Best Western standard this is a standard for our hotel. In addition to extra guest supplies being available from reception we do also replenish the items daily.
I am extremely sorry that the bath was found to be ‘grimy’ during your stay, this is totally not acceptable and has been addressed; however on my inspection this was not the case.
Once again thank you for your comments I am only sorry that we did not meet during your stay and hope that you will give us a further opportunity to re-instate your confidence in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here because my partner was attending a course there on the following day. First impressions were favourable: a nice big car park (empty when we arrived), pleasant looking Victorian building, large entrance hall, friendly receptionist. Check in was swift and three minutes after we were in our room the receptionist phoned to ask if the room was to our satisfaction.
The room was adequate: but there were negatives as always. Firstly the room was way too hot even in late October and with a window open. The hair dryer only blew out cold hair because the switch was broken. A minor point perhaps but the bed was too small for us: we are used to super king size at home: would it be too much to have this size bed as standard in English hotels? Bathroom was satisfactory: shower worked well plenty hot water.
We ate out in a local pub because we felt that the restaurant prices were too expensive.
The biggest minus was not really the hotel's fault: it was the occupant(s) next door to us who had their TV on at what sounded like full colume until 2.30 in the morning when we banged on the wall. Thankfully it was switched off immediately.
Breakfast was more than adequate with a really good selection of both hot and cold foods, a very polite and pleasant young lady served us.
Free WIFI probably good idea for businessmen. Good TV with good clear picture.
The hotel is a good 15 minute walk from the centre of Maidstone if you should ever want to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Peter
Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us, I am pleased to read your positive comments about the hotel and all of our staff.
I have also read with interest your constructive comments about the room and I will be taking all of these on board to make improvements where necessary.
We do hope that you will come and stay with us again for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We went to this Hotel for dinner to meet up with family who were staying there for a couple of nights. Although the food was good, the prices were way over the top and definitely not value for money. The dining area was lacking atmosphere and although the one waitress was extremely helpful and friendly, there was another member of staff who was really rude to another party. She wasn't very friendly to us either when we were ordering drinks at the Bar! It looks as if the Hotel caters mainly for coach trips, so if you are looking for somewhere to go for just dinner, chose somewhere else!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Reviwer,
Firstly please accept my sincere apologies for not surpassing your expectation on your visit to the Garden Restaurant. I have investigated all your comments fully, especially the one about the staff member being ’rude’ to another party and to yourselves at the bar - I can assure you this has been addressed.
I would imagine that we did have a coach party in on the evening of your visit although I can assure you this is not the mainstream of out business. All the food served in our Garden Restaurant is prepared from fresh ingredients from the Kent Area where possible, although this could add to the selling price it does not seem to be the case as your comments prompted me to check our pricing against our competitors, only to find we are in line. We do publish the full restaurant menu on our website with prices.
Once again I am sorry that we did not supply you with a trouble free evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Welcoming staff, lovely gardens and clean, large room but really badly needs an up grade.
Breakfast was good and in a lovely setting.
There was a wedding while we were there but our room was well away from the noise.
One of the previous reviewers mentioned that the property used to be a school and you can see why! However a fairly good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear M.J.Dance
Thank you for taking the time to leave comments about your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased to read that my staff allocated you a room away from any potential noise from the functions in house - we always do our upmost to make this happen.
We do take all feedback onboard to continue to improve our standards and will be doing just this.
I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel for a future stay & Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Insch, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed for 1 evening, the bar area looked to be a bit basic and bare, the lobby is nice and relaxing. I had dinner with a colleague and the service was good - would prefer a warm bread roll though! There was a reasonable choice and the food came out well presented and was tasty.

The stairs to the bedrooms look a little bit tired but I had a good sized bedroom with a large flatscreen tv in it. There was free wi-fi, the room was very clean , the bathroom was very compact but clean with plenty of very hot water! The bed was on the soft side for me but the room had proper lined curtains so no light go in, not so many hotels have this any more so that was a plus point for me.

After a good night's sleep I wandered down to breakfast, which was great. Much better than I anticipated. A great choice of fresh fruits, yoghurt, pastries and cereals. If hot food is wanted it is freshly cooked to order - this doesn't seem to happen so much now, I had poached eggs which were perfectly cooked and the waitress that served was extremely pleasant.

So all in all I had a very pleasant stay, granted the hotel looks a bit tired in the corridors and the pictures in the wall in the bedroom were very dated but it was clean, warm and had good service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Allybee
Thank you very much for your detailed comments about our hotel. We take all feedback on board to continue to improve our service and are gratefull for all feedback received.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on another occasion.
Once again - Thank you for your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Best Western Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Best Western Russell Hotel

Address: 136 Boxley Road | Penenden Heath, Maidstone ME14 2AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Best Western Russell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Victorian Hotel built in the 1800's was remodeled in 2004. Situated just minutes from the M20 and M2 motorways and close to Maidstone Town Centre, The Hotel also boasts beautiful landscaped gardens and sun terraces. Delightful International Cuisine is served in The Garden Restaurant and Bar and five air-conditioned function suites catering for up to 300 delegates. Free use of Maidstone's premier health and fitness club whilst resident in the hotel and health and beauty discounts at The Courtyard. FREE wireless connection throughout the whole hotel and in ALL public areas and conference suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Best Western Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Russell Hotel
Best Western Maidstone
Maidstone Best Western
The Best Western Russell Hotel Maidstone, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Best Western Russell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.