We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Milton Keynes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Milton Keynes to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes MK9 2HQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Northampton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Absolutely nothing to grumble about with this stay! £50 for the night - we only needed a base as we were on a night out for someone's leaving do from work (taxi home would cost around £50!!!)

Perfect features, everything we needed and a brilliant nights sleep!

Will recommend and use again :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Motherowl,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am pleased that you had a great stay and I have shared your comments with the wider hotel team who were equally pleased that you had such a good stay.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in, hopefully, the not too distant future.

Best Wishes and Regards

Wayne Bowring - Generl Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    196
    88
    29
    14
See reviews for
62
140
31
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
corby
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

stopped at the holiday inn Milton Keynes, in January 13, we booked this before Christmas to allow us to stop over whilst at a concert. Very good hotel excellent 4 star accommodation, our room was spacious, clean and above all warm. The hotel is close to the main shopping center and the Xscape activity center.
We had a few minor problems whilst we stopped, but I do mean minor and the staff sorted this within minutes. I did use some of the leisure facilities and again these were good, warm swimming pool and steam room.
You do pay for car parking on site about £6 and it is probably wise to pre book the buffet breakfast.
There was a party at the hotel on the night we stopped, we were advised of this as there may be some noise. We were on the 3rd floor and we didn't hear it, either in the corridor or the room, so no worries there.
The hotel is built with an inner courtyard, with seating, bar and large TV's, with the restaurant just off this.
Overall a good stay and would use again, for either shopping or theartre

Room Tip: I would recommend our room on the 3rd floor, but think any room here would be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear rscorby,

Thank you for posting a review for the TripAdvisor community.

Overall it was pleasing to read that you had a great stay and would return to the hotel should you need to visit the area again in the future. I have shared your comments with the wider hotel team who were equally pleased.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review and hopefully look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to the area.

Best Wishes and Regards

Wayne Bowring - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Firstly, if your considering staying here, pay the upgrade for the executive room. These are the rooms which face inwards (yes, a balcony overlooking the bar inside) odd! The standard rooms are just not very nice, both by looks and smell. The exec room is nice, has a good bathroom, very large bed and lots of floor space. Hit and miss as to whether the mini bar is filled, and dont reply on your requested wake up call. Food is good and so is the service.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade - go executive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear JMD2013,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I have noted your comments and are disappointed that you feel our standard rooms are not to the high quality you expected this is not something that we receive comments on although I will keep a record of your concerns and review these with the relevant team to discuss any improvements that can be made.

I have also highlighted your comments regarding the mini bar to the relevant department as this is something that should be refilled and checked on a daily basis so will ensure this is done.

Once again thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel int he near future.

Regards

Wayne Bowring - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Excellent rooms, comfortable and spacious. Good food and friendly service only downside for me was a chaotic breakfast service just seemed a little disorganised to me.....for that reason I have given the service and breakfast an average score.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Mark O

Thank you for your review.

It was pleasing that overall your stay was to your satisfaction and I have shared this with the wider hotel team. I have also discussed your observations around breakfast with the Food & Beverage team who will review the relevant information to ensure that the department has the correct resources deployed so we can deliver a great all round guest experience.

Thanks once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes and Regards

Wayne Bowring - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a New Years Eve Dinner Dance and it was terrific. Every member of staff from Reception and Health Club to Bar Staff and breakfast staff were all so attentive and friendly and welcoming. The room was spotless, roomy, comfortable and very quiet.
The staff went to a lot of effort to make the lounge/bar in to a party venue and the whole evening went off very well. Whether coming in a group or as couples everyone had a great part night.

Room Tip: At end of corridor so no passing 'traffic'
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I-want-to-know-why, Simon Harman Hotel Operations Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Della G

Thank you for posting a review and sharing your experience with the wider Trip Advisor community.

Its great to hear that you joined us for our New Years celebrations and had an enjoyable time. Thank you for your comments on how much effort the team here put into making the space look great. I know how much work the team put in and i know by sharing your comments with them they will feel all the effort was worthwhile.

It is always a pleasure to read and acknowledge these comments on behalf of the hotel when the team have been recognised for their efforts and I know they will be thrilled to read your review.

We look forward to seeing you again next year I hope.

Regards

Simon Harman - Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We booked the hotel through late rooms , enjoyed it so much that we booked another night , loved location really handy coming back and dropping off shopping than going out again , must mention a man on the bar his name Dan very warm and friendly made our stay here extra special , he remembered us from the night before and being in the hotel trade I know how hard it is to know who you serviced the day before so thank you Dan

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear janine234,

Thank you for posting a review.

I am pleased you had a great stay and I will share your comments with the entire hotel team who I know will be equally pleased especially Dan for his special mention.

We all look forward to your next "Shopping Trip" to Milton Keynes and welcoming you back to the hotel.

Best Wishes for the New Year

Wayne Bowring - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

we have stayed here lots of time its in a good place for getting around and the shopping centre is across the road so you dont need to move the car ,thats if your lucky enough to find a spot in there car park .at night theres loads of places to eat in the hub area its lovely.i reccomm end prosseco a new italian,your greeted with a glass of it free .

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneBowring, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Susan e

Thank you for posting a review

It is always great to hear about our guests experiences when visiting the hotel and we share these with the wider hotel tem to ensure they understand the difference we can all make in delivering a great hotel experience.

Once again thank you and may I take this opportunity to wish you a Merry Christmas

Regards

Wayne Bowring - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Milton Keynes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milton Keynes

Address: 500 Saxon Gate West, Milton Keynes MK9 2HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
#6 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
#9 Romantic Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Milton Keynes 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is a spacious, purpose built city centre hotel, offering 166 bedrooms all with high speed internet access and 10 meeting/conference rooms. Xscape - the largest real snow indoor ski slope in Europe is just 10 minutes walk. Other local places of interest include, The National Bowl, Bletchley Park Station X, Woburn Abbey & Safari Park, Silverstone Circuit (home of the British Grand Prix), Milton Keynes Theatre & Milton Keynes indoor shopping centre The Centre: MK Millbrook Proving Ground is only 14 miles from the hotel, making us an ideal base for the DVD Event in June. Our special offers include our Woburn Safari Park, Whipsnade Zoo and New Ski packages. Spirit health club is available for guest s and member s, facilities include a fully equipped gym, steam room, male and female saunas and a heated indoor swimming pool. The Holiday Inn Milton Keynes is the ideal base to explore Central England with both Oxford and Cambridge within an hours drive. The M1 s junction 14 is only 10 minutes from the hotel. Milton Keynes Central Rail Station is only a 15 minute walk from the hotel and with 100 trains travelling between London and Milton Keynes everyday you can be in central London in as little as 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Milton Keynes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Milton Keynes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.