We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard type accommodation, lovely food, friendly receptionist” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kents Hill Park Training and Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kents Hill Park Training and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Kents Hill Park Training and Conference Centre
Kents Hill Park | Timbold Drive, Milton Keynes MK7 6BZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Standard type accommodation, lovely food, friendly receptionist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night while on business. The rooms are fairly standard with everything you need. Bed was comfy and clean and there was tea and coffee making facilities. Remember to take your own shampoo and conditioner though, as there are no miniatures. Also, there is a TV but it is a very small portable and had poor sound. The food in the restaurant at dinner and breakfast was excellent with a very nice choice - compliments to the chef!. There is a gym and pool too but I didn't use these. The receptionist was extremely helpful in giving me directions to my onward destination.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    32
    47
    25
    18
See reviews for
4
20
6
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I was attending a course in Milton Keynes and needed accommodation as most of the hotels were full. I found Kents Hill, and was initially put off by some of the comments, but please ignore them, the place was OK.

Location:

Ideally placed just off the A421 (Standing Way), and about 5 minutes from the M1 and good access to central Milton Keynes.

Good to be away from the busy central Milton Keynes area.

Rooms:

The rooms were in 3 separate accommodation blocks that were away from the main reception and conference areas. All of the blocks were linked together with walkways and could be accessed without going to reception. Take a coat in cold weather though as the walkways were cold.

I stayed in a large double room, HG09 which was on the ground floor of the Heron accommodation block.

Larger than the average double room, it had plenty of space. There was a good size wardrobe, desk, separate seating area.

Very happy with the room, the only negative was the temperature at night, it was very cold. I had to get two additional heaters from housekeeping, but that did the trick.

The bathroom was standard size (but a little basic), with a bath and shower over. The bath looked a little grubby, but mainly lime-scale rather than dirt. Whilst there was dove at the sink and in the bath, other toiletries would have been handy.

Only comment was that the corridors were very noisy at night. You could hear doors banging and people talking.

Restaurant:

I used this at breakfast and also for an evening meal. I would recommend a visit, although the food was buffet style it was excellent quality, there was a great selection and it was good value for money. The breakfast was included in my room rate and the evening meal costing just £7 as I’m a light eater.

At breakfast, nothing was too much trouble with the staff doing some poached eggs especially for me.

Bars:

Used the bar once on Wednesday night, little pricy with Guiness £3.60 a pint.

General Areas:

The reception, corridors, walkways etc were all very clean.

Car Parking:

Plenty of on site parking, next to all of the accommodation blocks.

Leisure Centre:

Free leisure centre on site, what can I say spotless and the best I have seen for some time, even better than top hotels.

The changing rooms, pool, steam room and Jacuzzi all very clean.

Staff:

Very friendly, especially in the restaurant and bar areas.

Special Tips:

Ask for a large double, worth a bit extra with the extra space you get.

Room Tip: Ask for a large double, worth a bit extra with the extra space you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here due to not being able get into the usual hotel I stay in. The location is okay though not to close to the city centre - you will need a car or a taxi. The hotel is a little unusal as it is really a campus with a hotel function. The reception area give false hope. The rooms are very small, cold, and old fashioned. My room had a very dirty bathroom. The room was only just about passable. However, breakfast was good with the restaurant area being very large and clean. Only worth considering when the mainstream M.K hotels prices are high which generally seems to be on a Thursday

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stay here on a regular basis and I think it is wonderful value for money. The staff are really friendly, helpful and professional. The food is very good and value for money. The free gym over the road is really good and there are free exercise classes plus good sized pool, sauna and steam room.

I have stayed in other hotels in MK and they are not as good as this and not as consistent. I would stay here on a personal trip too as I know it and I know what I am going to get which a comfortable OK room and friendly service - money well spent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I have stayed at the Kents Hill Training Centre a number of times in the last few years. On all occasions I was attending training events, but if visiting Milton Keynes for personal reasons, it would definitely be on my shortlist.

The venue is out of town in a pleasant area, although I've never really had any reason to get out and about apart from walks/runs. It's very close to the Open University main buildings.

I have to agree with some of the other comments about the venue - it is adequate, but nothing special; the rooms aren't huge, but I was only ever staying on my own; the restaurant is a strange cross between waiter and self-service, but the choice and quality of food is excellent.

The main reason why I would choose to stay here is the on-site leisure centre. Again, this isn't the best-equipped gym, but it is more than adequate for hotel/conference accommodation, with all the usual gym equipment, a pool and I think there are classes included.

I don't know about value, and wouldn't want to pay a lot, but if a good price can be negotiated/found, this would make for a pleasant stay in MK.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Had week long stay and although the rooms a little small and noisy from corridor and rooms either side and bath the size of a sink, poor internet connection both wireless and line it was adequate.
However the food was excellent and the kitchen staff and chef do a fantastic job.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I checked in to this accommodation late one evening. It admittedly was one of the longest waits I have ever had to check in... the lady was helpful but wanted to explain absolutely everything to the people in front. The rooms are a good size for one person, it might be cramped with two.
The room was clean and modern and had all the basic facilities you would expect- tv and tea and coffee making facilities.It felt more luxurious than say a travelodge room! I was in the main building on the first floor. It was very quiet and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was a buffet style with something to suit most tastes. If I had this room again or one similar I would be comfortable staying there again. I have to admit I was slightly shocked at some of the other review as I found the experience to be fine. I paid £60 for the night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kents Hill Park Training and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kents Hill Park Training and Conference Centre

Address: Kents Hill Park | Timbold Drive, Milton Keynes MK7 6BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kents Hill Park is a purpose built facility which specialises in residential conferencing. We do often have additional availbility around our conference business enabling us to offer mid range hotel accommodation at significantly better value than the market place. We are just 20 mins away from Silverstone racing circuit and minutes from Central Milton Keynes & Xscape. We are very accessible from the M1 and Milton Keynes Central mainline station. and have in excess of 800 CCTV covered free car parking spaces. We boast a modern feel and we provide a very high quality of service and facilities, making it the perfect choice for both the business and leisure guest. All bedrooms comfortable and stylish, complete with direct dial telephones,Wi-Fi colour TV and hairdryers and of course are en suite. Our residential guests (age restrictions apply*) can also benefit from the fantastic range of leisure facilities which include a 17m pool, spa, sauna, steam, squash courts and a fully equipped cardio vascular gym.* We regret that guests under the age of 16 are not permitted to use the sports and leisure facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kents Hill Park Training and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kents Hill Park Training And Conference Centre Hotel Milton Keynes
Kents Hill Park Training And Conference Centre Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kents Hill Park Training and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.