We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order was muddle but good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Bull Hotel to your Saves list
The Bull Hotel
64 High Street | Stony Stratford, Milton Keynes MK11 1AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 36 Milton Keynes B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Order was muddle but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

If we ignore the confusion over the order. 1 haddock fish cakes with sweet chilli sauce and prawn cocktail plus a portion of potatoes with caramelized onions with green peas. No 2 haddock fish cakes and chips. The fish cakes are advertised as a light meal. However, we found them to be quite filling.
The food was actually presently well and tasty good!
When we ordered there were only three other people in the restaurant.
So no excuses for the wrong product!
The staff member was very apologetic.
We would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
3
20
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I visited here with my sister in law for a midday meal.
My first impressions were. Inside it was old but bright and with a modern twist, nice decor. The seating was nice with comfortable seats. The floor didn't look like it has been swept for a while, lots of bits of food under our table and base of the table was full of dust and crumbs.
Service was prompt and helpful.
I had the chicken with a tomato sauce which was very tasty and looked really nice.
My sister in-law had the sea bass which again was well presented. And tasted just as nice.

The dessert menu was limited I thought, so I asked if I could have some fruit and a little ice cream. When it came it was three scoops of shop bought ice cream with one strawberry sliced around it! I mentioned that I had asked for fruit and ice cream and not ice cream and fruit. They went off to amend it. They came back with two ramekin dishes one with a chopped up banana and the other with a handful of grapes! Not a lot of thought gone into it. at the cost of £4.95 is rather insulting.
I would recommend for a main course but forget asking for anything that isn't on the menu.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Unbeknown to me, my wife had booked us in to the recently refurbished Bull Hotel for Sunday night of our 8th Anniversary.

Lovely place, friendly staff who couldn't do more to make us feel very welcome. The rooms were nicely decorated in a modern style but stayed in keeping with the character of the old Hotel, We had Church View room which was at the front looking over the High Street to the Church. We dropped our bags off and went down to the Vaults Bar, which is a music venue at the weekend.

We had the Sunday set dinner which was very nice.They also brought us complimentary drinks as it was our anniversary. The room was rather hot as the window opened but the sash couldn't keep it open (minor problem with the amount of work that the refurb had entailed) .

Breakfast was equally impressive, my wife had the largest full English I've ever seen and I had beautifully prepared Eggs Benedict.

Very highly recommended and worth revisiting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in the cock and bull suite which is a lovely room, very spacious with a bathroom to die for! The only downside is the location over-looking the entrance to the vaults bar - on a Friday and Saturday night it gets very loud and continues until at least 1am.
Breakfast was great, best eggs Benedict I have had for a while. We would stay here again but not on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here when it was a newly opened hotel, rooms very good boutique style very clean with excellent Wi-Fi

The car park was undercover but had a lot of rubbish in it.

My room quite hard to get to with up and down stairs – which is difficult with heavy luggage

I stayed with an opening offer rate which for the money is good value rate after 30th April the rate went up considerably

Reception consisted of a round table in the bar not your usual reception but it worked

My room was L shaped so you couldn't sit at the desk and watch the TV. All part of the hotels quirky nature I suppose.

Room was over the back of the kitchen area which could be quite noisy with lots of conversations going on in the alleyway with refrigeration units going on and off all night

Room had a safe which was a nice touch,

Bathroom clean and had large fluffy towels the box of tissues was a nice touch but only had one tissue in it

All in all a good hotel but the with the increased price it may not be good value for money

Room Tip: probably not one at the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

A very friendly welcome at The Bull Hotel. We stayed in the Saloon which is a small but nicely decorated and well furnished room at the front of the hotel.

On possibly the hottest weekend of the year the room was unbearably hot and virtually airless but we were supplied with a large fan and the staff did apologise for the heat saying all of the rooms were the same - not really the hotel's fault I guess given that it had been 30 degrees during the day. The noise however was something else! The bar downstairs must have a late licence as there were people outside in the beer garden until well after midnight which just added to the difficulties in sleeping.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening which was ok. The service was excellent and the staff very friendly and efficient but the food was nothing special just average pub fayre. Having said that the prices were reasonable so I guess you get what you pay for. Breakfast wasn't much better, a good choice but the full English was a little bland.

At £120 per night B&B in the smallest room I had expected a little more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasant stay with pleasant staff. The whole hotel has been done out and is fantastic would recommend.
The menu is also great. Gastro style and was amazing with p. Well done with it. The general surroundings of the hotel are great there are plenty if place just on the high street.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Hotel

Address: 64 High Street | Stony Stratford, Milton Keynes MK11 1AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Hotel in Stony Stratford, Milton Keynes offers 12 boutique bedrooms, a gastro restaurant, a function room and the lively Vaults Bar. This Boutique Hotel in Stony Stratford, Milton Keynes, offers a unique place to stay as the building is a Grade 2* Listed former Coaching Inn, and is steeped in history and original features and even a few guests from decades gone by are still thought to make visits in the night! The Hotel is lavishly decorated and offers a wonderful place to spend time by the original fireplace and to sit and relax in the Bull Hotel restaurant which is open for breakfast, afternoon tea, teas and coffees, lunch and dinner in the evening. As a much-loved building situated on the High Street in Stony Stratford, The Bull Hotel, is a desired place to visit and stay and can be ideal for special occasions and luxury nights away surrounded with boutique hotel style and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.