We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip down memory lane.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Best Western Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Best Western Russell Hotel to your Saves list
The Best Western Russell Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   136 Boxley Road | Penenden Heath, Maidstone ME14 2AE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Maidstone
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trip down memory lane.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

My sister mandy and i stayed at the Russell a few days ago.We were boarders at the school when it was a convent and were wondering if it still had charm,we were not disapointed.The staff were very welcoming,in particular Martin on reception and rachael in restaurant,we cant remember all names as we are getting on but all staff were lovely.our room was fabulous and the dining was great. I would recommend this hotel with its wonderful surroundings.We loved it and hope to come again.
Many thanks
Lee.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Lee
Thank you for your kind review. It is always a pleasure to read such lovely comments about staff and the hotel as a whole. I shall be sure to show them to the team. We do hope you will return to the hotel in the future and Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    62
    38
    10
    12
See reviews for
24
63
13
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

my sister and myself stayed at the russell hotel for 5 nights ,28th -3 may 2012 , the hotel used to be a convent school years ago which myself and my sister went to ,that was the purpose for our stay , we had a wonderful time , the staff were fantastic very helpful , nothing was too much trouble , the service was fantastic , the room was lovely , and spotlessly clean ,food was great ,all round great hotel , i just wish i could of stayed longer ,hopefully i will go back next year ,

mandy lord

Room Tip: well we had room overlooking the gardens which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBWR, Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
It was a pleasure to meet you both, and we are delighted that you had a great stay with us, and you were able to have a trip down memory lane from your old school days. We hope that you will be able to visit us again.

Kind regards from all of the staff at the Russell Hotel

Liane Bayliss
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

The Russell Hotel made us wonderfully welcome. The seating was well laid out and the room was beautifully decorated. The food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Altogether a very positive experience, we would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Deborah A,
I am are delighted to read that you had a very enjoyable day for the 80th birthday celebration, Thank you for choosing our hotel. It is always a pleasure to read such compliments of our hotel, rest assure I will pass all of these on to all of my staff.
We do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night for a wedding, which was lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed the day, however, we were given a free upgrade due to having a loyalty card and were disappointed at the size and standard of the room, I dread to think what it would have looked like without the upgrade! Anyway, it was fine for one night. Until we went to go to bed. The noise from other guests was unbearable. Whilst the hotel was very good at following up complaints from two other rooms about the rowdiness of our neighbours and finally quieting them down at 3am(!), you could hear every single door creaking open and every movement on the floorboards from the surrounding rooms. The rooms were also REALLY hot, and too noisy from the traffic to open the windows. The bed was also two singles joined togther which was REALLY uncomfortable for two sharing. Overall one of the worst night's sleep I have ever had in a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Reviewer
It is a pleasure to read that you had a very enjoyable day at the wedding you attended at the weekend, we were glad the weather remained dry for the special day.
We do our upmost to upgrade rewards cardholders, however this is subject to availability and not always possible when our other room types are pre-booked.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the disturbance caused by some of other guests in the hotel, although I am pleased to read that my night manager assisted you with this issue.
We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

stayed at the russell hotel for the weekend for a break. stayed in a suite, was lovely and very clean. we ate in the restaurant of the hotel at dinner and breakfast and cannot fault it at all. Staff were also very friendly and welcoming and also helpful. Will definately recommend this hotel to family and friends...

Room Tip: the suite is lovely and big..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Tara
On behalf of the team and myself at The Russell Hotel I would like to thank you for your kind comments. It is always nice to read such compliments about the staff and the hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Having arranged this as a Valentine's treat for my husband, I booked the Honeymoon Suite, was disappointed that it was just an over large room, with a very small sofa in it. The breakfast was disappointing, the sausage tasted of bleach and everything was swimming in grease. The bathroom was freezing cold. The staff were very friendly and helpful but we will not be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Dear Annie
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about out hotel
It has come as a surprise to read of your thoughts about the Honeymoon suite. I have spoken with my reservations manager and she recalls you mentioned the photos upon our website at the time of booking which is why she allocated that particular room to you
As bleach is not allowed on the premises what so ever, we have contacted our local butcher who supply our sausages who have assured us that they also have a bleach free working environment
I am so sorry that on this occasion we did not live up to your expectations, especially on such a special weekend as Valentines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012 via mobile

I stay here every 3 months or so on business. the hotel is dated but very quiet. the rooms are comfortable but can be very hot. The food is not very good in either the bar or the restaurant. It is never seasoned meaning it is generally bland and fails to live up to the expectations from the menu.

I always find the staff are friendly and generally helpful

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBWR, General Manager at The Best Western Russell Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Paul
Thank you kindly for your review. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our staff.
Please accept my sincere apologies that our food did not live up to your expectations.
Negative comments about food in our hotel are rare so could I kindly ask you send me any further information so that I can investigate further? Alternitively any suggestions you may have to help us improve our services.
Feel free to either send them by post or by email: brian.nelson@therussellhotel.com
Thank you again for your comments and I do hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Best Western Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Best Western Russell Hotel

Address: 136 Boxley Road | Penenden Heath, Maidstone ME14 2AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Maidstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Best Western Russell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Victorian Hotel built in the 1800's was remodeled in 2004. Situated just minutes from the M20 and M2 motorways and close to Maidstone Town Centre, The Hotel also boasts beautiful landscaped gardens and sun terraces. Delightful International Cuisine is served in The Garden Restaurant and Bar and five air-conditioned function suites catering for up to 300 delegates. Free use of Maidstone's premier health and fitness club whilst resident in the hotel and health and beauty discounts at The Courtyard. FREE wireless connection throughout the whole hotel and in ALL public areas and conference suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Best Western Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Russell Hotel
Best Western Maidstone
Maidstone Best Western
The Best Western Russell Hotel Maidstone, Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Best Western Russell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.