We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Milton Keynes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Milton Keynes to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes MK9 2HQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Lagos
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Milton Keynes for 5 nights with my daughter in early April and it was a pleasant experience overall, I must say. A very comfortable hotel, nice rooms and friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast. We tried dinner the first night - was not too impressed. The hotel is directly opposite the shops and I loved that. Spent most of my time in the mall.

As a Priority club member I asked for an upgrade but they didn't have executive rooms available and so they gave me free Internet for the period which was good! Internet facilities are quite expensive! Overall, a great experience. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Higher floors may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Panda114
Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community.

I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and I have shared your comments with the wider hotel team at our morning meeting today who were equally thrilled to read your comments.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    196
    88
    29
    14
See reviews for
62
140
31
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed for a Saturday night, great central location next to shops and all the restaurants that you can name. Car parking can be an issue in the day but in the evening it's easy to park in the purple zone next to the hotel only 30 pence a hour and the charges only start at 0700 hours. The room was a good size, very clean but the décor and the bathroom were looking a bit tired. Hotel staff were really friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel has a very good size swimming pool, towels are provided free of charge and we enjoyed the sauna and steam rooms. Didn't have breakfast but the Wetherspoons in the ski dome do a good breakfast. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Panda114

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind comments regarding your stay at the hotel. I have shared these with the rest of the hotel team and they were delighted that that played a part in making your stay enjoyable.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Best Wishes

Wayne Bowring - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Easy to find, quirky rooms overlooking 'court yard' bar area. The room was very small for an executive family room. Not much storage space. Major problem with the room was lack of ventilation - there is no opening window and air con was very dry.

Service was good we asked for extra pillows which arrived quickly. Reception were helpful and bar staff friendly.

Location was amazing - restaurants and massive shopping arcade just a 5 min walk away. We would stay here again but wouldn't want the same room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Jiddyb
Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community.

I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and I will share your comments with the wider hotel team at our morning meeting today who were equally thrilled to read your comments.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Booked a four night stay over Easter and our daughter stayed instead; we visited her to eat with her and stay indoors in the lounge-bar instead of going out in the cold. Got a good deal on Booking.com and was offered breakfast at voucher rates - about £5 off - but breakfast at c£14 is probably okay for business travellers who claim it back from their employers?

Check-in and check-out just fine. Room had a bath and all the usual trimmings. Internet daily rate extortionate.
Staffed gym, sauna and swimming pool we quite liked the look of. Locals can join, we were verbally quoted £79 per month on direct debit with a month free for a 12-month commitment: worked out dearer than our current local gym rate but was a lot smarter!
Car parking out the front is a sort of enclave surrounded by central Milton Keynes parking. You have to pay to park during the day in the surrounding car parks but the rates are very cheap compared with conventional town and city car parking charges.
In front of the hotel is the western end of the central shopping buildings. If you don't fancy the breakfast rates, plenty of places to eat in the shopping centre - provided you are not needing to be off that early. There is a wide range of eating places for lunch and dinner down the hill behind the hotel on the way to the station - in the blocks and plaza square between Jurys Inn and the Sainsburys. Like a lot of Milton Keynes, facilities are not that obvious.
Outside of building is exceedingly dull and looks like it needs a good wash. Does not do justice to the interior which is altogether more attractive.

Room Tip: Some rooms face into an internal space over the ground floor lounge-bar. The surrounding roads are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear StephenJ
Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community.

I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and I have shared your comments with the wider hotel team at our morning meeting today who were equally thrilled to read your comments.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stay here allot as I have to be in Milton Keynes on business.

You know it's a sorry state of affairs when the best hotel is a holiday inn, however if you want a room inthe ccentre it's the best, certainly better than jury's inn. In actual fact it's not that bad, once you get over the extortionate internet charges.you can tether a phone if you get a room in the right spot in the hotel. if you are unlucky enough to be unable to tther your phone youll have to stump up the cash and bear with the super slow connection speed.

There is a pool which is good enough to do lengths in and the small gym is adequate. The rooms are pretty basic but are clean and the walls are thick enough so that you don't hear your neighbours TV. Breakfast is standard buffet fare and is good enough.

Its tough to get a room here though so make sure you book well in advance.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear baddevotions
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to hear you had a enjoyable stay with us and I will be sharing your comments with the hotel team.
With regards to the internet over the last few years we've invested heavily in providing our guests with super high speed, secure internet.
Technically, what sets us apart is the amount of bandwidth each hotel enjoys. So, unlike a basic broadband connection, we're able to guarantee excellent speed, not just for a few of our guests, but for hundreds.
In addition we offer 24/7 technical support should you require any assistance. To make all this possible we do need to apply a sensible charge for internet use.
We value and appreciate your comments and we are currently looking at how we meet all our guests expectations on the quality and price of internet’.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend and had a lovely time.

PROS

- 5 mins walking distance to Theatre District with restaurants and bars.

-Restaurant and bar - good quality food and reasonably priced

-Modern clean rooms with spacious bathrooms.

- Exceptionally friendly staff.

CONS

- £6 charge for car park as hard to find free parking in mk.

- no free wifi

- was woken up by housekeeping although late checkout was confirmed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear KellyjCook

Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community.
I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and I have shared your comments with the wider hotel team at our morning meeting today who were equally thrilled to read your comments.

With regards to the internet over the last few years we've invested heavily in providing our guests with super high speed, secure internet.
Technically, what sets us apart is the amount of bandwidth each hotel enjoys. So, unlike a basic broadband connection, we're able to guarantee excellent speed, not just for a few of our guests, but for hundreds.
In addition we offer 24/7 technical support should you require any assistance. To make all this possible we do need to apply a sensible charge for internet use.
We value and appreciate your comments and we are currently looking at how we meet all our guests expectations on the quality and price of internet’.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future
Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here recently for one night whilst catching up with family.On the whole it was a good stay,the room was clean warm and cormfortable,the bar area was good.
The only problems really were reception,the poor lad on duty when we checked in was obviously new and got a bit confused as I had booked 2 rooms on the same booking form,he also told us it was free parking for residents.When I queried the £ 6 charge on checking out ,which I was quite happy to pay ,the girl on then was downright rude,,they were busy at the time,but she maybe needs to look at her people skills.
I would stay here again,as the hotel is ideally placed for the shops etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear spexMiddlesbrough
Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community.
I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and I have shared your comments with the wider hotel team at our morning meeting today who were equally thrilled to read your comments.
With regards to the issue you had with our reception team, I have spoken to the relevant Manager so they can act upon your comments and carry out some corrective training.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Milton Keynes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milton Keynes

Address: 500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes MK9 2HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#6 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
#9 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Milton Keynes 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is a spacious, purpose built city centre hotel, offering 166 bedrooms all with high speed internet access and 10 meeting/conference rooms. Xscape - the largest real snow indoor ski slope in Europe is just 10 minutes walk. Other local places of interest include, The National Bowl, Bletchley Park Station X, Woburn Abbey & Safari Park, Silverstone Circuit (home of the British Grand Prix), Milton Keynes Theatre & Milton Keynes indoor shopping centre The Centre: MK Millbrook Proving Ground is only 14 miles from the hotel, making us an ideal base for the DVD Event in June. Our special offers include our Woburn Safari Park, Whipsnade Zoo and New Ski packages. Spirit health club is available for guest s and member s, facilities include a fully equipped gym, steam room, male and female saunas and a heated indoor swimming pool. The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is the ideal base to explore Central England with both Oxford and Cambridge within an hours drive. The M1 s junction 14 is only 10 minutes from the hotel. Milton Keynes Central Rail Station is only a 15 minute walk from the hotel and with 100 trains travelling between London and Milton Keynes everyday you can be in central London in as little as 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Milton Keynes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.