We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect too much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford to your Saves list
Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Penn Road off Watling | Stratford Bletchley, Milton Keynes MK2 2AU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADDITIONAL £7 DISCOUNT
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Don't expect too much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We paid £55, non refundable, for one nights bed & breakfast. We were given a twin room which was clean but basic, no wardrobe just hanging space. The beds moved at the slightest touch, quite difficult, but amusing, when you tried to sit on them. There are no complimentary bath gels & shampoo, just a liquid soap container on the wall.
The continental breakfast was disappointing with very little choice. There was only plain yoghurt in a glass, no individual pots of yoghurt, one choice of cold meat, which was pre-packed supermarket reformed ham, small cheese portions in packs that were impossible to open. Considering this is a French hotel chain, you would think that they'd be able to put on a decent continental breakfast.We paid an extra £2.75 each for a full English which was cooked to order & very nice.
The staff did their jobs, but without much 'customer service'. They weren't rude, but certainly didn't 'go that extra mile'!. When I asked reception if they supplied toiletries, as we'd run out of toothpaste, I was told to go to Tesco.
This hotel is fine if you just need to spend one night here, as it is clean & has a bar with a restaurant. If you can get it at a good price, then it's worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    36
    41
    22
    41
See reviews for
14
30
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed there and was amazed that the staff are so miserable. The receptionist was never happy and even at one point quite rude to me. The food service was slow I would have been able to drive into the city have a meal and drive back again before i got my starter! The hotel is great shame about the service. Although i must be fair the breakfast staff are a great bunch. And then alarms going off at 4 in the morning ?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night. The room was basic but had a tv and hairdryer. The room overlooked some playing fields.

The price was only £35 for the two of us with a continental breakfast which was good.

We were on the second floor and something that let the hotel down was the room which was BOILING hot all evening and night even with the window open!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the olaying fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here as a couple for a one night stop over. Romm was clean, bed was ok and for the most part the hotel was quiet (request a room on the 2nd floor).Staff were friendly and efficient. Continental breakfast was underwhelming, not much choice. We should have gone for the cooked breakfast. I would recommend for a one or two night stop, as it's pretty basic but functional

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper floor, and far away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as I got a deal of £29.00 per room.
The staff were freindly and helpful.
Food was a little below the normal standadrd I am used to but again it was cheap.
Most of the guests when we stayed were not English and the Hotel seemed to cope with this very well.
There is a large Gay/Lesbian Bar opposite the front car park so I guess if you are into that sort of thing its perfectly placed. When I saw this I didnt know what to expect but apart from the massive rainbow signs you wouldnt have known it was there.
The only downside was that a guest had decided to spark up a 'joint' in the room up the hall from us, although the staff quickly responded the place stank of it for the rest of the stay.

All in all a good cheap hotel. £29.00 with a free continental style breakfast.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel will be further away from the Nightclub accross the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My girlfriend and I checked in to go to the club across the street, so we weren't expecting anything amazing from the staff here.

on arrival, it took around 10 minutes to be seen to at reception. I don't know why or how it could possibly of taken that long.

The lady (curly hair) approached the desk and simply said "....yeah? can I help" and then seemed confused when I explained that we were checking in.


Other than that little incident I didn't see any other issues as she was polite thereafter and handed us a key.


However.... in the morning we approached the cafeteria to eat breakfast and were greeted by several solemn looking guests.
I approached the bar to fill in the sheet for breakfast (as i'd previously stayed and knew the routine) and heard screaming and shouting from the kitchen...

After 15 minutes you'd have thought someone would have attended to the bar to see if there were any customers, but alas, we stood there waiting almost half an hour before being seen by a very stroppy blonde girl who slumped about and looked like she'd been slapped in the face.

My girlfriend only wanted one piece of toast and was told by this girl that she'd have to pay full price (£6.99??) for it..... which is ridiculous of course.

we quickly packed our bags and left....

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor, less drunks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

A cheap comfortable hotel
Breakfast was very good and directions easy
staff very friendly and hotel has a large car park
I booked online and found it very easy with a confirmation email in minutes

All room are non smoking which was pleasant and the bar is open very late

Room Tip: book a room away from the road ie at the back of the hotel No noise heard even though near a main ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford

Address: 40 Penn Road off Watling | Stratford Bletchley, Milton Keynes MK2 2AU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.