We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed for a week on business, I must say was pleasantly surprised.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Milton Keynes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Milton Keynes to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes MK9 2HQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Cannock
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“stayed for a week on business, I must say was pleasantly surprised.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here for a week (mon - fri) a couple of weeks ago whilst working down in MK, room was large and clean, smelt fine, although was a few stains on the net curtain. Leisure facilties were OK, gym was small but only used twice, pool was fine, quite nice to see the pool there in MK. Bar had a pleasant atmosphere, breakfast was good and they dealt with my requests at breakfast very well, (poached eggs on all but one morning). Hotel reception staff were polite and helpful. Will definitely be staying again. but as someother reviewer said theres not much competition down in MK but still well done holiday inn!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Wil69,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor,I had pleasure in reading you had a great stay with us. I will pass your comments on the hotel team at our daily meeting.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards

Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    203
    90
    31
    16
See reviews for
65
145
31
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is in a great central location and has very pleasant public areas. We had an executive suite on the first floor with a balcony ( but no outdoor furniture!) and stayed with our daughter for two nights on what were probably some of the hottest days of the year. The room was for 3 but the sofa bed was not made up and there was only two sets of towels and two cups - not a great start!. On the second day when we returned to our room after being out, the beds had not been properly made up, dirty crockery had not been taken away and the blinds had not been closed - in spite of requesting this - and the room was intolerably hot, the air conditioning could not cope with the high temperature. Extra fans did not help either. We did complain and a manager came to see us but the sloppy housekeeping took the edge off what should have been a very good stay.
I am a priority member with the ICH group but just lately there have been a few issues with their hotels, I am seriously wondering if a change of brand may be the way forward. It would be a shame!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Swissball,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, Please accept my apologies for the elements of your stay that were not to your satisfaction. It is certainly disappointing to read that we did not deliver on a truly great guest experience. I along with the hotel management team review all guest comments to ensure we can rectify any shortcoming that are experienced so please be assured we will increase our efforts to deliver our goal in our goal in providing great guest experiences and satisfaction.

Regards

Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Holiday Inn is a good business hotel for staying in Milton Keynes. Parking was barriered but free. WiFI is available but not free (will be next year for IHG loyalty club holders). This is not a boutique hotel by any means. The rooms are very nice but are standard business style. The rooms are massive though, and the bed provides a good sleep. There is a range of pillows available. My room looked into the inner courtyard which was a nice view. Recommend for business stays in Milton Keynes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear masterofninja,

Thank you for your comments on Trip advisor. I was pleased to read that you have a great stay with us, I have today passed your comments on to the team at Milton Keynes who were also thrilled to hear this.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent service from front desk staff, Breakfast early from 06:00 am which is a surprise and food excellent also. We were offered a discount all on eight of us having breakfast which we gladly accepted. Clean rooms and well designed layout as hotels go. Will probably be booking for next year, so please keep it up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear mikebayliss.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, I was delighted to read you had a great stay with us, and I have today passed your comments onto the wider hotel team who were delighted to hear this.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I booked up this hotel through booking.com, in late 2012 after buying tickets for the Moto GP. We were surprised by the price which was £114 for 2 nights, this is relatively cheap considering it is the Moto GP weekend. However there was a bit of a blip and the hotel took £55 from my account when I initially booked, which is against the premise of booking.com where you pay when you arrive at your hotel. However, I complained to holiday inn about this and my complaint was dealt with within a day and I was upgraded to an executive room and given free breakfast for my two night stay, which I thought was very generous.

However both mornings we went for breakfast we were told we had to pay and it was not included in our stay which meant I had to rake the email out of my bag confirming the complimentary breakfast and show this to the waiting staff, a bit embarrassing. Nonetheless breakfast was excellent, plenty choice and the food was delicious.

The room was very comfortable particulary the bed. The staff were pleasant but the bar and the parking we felt was a bit of a rip off. The hotel charges you to park in their car park which I feel is unfair and unnecessary. We visited the bar and ordered a small tea and a small latte which cost £6.35 this was excessive to say the least.

All in all a pleasant stay and pleasant staff, I do recommend they scrap the parking charge as I feel this is unnecessary and excessive, you should not have to pay to park in the hotel which you are paying to stay in.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Katezxx,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community. I was disappointed to read that some of the elements of your stay were not to your satisfaction, I have passed your comments onto the relevant Managers to look into the issues you raised to ensure these do not arise in the future.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have recently returned from a two night stay.hotel located opposite shopping centre which was handy and close to quite a few bars and eateries.staff very pleasant and helpful on check in. Hotel very clean and nice interior design. Lovely room.very clean. Breakfast excellent.would happily stay again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear alli207,

Thank you for our comments on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you had a enjoyable stay with us and I have passed your comments onto the team at the hotel.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here on a Sunday and Monday night in August. Overall a pleasant stay. Hotel is modern and bright and has the feel of an airport atrium style hotel. I can’t comment on the food but the breakfast certainly looked fresh and appetising. The only real issue was with the bar. It closed early on the Sunday and the duty manager had to re- open. The Stella ran out on the Monday and I was informed the barrel couldn’t be changed as the staff didn’t have the cellar key! This wasn’t really an issue as there are plenty of bars nearby but it did strike me as a slightly odd set up in an international brand four star hotel. Staff were nonetheless pleasant and professional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Bristol-City-Peter

Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community. Please accept my apologies for the elements of your stay that were not to your satisfaction. It is certainly disappointing to read that we did not deliver on a truly great guest experience in all areas.

I along with the hotel management team review all guest comments to ensure we can rectify any shortcoming that are experienced.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Milton Keynes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milton Keynes

Address: 500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes MK9 2HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#6 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
#9 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Milton Keynes 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is a spacious, purpose built city centre hotel, offering 166 bedrooms all with high speed internet access and 10 meeting/conference rooms. Xscape - the largest real snow indoor ski slope in Europe is just 10 minutes walk. Other local places of interest include, The National Bowl, Bletchley Park Station X, Woburn Abbey & Safari Park, Silverstone Circuit (home of the British Grand Prix), Milton Keynes Theatre & Milton Keynes indoor shopping centre The Centre: MK Millbrook Proving Ground is only 14 miles from the hotel, making us an ideal base for the DVD Event in June. Our special offers include our Woburn Safari Park, Whipsnade Zoo and New Ski packages. Spirit health club is available for guest s and member s, facilities include a fully equipped gym, steam room, male and female saunas and a heated indoor swimming pool. The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is the ideal base to explore Central England with both Oxford and Cambridge within an hours drive. The M1 s junction 14 is only 10 minutes from the hotel. Milton Keynes Central Rail Station is only a 15 minute walk from the hotel and with 100 trains travelling between London and Milton Keynes everyday you can be in central London in as little as 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Milton Keynes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.