We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Milton Keynes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Milton Keynes to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes MK9 2HQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here after a night out nearby. Really nice Holiday Inn. Clean and bright interior. Room and bed comfortable. Forgot my hairdryer and the one in the room is one of those you have hold button down to keep it on, very annoying and took ages to dry hair! All staff very efficient and friendly. Breakfast had a great buffet choice. Very good value all round.
I had requested an up-grade as it was my birthday and although got refused this, they did leave a birthday card and small gift int the room, which I thought was a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear LinnyLou9
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you had a great stay and that you enjoyed your gift my team left for you.
I will share your comments with them at our daily meeting.
Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future
Regards

Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    195
    88
    29
    14
See reviews for
62
140
31
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My first time staying at a Holiday Inn and was thoroughly impressed. Spacious clean room, good service, very nice bathroom and reasonably priced. The balcony was a nice surprise too.

The bar looked nice but didn't use. Perfectly located in the centre too.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear VintageVeevers
Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community.
I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and I have shared your comments with the hotel team at our meeting today who were equally thrilled to read your comments.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was at the Holiday Inn in Milton Keynes for three weeks on and off. Generally the housekeeping was excellent, just a few cobwebs around in one room I had. The food was very good indeed and we were royally looked after by chef Nuala (? sorry about the spelling). There were just occasional lapses of customer services such as being questioned about payment on checking out for the last time, and the lady receptionist didn't even make eye contact during the transaction. Minor irritation... otherwise great stay. Easy to find, right in the middle of things and we were so well looked after by the Events Team, I recommend any corporate requirements would be well catered for in The Academy. Nice pool and small gym too

Room Tip: Try an outfacing room, but not above the front door as the smokers congregate and it wafts upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear NickyCumbria,
Thank you for your comments on your stay,I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and I have shared your comments with the hotel team and the team member you have mentioned in your review who was equally thrilled to read your comments.
Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I organise groups to have 'stitching weekends'. We have used this hotel for the last 7 years and it just gets better and better. The food is good with a reasonable selection of courses, although the vegetarian selection could be larger. The best thing is the staff who really bend over backwards to help you and who are always smiley and friendly.
The bedrooms are a good size, our conference room was well laid out and the staf made a great attempt at cleaning it inbetween sewing sessions - not an easy task.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

strange old place this Holiday Inn, it is like a courtyard with bedroom balconies overlooking the bar area, bedroom very large even for an executive room, the only drawback was lack of effiecient air conditioning which made the room hot, and because there atre no windows because the door leads on to the public balcony. I was charged for a breakfast i didn't have, but they quickly rectified this. One thing i do object to is having to pay for car parking on hotel land. The quality of the rooms are the normal Holiday Inn standard, so perhaps i am being a bit unfair in classing it as average

Room Tip: Ask for one with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear lexi002
Please accept my apologies for the elements of your stay that were not to your satisfaction It is certainly disappointing to read that we did not deliver on a truly great guest experience.
so please be assured we will increase our efforts to deliver our goal in providing great guest experiences and satisfaction.
Once again please accept my apologies and if I can be of any further assistance please let me know

Regards

Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here to celebrate a friends birthday and it turned out to be a perfect choice.

Check in/out was very efficient
We stayed on the 4th floor in a standard double.
The rooms were very spacious, clean, nice big tv, comfy bed (although a little on the small side), coffee/tea making facilities and biscuits. The bathroom was nice and clean with a good shower with decent water pressure.

Very well located being a short walk to the bars, xscape and shopping centres.

All the staff were very helpful and pleasant especially the gentleman on the night shift - he never stopped smiling.

Great hotel, location and staff that couldn't be faulted, will definitely be back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear joolz-n-vinny

Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community.

I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and I will share your comments with the hotel team at our morning meeting today who were equally thrilled to read your comments.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

we received an excellent check in by the reservation clerk, and given a very clean, quiet room on the first floor, even though we had arrived early to take advantage of the shopping opposite the hotel. we ate dinner in the restaurant, good food and wine choices. the service was attentive, and friendly, and the atmosphere in the restaurant relaxing, and the food very good. breakfast was excellent, lots of choices, again an excellent well led restaurant team, there was also the breakfast chef on hand to cook porridge, poached eggs to order. it was a very slick operation. checked out by Ross who was very polite and attentive and deserves to be nominated for employee of the month. thank you HI milton keynes, we wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Milton Keynes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milton Keynes

Address: 500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes MK9 2HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#6 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
#9 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Milton Keynes 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is a spacious, purpose built city centre hotel, offering 166 bedrooms all with high speed internet access and 10 meeting/conference rooms. Xscape - the largest real snow indoor ski slope in Europe is just 10 minutes walk. Other local places of interest include, The National Bowl, Bletchley Park Station X, Woburn Abbey & Safari Park, Silverstone Circuit (home of the British Grand Prix), Milton Keynes Theatre & Milton Keynes indoor shopping centre The Centre: MK Millbrook Proving Ground is only 14 miles from the hotel, making us an ideal base for the DVD Event in June. Our special offers include our Woburn Safari Park, Whipsnade Zoo and New Ski packages. Spirit health club is available for guest s and member s, facilities include a fully equipped gym, steam room, male and female saunas and a heated indoor swimming pool. The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is the ideal base to explore Central England with both Oxford and Cambridge within an hours drive. The M1 s junction 14 is only 10 minutes from the hotel. Milton Keynes Central Rail Station is only a 15 minute walk from the hotel and with 100 trains travelling between London and Milton Keynes everyday you can be in central London in as little as 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Milton Keynes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.