We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good friendly restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kardamom Lounge

Kardamom Lounge
34 High Street | Stony Stratford, Milton Keynes MK11 1AF, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 414 Restaurants in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
northampton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Really good friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Have eaten here on numerous occasions and has always been good, have always had good service, and the food is in my opinion the best around for Indian food, it is not overpriced unlike the take your pants down calculta bra, which I would never eat in again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    31
    9
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful flavoursome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Called in for our first visit on 13th December. Very busy with Christmas guests. My wife and I were seated to the rear of the restaurant. Very noisy but good atmosphere and we had a comfortable table. The decor was modern and tasteful. Lots of staff on duty and the service was excellent. We had popadoms and sauces to start followed by samosas and Momo chicken. Lovely and tasty. For our mains we chose the Tandoori selection of chicken morisa and tandoori mixed grill. We also ordered nan bread which was obviously freshly prepared and quite delicious. Best meal we have had outside of India - full of flavour and nicely spiced. We also had a red sauce with our meal which was amazing - we asked the knowledgeable staff for the recipe. It consisted of many different ingredients including tomato sauce! Wonderful evening - great food and service (hot towels provided) and not too hard on the pocket. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We went to the Kardamon Lounge last night to celebrate my birthday - but left feeling quite let down.

As a positive we booked a table for 5 at 8.30 and if was ready when we arrived - we had half expected that there would have to wait. We were shown to the table and immediately I noticed that my chair was very uncomfortable, standing up and looking under the chair it was evident all the springs had come out. The chair needed replacing. There is really no excuse for expecting customers to sit on broken and uncomfortable chairs.

The menu is imaginative and not the normal run of the mill curry house. However, whilst our order for drinks and poppadoms was taken quickly it was some 45 minutes before our food order was taken. Whilst waiting we all commented about the noise levels in the restaurant which was uncomfortably high, perhaps not the fault of the restaurant , but if you cram in the tables noise can be the result.

Eventually the starters arrived and were excellent - the prawn on puree was very good indeed as were the garlic prawns. Mains arrived soon afterwards, but two of the dishes were cold and had to be sent back to be blitzed in the microwave, one of them twice as even after telling the waiter it was cold, it was returned still cold. Food really should not come out of a kitchen like this.

We could not wait for sweets and coffee and so cannot comment on the quality having spent 2 hours waiting for starters and mains.

In conclusion we were disappointed having been to the Kardamon Lounge in the summer and had an excellent meal - that was a week day and I dont think that they could cope with a full sitting. Would we return --- probably not there are plenty of Indian Restauants in MK and frankly on last nights showing the Kardamon Lounge is sadly not up with the best.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The staff were nice enough although they seemed funny when we did not order any drinks other than water for the table. The food was O.K. It was lacking flavour. It needed some spices and herbs adding, it was just very bland. The prices/portion sizes are good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good night at Kardamon Lounge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My first visit to this well decorated and busy restaurant. Firstly the positives, the food was nicely presented (apart from a very dry onion bhaji) and of decent quality. The Lamb Pathia was well spiced although with a bit too much garlic. The other mains were Chicken Sag and Lamb Korma which were above average. The plain and pillau rices were very good. The service was very good with an atmosphere to match. Overall the food was inoffensive and this is my main criticism as the target clientell appears to be customers who dont want authentic asian food i.e it is an English Bangladeshi restaurant. The fact that there was not even one non white customer suggests that people who know authentic food are eating elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kardamom Lounge also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Kardamom Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kardamom Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.