We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Milton Keynes

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Milton Keynes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes MK9 2HQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 34 hotels in Milton Keynes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here to celebrate a friends birthday and it turned out to be a perfect choice.

Check in/out was very efficient
We stayed on the 4th floor in a standard double.
The rooms were very spacious, clean, nice big tv, comfy bed (although a little on the small side), coffee/tea making facilities and biscuits. The bathroom was nice and clean with a good shower with decent water pressure.

Very well located being a short walk to the bars, xscape and shopping centres.

All the staff were very helpful and pleasant especially the gentleman on the night shift - he never stopped smiling.

Great hotel, location and staff that couldn't be faulted, will definitely be back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear joolz-n-vinny

Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community.

I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and I will share your comments with the hotel team at our morning meeting today who were equally thrilled to read your comments.

Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future

Regards
Wayne Bowring
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    168
    74
    26
    12
See reviews for
55
122
30
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

we received an excellent check in by the reservation clerk, and given a very clean, quiet room on the first floor, even though we had arrived early to take advantage of the shopping opposite the hotel. we ate dinner in the restaurant, good food and wine choices. the service was attentive, and friendly, and the atmosphere in the restaurant relaxing, and the food very good. breakfast was excellent, lots of choices, again an excellent well led restaurant team, there was also the breakfast chef on hand to cook porridge, poached eggs to order. it was a very slick operation. checked out by Ross who was very polite and attentive and deserves to be nominated for employee of the month. thank you HI milton keynes, we wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Its does what it says on the tin! A typically modern holiday inn change hotel. Excellent location for central Milton Keynes, close to shops and entertainment venues. The staff were cheerful and very helpful, check-in was efficient. The room was clean and comfortable, the only thing missing was somewhere to rest / unpack your suitcase. The pool and leisure facilities were nice. My only real complaint is the complete rip off when it comes to wifi, lots of hotels offer this for free where as holiday inn still charge you through the nose!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear DPD Swansea
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor I was pleased to read you had a good stay with us, and I will sharing your comments with the team at our daily meeting.

Regarding your Wifi Wifi Over the last few years we've invested heavily in providing our guests with super high speed, secure internet.
Technically, what sets us apart is the amount of bandwidth each hotel enjoys. So, unlike a basic broadband connection, we're able to guarantee excellent speed, not just for a few of our guests, but for hundreds.
In addition we offer 24/7 technical support should you require any assistance. To make all this possible we do need to apply a sensible charge for internet use.
We value and appreciate your comments and we are currently looking at how we meet all our guests expectations on the quality and price of internet’.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Wayne Bowring - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lax
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

After working a long day, arrived at the HI MK to find out they were overbooked. (I wonder what a reservation is for then? It's not like MK is a hot spot). We were put up for free in the Jurys Inn just down the street -- although if it had not been so cold out, staying in the car would have been more comfortable. Received an apology in writing from the reservations agent (with typos).

We were able to check in the next day and the stream of people after us received the "Sorry we have overbooked..." so if you plan on staying here, I suspect you need to check in earlyish.

The room and the hotel itself was quite nice. Took 45 minutes for the room to be comfortable in temperature. I actually had to wear my robe to bed. My fellow traveler said his room was super hot. Nicely decorated and reasonably spacious although the bathroom had less than zero charm.

15 pounds for breakfast was a bit insulting. They were supposed to remove the Internet fees from the bill, but failed to do so -- another 10 minutes at the front desk fiddling.

So, if you have a room, get there early and turn on the heat as soon as you arrive. If I were to visit MK again, I would prefer not to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Paul158,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced as we were unable to honour your reservation.

Unfortunately, there are times when a hotel is unable to honour a reservation due to unexpected stay-overs or other situations that may arise. When this occurs, it is our company policy, and our “Reservation Guarantee,” to locate equivalent alternative accommodations as well as pay for your room charge for the first night. I am very sorry you were placed in such a situation and am glad our guarantee was honoured.

Your experience enables me to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. I appreciate the candid feedback I receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with me. I know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Milton Keynes for your future travel needs.


Yours sincerely,

Wayne Bowring - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked this overnight stay using hotewire so the value for money was good. The hotel was clean and had good amenities and overall a good place for an overnight stay.

We did find the walls very thin so we heard everyone coming and going and the room next door seemed to have a late night drinking which made for a restless night. I also found the heating was either on or off, no in-between because there was no thermostat. These 2 things were the reason we did not give a 4 overall rating.

The staff were very helpful when we asked for advice on what to do for the day and at checkin.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I-want-to-know-why, Hotel Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Flattj

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations at a good value. I'm sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to improve the quality and services we offer.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Simon Harman - Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is our second return visit to the Holiday Inn, Milton Keynes for a theatre weekend away. The hotel's central location to the main MK shopping centre is fantastic. The hotel is excellent, we stayed in an executive room as a family of 4 with the children sleeping in the sofa bed. The staff are really friendly. Breakfast on Sunday morning was absolutely fantastic (it had everything you could have wanted). We used the health club with a morning swim - which was fine although it is getting a little tried looking.

Only gripe is that our double bed was far too soft which did disturb our night's sleep and the cost of the WiFi access which I decided not too use when I put our room number in to access it when I saw the price. I then discovered the morning we were leaving (too late) that WiFi was included free of charge with executive rooms - pity we weren't told when we booked in!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I-want-to-know-why, Hotel Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Paul C

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Its always great to see reviews from our returning guests.

Please accept my apologies for the elements of your stay that were not to your satisfaction. It is certainly disappointing to read that we did not deliver on a truly great guest experience. I along with the hotel management team review all guest comments to ensure we can rectify any shortcoming that are experienced so please be assured we will increase our efforts to deliver our goal in our goal in providing great guest experiences and satisfaction.

Once again please accept my apologies and if I can be of any further assistance please let me know.


Regards

Simon Harman - Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stay here a lot as the company I work for has only 2 hotels in Milton Keynes on their approved list. Unfortunately this is the nearest to the customer`s office. I used to stay in Nottingham a lot and the Holiday Inn there was £55 with our company discount. The MK one ranges from £116 to £168 for a standard room with no breakfast!
I have had several rooms that smell of smoke. Apparently the smoke alarms are easy to disable! Very worrying!
Last week I was charged £50 for telling the hotel I was not staying my last night at 8am. I have never had to pay a penalty at any other hotel. I stayed at the Hilton in MK the week before and did exactly the same with no fee. Watch out!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear holidaysitebuilder,

Thank you for posting a review on the TripAdvisor site.

I am interested to read your concerns and of course I am disappointed that your overall experience at the hotel was not to your satisfaction. Given the positive number of comments we receive I am confident this is an isolated experience. If you wish to discuss these further then please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Once again I appreciate your comments and I know you have many choices when it comes to hotels in the area and hope you will stay with us again on your future visits to Milton Keynes.

Best Wishes and Regards

Wayne Bowring - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Milton Keynes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milton Keynes

Address: 500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes MK9 2HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#6 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
#9 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Milton Keynes 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is a spacious, purpose built city centre hotel, offering 166 bedrooms all with high speed internet access and 10 meeting/conference rooms. Xscape - the largest real snow indoor ski slope in Europe is just 10 minutes walk. Other local places of interest include, The National Bowl, Bletchley Park Station X, Woburn Abbey & Safari Park, Silverstone Circuit (home of the British Grand Prix), Milton Keynes Theatre & Milton Keynes indoor shopping centre The Centre: MK Millbrook Proving Ground is only 14 miles from the hotel, making us an ideal base for the DVD Event in June. Our special offers include our Woburn Safari Park, Whipsnade Zoo and New Ski packages. Spirit health club is available for guest s and member s, facilities include a fully equipped gym, steam room, male and female saunas and a heated indoor swimming pool. The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is the ideal base to explore Central England with both Oxford and Cambridge within an hours drive. The M1 s junction 14 is only 10 minutes from the hotel. Milton Keynes Central Rail Station is only a 15 minute walk from the hotel and with 100 trains travelling between London and Milton Keynes everyday you can be in central London in as little as 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Milton Keynes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.