We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Milton Keynes

Save Saved
You added Hilton Milton Keynes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Milton Keynes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Timbold Drive, Milton Keynes MK7 6HL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #16 of 34 hotels in Milton Keynes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

There is no free wifi available and the staff is downright silly, or partly far beyond that point. The restaurant is expensive and there' s really nothing special about this hotel except from a big name.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prasoon P, Manager at Hilton Milton Keynes, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear wolli101

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I was sorry to hear that your stay this time did not meet your expectations and it was a pity that you were not informed of our free WiFi areas in our lounge, for your convenience.

I will ensure that the staff are aware of your disappointment, in order that we can improve on our service and standards for you next time.

Kind Regards
Prasoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    189
    178
    92
    40
See reviews for
95
167
35
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Location is perfect for Woburn and Bletchley. Rooms were spacious and linen was clean but we had to move rooms twice due to maintenance issues, although staff were attentive and quick to respond to our problems. Hot breakfast was very good and they also had a good 'healthy' selection. Dinner menu a bit pricey but food was good. Waiting staff friendly and very helpful. Restaurant, bar and communal areas were very cold so take some warm clothes. Overall a nice hotel in a convenient location but needing a few improvements to the overall condition of the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prasoon P, Manager at Hilton Milton Keynes, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear RustyRain

Thank you for your review of our hotel, and I was pleased that you found our staff friendly and helpful.

I was sorry to hear that you experience a few maintenance problems during your stay, but happy that we were able to accommodate your all your requests and expectations. I have passed your kind comment regarding the food to our Head Chef, which were gratefully received.

We do have an ongoing refurbishment programme at the hotel and many of our rooms and areas have already undergone improvement and enhancements, and I do hope that you will return to experience this.

Regards
Prasoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you like Hilton Hotels, then this will be perfect for you. A small shop selling 'concrete cows' is the only clue about the location once you enter the hotel- aside from that, you could be anywhere in the world. The hotel was clean, the room was spacious and the staff were friendly. The only thing that let the hotel down was the dinner, which was extremely bland considering the cost. The breakfast was self service and there was plenty to choose from. It is a great location especially if you are visiting the Open University (just across the roundabout) and I would stay there again- though I might go elsewhere for dinner next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prasoon P, Manager at Hilton Milton Keynes, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Scoxon

Thank you for your review onTripAdvisor.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoy Hilton Hotels and that our location and staff were perfect for your stay. I have passed your comments regarding your meal to my Head Chef, in order that we meet your expectations next time.

I hope to see you back here soon.

Kind Regards
Prasoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Staff were fabulous but;

WiFi is very weak and you're not able to pick it up in the room. Even if you can, you have to pay for it. You do get an hour free in the lobby.

In the room there is one power socket you can use and that's hidden behind the TV. If you have a phone or hairdryer plugged in, you can't iron at the same time!

The shower fitting came off in my hand and the general cleanliness was very poor. I was on the ground floor and there was a big hole in the doors to the garden area, stuffed up with a rank tissue.

No heating and I found a storage heater that I worked out how to switch on so the room was at least vaguely warm the following morning.

However, the function we attended was very well staffed, and they worked really hard.

Shame really, just a little work would make things a little more acceptable!

Room Tip: Don't know how much the room was as it was paid for by the business. There seemed to be lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prasoon P, Manager at Hilton Milton Keynes, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Anji1961

Thank you for your recent comments and I was very pleased that you found our staff great. I was sorry to hear that your room did not match your expectations. The shortcomings you described are certainly not to our usual standard, and I have taken steps to address this for future stays.

I look forward to seeing you again sometime, you will be made most welcome.

Kind regards
Prasoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Milton Keynes is best known as one of the 'smart cities' being developed in the UK to showcase an efficient and environment friendly urban growth. The Hilton is suitably located for getting a convenient tour of the city and to also enjoy the beautiful campus of the Open University, UK, which initially brought local fame to the place. So start with the wonderful roads winding past the new forestation and the manmade water bodies; move then to the aesthetically designed city centre which is NOT a high rise, thank God; appreciate the old, elegant railway station, wander into the quaint Milton Keynes village with thatch roofs, then decide to spend at least 2 hours at the OU campus. Walton Hall, a turn of the century mansion is at its heart, and all the rest is efficiently 'modern', spread over generous acres. Street sculpture needs a taste of its own, which is not mine. The fun in the city is provided by a spectacular Rugby Stadium which is the "bowl" of the stadium's hotel. How wonderful to sip coffee in your room and watch a live Rugby game! Milton Keynes, only 90 miles from London surely deserves a visit, and the Hilton makes it a comfortable halt.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel faces the woods and are pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prasoon P, Manager at Hilton Milton Keynes, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear bhramania

Thank you for your comprehensive review of our local area and hotel. I am pleased that you had a good stay and enjoyed the facilities and local amenities, and I very much look forward to welcoming you back next time you stay in Milton Keynes.

Kind Regards
Prasoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good value weekend spa break .Gym pool sauna and jacuzzi available.Location a little distant from the Shopping facilities.Not a lively bar area and surprised a four star hotel does not stock any sparkling wine let alone champagne.Breakfast was good but avoid the stale coffee in the silver containers provided to you! Rooms ok and comfortable beds plus reasonable quality toiletries!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prasoon P, Manager at Hilton Milton Keynes, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear rockyrob

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review and pleased that you managed to get a good deal on your room rate at Hilton Milton Keynes. Your feedback is important to us and I have passed on your kind comments to the team, who were most grateful too.

I was concerned to hear that you could not order a sparkling wine during your stay, as our usual wine list offers a range of champagne, sparkling wine and cocktails from our well stocked bar, and I can only apologise if this was not made available to you on this occasion. I will ensure that this does not occur for future stays, and please accept my sincere apologies.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some time in the future, and you will be assured of a warm welcome.

Kind Regards
Prasoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The staff are great - but my highest priority is a good night sleep in a room which I am at the very least happy with.

The room - Tables with loose fixings/legs, handles and knobs missing from drawers, cup ring stains on surfaces, blocked shower head.
I would compare the furnishing to second hand quality. Soft furnishings torn and stained, wall coverings (yes wall paper) ripped, torn, scuffed and lifting. The bed was uncomfortable.

I've stayed here a number of times because my company uses the conference rooms and I am sadly let down every time.

Room Tip: Definitely not a room near to reception - rooms here are damp! try to upgrade as the standard rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prasoon P, Manager at Hilton Milton Keynes, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear StewartM01

Thank you for giving feedback on your experience during your stay at Hilton Milton Keynes. I was most concerned to hear your comments, and I have followed up your points with my Facilities Manager, who joins me in apologising for your disappointment on this occasion.

Should you book with us again, please do not hesitate to contact me prasoon.pradap@hilton.com to discuss your booking in order for me to ensure that your expectations are met next time.

Regards
Prasoon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Milton Keynes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Milton Keynes

Address: Timbold Drive, Milton Keynes MK7 6HL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Milton Keynes 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Milton Keynes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Hilton International Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes Hilton
Hilton Milton Keynes United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Milton Keynes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.