We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was fine.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kents Hill Park Training and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kents Hill Park Training and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Kents Hill Park Training and Conference Centre
Kents Hill Park | Timbold Drive, Milton Keynes MK7 6BZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“It was fine.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I visited for a conference and booked separately for an extra night before the conference started

The travel instructions and signposting are dreadful. And it would be a good idea to have a sign indicating where Reception is. The names of the various blocks need to be clearer too.

So I was VERY CROSS when I arrived and, having read the previous reviews, not in much of a mood to like the place. However, it was fine. The room was fairly big, clean and odour free. Bathroom was fine, though a touch shabby in parts (even I can mastic round a bath better then that). It was plenty warm enough even in a sudden cold snap. Having seen previous reviews I came with a fan heater, pillow and duvet, but I didn't need them. The bed was fine.

The windows open and the lighting is good which is more than you can say about a lot of much more expensive rooms. I could have done with a bigger desk, though.

The place is a bit echoey and noisy. And the TV was indeed laughable. However, I had free Wifi in the room which worked well

The food was really not bad at all. It was actually possible to eat healthily at all meals.

The leisure centre is good (and free of charge) and staff everywhere in the Centre were pleasant and friendly.

I don't think I would have been very happy to pay rack prices for the room, but at the £58 I paid for B and B, it did the job.

Room Tip: It might be worth asking not to be near late night conference revellers - if you aren't one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    32
    47
    25
    18
See reviews for
4
20
6
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I'm writing this review with my eyes held open with matches. I'm not going to use the word 'rooms', as I've slept in better tents. The walls are paper thin and as a conference was going on, (with copious amounts of alcohol on the go), the noise continued most of the night. I'm putting this down to the size of the maze (aka the vast amount of corridors) which must have been an amazing game drunk....

The 'tent' was fairly horrible - tiny, an ancient bed that a previous reviewer referred to as a Marshmallow - sorry if you have copyright on that!!! Perfect description. The bed covers are all old fashioned and leave you wondering if they have been washed or just re-arranged from the previous inhabitant. The TV is laughable - I received two channels on a screen that was so small, the actors heads were cut off!

The bathroom was horrible - again in desperate need of an update. As I stood in the bath under the shower, the bottom of the plastic bath felt bouncy! The tiles were covered in rust and mould. Saying that, there was plenty of hot water and the pressure was amazing, (although a couple of other reviewers have complained).

The only outstanding thing here was the lovely receptionists who must be in fear sending people on their way into the corridor maze to face the horror.

Appalling.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here many times. Friendly reception staff, open 24hrs (I think - I often arrived late at night - no problem).
Rooms are basic, small and functional, TV's not great. Breakfast has very good choice. Wouldn't bother with evening meals though, as there's much better on offer in town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stay here quite a lot, sometimes can be a little lively late at night due to creative and lively L&D professionals. Make sure you get to the bar before they do. The best bit is the all you can eat buffet! Fill your boots!

Room Tip: Best tip I can give is be sure to get to the buffet before Mr M****rotherwise you may go hungry (unl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

On the plus side: the choice is food is good, the staff are pleasant enough, there's ample parking and you can use the gym and pool (although they're in another building). On the negative side: the majority of rooms are really small with very limited desk space if you need to work and they are, in general, really cold!, the TV is tiny (from the 90s) with bad reception, the restaurant closes at 9pm (there's no room service) so if you're checking in late and are hungry - touch luck and you can hear every word spoken in the corridor outside your bedroom (hence the earplugs). I suppose it depends how often you have to stay away from home for work, but if you have a choice, choose somewhere else!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My leg is in plaster at the moment and I was there for a conference. The staff were very helpful when I asked them to assist me with food and drink, especially a chap called Mark. The food was good too. I hope we get to go there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Only stayed there due to my work putting me in there for 2 weeks !! Rooms smell of stale water and uncleaned carpets. Shower pressure is so weak i would have been better pouring a cup of water over my head....sealant is also covered in mould. Bed matress was like sleeping on a marshmallow with very little support. The TV is from another era...like the 70s. So old fashioned and with poor picture quality it should be a museum item. The food served is shocking.....food i had to stomach was either undercooked (sausages burnt on the outside but pink inside) or over-cooked. The Roast beef could not be eaten as my knife could not cut it due to it being so tough and rubbery. The puddings on offer are on a new level of loose bowel symptoms.....me and my colleagues could find none that were edible.....banana cheesecake with black slimely bananas inside....keylime pie with slime coloured fondant and what tasted like shaving foam topping. Thank god i am not due to go back here or i would probably resign and take my chance finding a new job than going through this again.

Room Tip: Bring your own cleaner with you and a truck load of modern appliances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kents Hill Park Training and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kents Hill Park Training and Conference Centre

Address: Kents Hill Park | Timbold Drive, Milton Keynes MK7 6BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kents Hill Park is a purpose built facility which specialises in residential conferencing. We do often have additional availbility around our conference business enabling us to offer mid range hotel accommodation at significantly better value than the market place. We are just 20 mins away from Silverstone racing circuit and minutes from Central Milton Keynes & Xscape. We are very accessible from the M1 and Milton Keynes Central mainline station. and have in excess of 800 CCTV covered free car parking spaces. We boast a modern feel and we provide a very high quality of service and facilities, making it the perfect choice for both the business and leisure guest. All bedrooms comfortable and stylish, complete with direct dial telephones,Wi-Fi colour TV and hairdryers and of course are en suite. Our residential guests (age restrictions apply*) can also benefit from the fantastic range of leisure facilities which include a 17m pool, spa, sauna, steam, squash courts and a fully equipped cardio vascular gym.* We regret that guests under the age of 16 are not permitted to use the sports and leisure facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kents Hill Park Training and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kents Hill Park Training And Conference Centre Hotel Milton Keynes
Kents Hill Park Training And Conference Centre Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kents Hill Park Training and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.