We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent for shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Milton Keynes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Milton Keynes to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes MK9 2HQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“excellent for shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were going to a wedding in Leighton Buzzard and could have stayed at the hotel in Dunstable where the reception was held but we used to live in Buckinghamshire - now in Lincolnshire- and knew all about the wonders of the MK shopping centre, and The Holiday Inn is a two minute walk away. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were adequate. However, it would benefit from more parking spaces. I did use the swimming pool on one occasion but it was, disappointingly, not very clean and the showers, although hot, had someone's hair clogging up the drain - so glad I remembered my flip flops - so not up the standard of the hotel. The shopping experience was great and I realised how much I had missed the MK Centre.

Room Tip: We booked quite close to the date of travel and had a really good deal. The rooms, although facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Northamptonshire,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, regarding your comments on our Health Club I have passed them onto the appropriate Manager who will ensure that the points you raised with be actioned.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    195
    88
    29
    14
See reviews for
62
140
31
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Workington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Excellent hotel, very comfortable, large room, clean bathroom, could have done with better ventilation. Gym was very well equipped and the pool was also clean and nice to swim in. The bar was extremely expensive for example £6.50 for a glass of wine...breakfast was good and the restaurant area clean and well stocked! Directly opposite Mid Summer Place shopping centre...making it an ideal hotel for shopaholics.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear HeatherA

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you had a enjoyable stay with us I will pass you comments onto the hotel team at our daily meeting.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wordsley,stourbridge.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have for many years thought about going to Bletchley Park ( world war two code breaker centre) and so we booked the Holiday Inn. Beautifull rooms, free swimming pool and fitness centre and good parking. We fully recommend this Hotel as it just over the road from the main shopping centre.

Also we would recommend a visit to Bletchley Park its only a couple of miles away and is a fantastic place and you need to spend a whole day there to fully appreciate the surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Adav43,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and a trip to the excellent Bletchley Park it is one of those fascinating places which is well worth a visit if in the area.

Your comments will be shared with the whole hotel team you will also be pleased you had a great stay.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and Milton Keynes in the near future.

Best Wishes and Regards

Wayne Bowring - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, essex
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed for one night. The hotel is located nicely 5 minutes walk from Milton keynes central. it wasy to find. Checkin was a little trouble some. You enter the large reception area, which is clean and tidy, free newspaper if wanted, but the checked me in to an "easy accessible" room so everything was at waist height. I never understand this, I dont need a room like this, i would much prefer a regular room and why would you give away this type of room when someone may need this, back to reception to easily be changed! So they had the rooms available. The room is typical, spacious, clean and tidy but very boring. TV, Tea and Coffee, no stocked mini bar, bland bathroom with bath and shower curtain, air con which really didnt work well so had teh window open, no great view but no noise from traffic, all for £144 night but yet normal room rate over £200 which really is not good value for money. The hotel bar was behind reception, lifeless and I didnt use the restuarant or facilities so cant comment. No free wifi, a car park that had a barrier so not sure if you need to pay. I left a breakfast card on the door at 11.45pm as I need to rush in the money so ordered for 7.45am, no breakfast by 8.05am so decided to leave to find the card stil on the door even though you can leave this out anytime before 1am! So on check out instead I was given a takeaway breakfast free of charge, lady was very apologetic, but it was a lame takeway. (When i checked in the guy tries to sell you a discounted breakfast voucher non-refundable...) thats the first I have heard of that. Just poorly managed hotel, average state and over priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear dragek

Tank you for your review.

I have read your comments with interest and of course would alway look at areas where we can improve our guest satisfaction. I hope you can see from the majority of reviews by fellow members of the TripAdvisor community on the whole we receive very positive feedback and I am disappointed that you did not feel that this was the case on your visit to the hotel.

It is my goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to me. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables me to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. I appreciate the candid feedback I receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with me and if I can be of any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me. I know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Milton Keynes for your future travel needs.

Best Wishes

Wayne Bowring - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Good hotel with best location in MK town centre
Parking is available but don't be late as it can fill up easily - over zealous MK parking charges are expensive if you don't get a space.
Free WIFI us available if you ask.
BUT... Restaurant Menu has been DESTROYED since May 2013 - what are H.I. thinking!!!
Choice is very very poor, presentation is very very poor. Restaurant is now a ghost town and restaurant staff are completely demotivated and its not their fault - SORT IT OUT HOLIDAY INN

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Steve N

Thank you for posting a review.

I am disappointed that you found the current trial of a new menu option disappointing as over the last 18 months we have worked hard with our guests to understand their dining preferences to develop a menu and options that meet the needs of the Holiday Inn Traveller.

AS this is a trial your comments are important and will be reviewed with the others we have received to form part of the feedback on the future menu developments. "The Kitchen" which is the name of the concept is about delivering food using quality ingredients in a more relaxed and less cluttered environment to enable the guest to feel comfortable with food that is tasty and enjoayble.

Our initial internal guest satisfaction scores have seen improvements with the guest satisfaction in these new menu options and also the team feedback has also been positive so I will certainly ensure we solicit further to ensure we have a complete picture of how the trial was received.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Best Wishes and Regards

Wayne Bowring - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have stayed here regularly for the last six years but now feel the need to look at other hotels in the area. The prices have increased quite a bit and I no longer receive PC points as my organisation forces me to use an agent. The food menu has changed recently and now has very little choice in both the restaurant and room service. The burgers used to be home made, chunky and very juicy with lots of topping. Now they are like cheap frozen burgers. This is just one example of the menu change.

I feel I could get so much more for the price at other hotels. Therefore, my next two stays are at the Mercure Abbey in MK.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear SueldocDurham,

Thank you for posting a review.

I am disappointed that you found the current trial of a new menu option disappointing as we have worked hard with our guests to understand their dining preferences to develop a menu and options that meet the needs of the Holiday Inn Traveller. The "Burger" dish is now made with a quality handmade Angus Beefburger and is a far better quality product than the previous option. The toppings have been reduced in line with menu reviews however if you have any preference then please let the team know and I an sure they will do their best to provide these for you.

AS this is a trial your comments are important and will be reviewed with the others we have received to form part of the feedback on the future menu developments.

Regarding the loyalty points you are still eligible to receive these as long as you provide your membership number this can be added to your booking as long as your organisation allows you to be part of our Loyalty Reward scheme. If you have any questions on this please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel and I will be able to look into this further.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review and I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Best Wishes and Regards

Wayne Bowring - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Shocking to see that the hotel has changed it's menus to trial a new one, its awful and even the staff are saying the same.. Very little choice and if you a veggie, then you better get ready for almost no choice at all.
The menu is badly laid out and just looks like a poor bar menu
It's made my mind up to change hotels when staying in MK now..
Well done holiday inn, you getting better at pushing away members

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Paulvistshotels,

Thank you for posting a review.

I am disappointed that you found the current trial of a new menu option disappointing as we have worked hard with our guests to understand their dining preferences to develop a menu and options that meet the needs of the Holiday Inn Traveller.

AS this is a trial your comments are important and will be reviewed with the others we have received to form part of the feedback on the future menu developments. "The Kitchen" which is the name of the concept is about delivering food using quality ingredients in a more relaxed and less cluttered environment to enable the guest to feel comfortable with food that is tasty and enjoayble.

Our initial internal guest satisfaction scores have seen improvements with the guest satisfaction in these new menu options and I am realistic that we are not able to meet everyone's dining preference which is fortunate, given our great central location, as you point out the other restaurant options available in the area.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Best Wishes and Regards

Wayne Bowring - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Milton Keynes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milton Keynes

Address: 500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes MK9 2HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#6 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
#9 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Milton Keynes 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is a spacious, purpose built city centre hotel, offering 166 bedrooms all with high speed internet access and 10 meeting/conference rooms. Xscape - the largest real snow indoor ski slope in Europe is just 10 minutes walk. Other local places of interest include, The National Bowl, Bletchley Park Station X, Woburn Abbey & Safari Park, Silverstone Circuit (home of the British Grand Prix), Milton Keynes Theatre & Milton Keynes indoor shopping centre The Centre: MK Millbrook Proving Ground is only 14 miles from the hotel, making us an ideal base for the DVD Event in June. Our special offers include our Woburn Safari Park, Whipsnade Zoo and New Ski packages. Spirit health club is available for guest s and member s, facilities include a fully equipped gym, steam room, male and female saunas and a heated indoor swimming pool. The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is the ideal base to explore Central England with both Oxford and Cambridge within an hours drive. The M1 s junction 14 is only 10 minutes from the hotel. Milton Keynes Central Rail Station is only a 15 minute walk from the hotel and with 100 trains travelling between London and Milton Keynes everyday you can be in central London in as little as 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Milton Keynes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.