We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but badly let down by attached restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Milton Keynes East - Willen Lake

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Premier Inn Milton Keynes East - Willen Lake
Brickhill Street | Willen Lake, Milton Keynes MK15 9HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 hotels in Milton Keynes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel but badly let down by attached restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our family including a 10 and 5 year old had a one nite stopover here. The room was quiet clean and comfy and the staff very friendly. The setting with playground and lake was very pleasant although fairly near main road. I can not give full stars however as this hotel is badly let down by the Faye and square restaurant. The food here during the evening was the worst I have eaten in a long time and separate review will cover the issues. Basically stale salad, mangy carrots given to the children and frozen/microwaved lasagne. My husband had steak and whilst over cooked he said was probably best bet. The prawn cocktail just a few prawns sprinkled onto dry salad accompanied by small bowl of gloppy thousand island dressing. We had experienced a prawn cocktail the night before at a beef eater and there was no comparison. The breakfast experience. Was ok but my sausage and scrambled egg was cold and did not appear freshly cooked to order. The staff in restaurant were friendly and hard working but I expect they are let down by the food thy are forced to serve. What a shame.

Room Tip: Ask for room on lakeside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aisha K, Team leader at Premier Inn Milton Keynes East - Willen Lake, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear pipsfamily,

I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not fully satisfactory, I have passed on your feedback to the restuarant General Manager for you as the Fayre and Square is a completely separate company to Premier Inn.

I hope the experience will not deter you from staying with us in the future.

Kind Regards,

Aisha Khan
Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    62
    24
    10
    12
See reviews for
46
61
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel for stop over and good facilities. The wifi was erratic though which was the only disappointment.
The restaurant next door was satisfactory and provided good food. Close by you have shops and fast food outlets

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aisha K, Team Leader at Premier Inn Milton Keynes East - Willen Lake, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear taiwotee,

Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us, I am very sorry to hear that you had problems with your wifi, we will look into any issues we may have with the wifi to ensure that future stays are not affected by the problem.

Kind Regards,

Aisha Khan
Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We wanted a Romantic weekend away and decided to stay at Willen Lake after looking at the pictures on the Premier Inn web site, We loaded the Champers and set off, when we arrived it was sunny and hot, we took our bags up to the room and looked out the window and wow, how romantic was this, the view over the lake the Sunshine The room was clean and fresh,
Off we went for a long walk round the lake then back for a nice meal and a drink, all the staff were very helpful and full of smiles both in the restaurant and the hotel, we had a great time and this was one of the best weekends we have ever had away. Thank you to Premier Inn and all the staff that looked after us on our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aisha K, Team Leader at Premier Inn Milton Keynes East - Willen Lake, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Lisa-Andy L,

I am delighted to here your enjoyed your weekend break at Willen Lake. I will pass on your comments to both the restaurant and the Premier Inn Team.

We hope that you will book with us again in the furture.

Kind regards,

Aisha Khan
Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Fine for a one night business trip. Clean & quiet room, very friendly and helpful staff.

The one real let down is the restaurant! The food reminded me of my student days! Poor quality, badly cooked but did the job after a long trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aisha K, Team Leader at Premier Inn Milton Keynes East - Willen Lake, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Dicky P,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your stay at Premier Inn. I am very sorry to hear that the restuarant was a 'let down' for you, I have passed on your comments to the General Manager of The Lakeside as the restuarant is not owned by Premier Inn.

However I hope this will not deter you from staying with us again.

Kind Regards,

Aisha Khan
Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

after a great party a relax in the bath in a clean smart room with great furnishings. 100% impressed. I would recommend to others and WILL rebook for another visit. Next time however we will have a walk around that beautiful lake and build an appetite for that great value breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aisha K, Team Leader at Premier Inn Milton Keynes East - Willen Lake, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Judy M,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Premier Inn Willen Lake, we will hopefully see you again soon!

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was with us.

Kind Regards,

Aisha Khan
Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Warm welcome and on seeing our mobility problems, and the fact there is no lift, our top floor room was exchanged for a disability friendly one on the ground floor of the annexe and a second bed was brought in very promptly. Opportunities for water sports on the lake, safe cycling,children's play area etc.
Nearby Gulliver's Land and Camphill Trust café and shop for great artisan breads, cakes and gift items.

We would be very happy to return here for a further stay.

Room Tip: For a room with a view of the lake ask when booking otherwise may look out on to the carpark!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aisha K, Team Leader at Premier Inn Milton Keynes East - Willen Lake, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear LeslieJM,

Thank you for your lovely comments about you stay with us! We appreciate all feedback we receive from guests so we can continue to "Tick all the boxes".

We hope that you choose to book with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Aisha Khan
Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is in a nice location, upon arrival at the hotel was booked in by a really friendly young chap, apologized for the car parking charges, (even though I was aware before I booked and it was not really that much at £4 for 24 hours) Really clean - good standard rooms looking out over the lake was really beautiful. Restaurant attached, food was good, service a little slow but understandable as it was really packed on the evening I stayed. The staff were excellent though really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to ask for one looking out on the lake, its really nice when the sun rises
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aisha K, Team Leader at Premier Inn Milton Keynes East - Willen Lake, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Jaxhatter,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Premier Inn Willen Lake. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Aisha Khan
Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Milton Keynes East - Willen Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Milton Keynes East - Willen Lake

Also Known As:
Premier Inn Milton Keynes East (Willen Lake) Hotel
Premier Inn Milton Keynes East (Willen Lake) Hotel Milton Keynes
Premier Inn Milton Keynes
Premier Inn Milton Keynes East - Willen Lake United Kingdom
Address: Brickhill Street | Willen Lake, Milton Keynes MK15 9HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willen Lake is Ideally located within easy reach of the M1, The Lakeside facilities include various water sports, Aerial Extreme and play areas for children. Other local attractions include Gulliver's Land and the Ecopark. For great shopping Milton Keynes shopping centre is only 2 miles away. Our Milton Keynes East Willen Lake Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Milton Keynes East - Willen Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Milton Keynes East - Willen Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Milton Keynes East - Willen Lake to your Saves list