We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay, but went to the Harvester for food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eastlake Park, Tongwell Street, Fox Milne, Milton Keynes MK15 0YA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Milton Keynes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
“A great place to stay, but went to the Harvester for food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. Seems quite up market web u walk in but is still a great price. Clean rooms and a 24hr bar for residents. Scenery wasn't the best, and no specific place to park unfortunately.
The Harvester across the road was very convienient and although it was busy we got good service. I don't think their the same company but they do great value food!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am sure that the Harvester will be pleased that you enjoyed dining with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    179
    76
    17
    5
See reviews for
107
123
26
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
matlock
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night, wow what value for money for a family, was so clean compared to other hotels stayed in recently, very small but all needed there. Nice and quiet, breakfast was good for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Well what can I say! Thank you every so much for your excellent feedback, we pride ourselves on providing an excellent service and experience and still be brilliant value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I'll keep this brief as everything went to plan. Check-in was a breeze, having used hotelclub (to earn points) to book my one night over-nighter for just myself.
Sat Nav got me there spot on and parking is free and plentiful. I asked for a quiet room and got allocated one, room 258 which is at the far end of the building opposite an office block (which was empty because it was weekend). I could hear some noisy guests, I think from the room below but nothing to worry about, just being picky to find fault I suppose. I soon drifted off on the firm but comfy bed after my long trip but not before enjoying a pint of beer in the hotel bar on Saturday night.
Room is spacious with large t.v., sofa bed in the corner with bathroom. I enjoy a bath but this hotel does not have any at all, instead opting for showers. Hot water was running mighty fine and bathroom kitted out with towels. No complimentary toiletries, apart from soap for hand washing but then again its a hotel competing with Travelodge so costs have to be kept down.
This hotel beats ANY Travelodge I have stayed in over the years and they have lost their way in my opinion in keeping loyal customers (that's another story!).
Breakfast is basic but again substantial to keep you going until lunch...toast, fruits, yoghurts, sausages, scrambled eggs and baked beans with tea and coffee on tap which is all self-serve.
They operate a 'tidy your own' tray system and was working well as of 8.15am on my morning of departure.
Friendly reception staff makes you feel welcome especially after a 400 mile drive, so thumbs up to the ladies on duty (Sat 27th and Sun 28th Oct 2012) for checking me and out promptly, even after two buses of tourists had just arrived before me. I WILL return sometime as this is my 2nd enjoyable stay at a Holiday Inn Express in the Buckinghamshire area.

Room Tip: 258 is at the end of the block so will suit someone who requires a quiet room. It us up one set of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Many thanks for your review and feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to do so.
We are so pleased that your stay with us was a comfortable night for you.

I shall pass on your thanks to the members of staff that were on duty during your stay with us and we hope to welcome back to the Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes in the future.

Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here for a business trip.
arrived via Taxi from Heathrow Airport- preorder costs 65 GBP

Room was clean and nice, large size room, large size bed.

location is outside Milton Keynes, costs around 5 GBP for Taxi to the city center

dissapointed that Free WIFI was in reception only, per 24hrs WIFI in room they charged 12.95 GBP (Not cheap)

Breakfast was not my cup of tea, ingredients were not very fresh in my opinion.

No Iron in room, but you can get it at the reception , just ask.

Room Tip: Stayed on first floor, it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments.

We are able to offer free WiFi in all of our public areas of the hotel for 6 hours every day which has always been our policy. This policy is practice through out many of the IHG hotels and is not a policy we have personally made at this hotel. We are happy that we can offer some free WiFi for guests.

Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on our way home to Scotland from France and were delighted to have a comfortable bed after a long drive. Room was a decent size with a double bed and fold out sofa bed, which our 5 year old also found comfortable, flat screen TV, tea/coffee facilities (Kenco coffee) and clean shower room with soap and shampoo. We ate at the Harvester over the road and all thoroughly enjoyed our meals, wish they would open some in Scotland! Breakfast was complimentary and included sausage, scrambled egg, beans, toast, cereal and the usual cold continental selection, again we all enjoyed our meals and overall had a good experience at his hotel. Would gladly recommend and return in future.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased that after your hectic trip you found that your experience staying with us was exactly what you needed.
We at the Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes pride ourselves on the service we give and are extremely happy when our hard work pays off and we love to hear when we have made our guests feel welcome and that they have enjoyed their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We started off impressed, good location, not far from motorway and next to a Harvester. Quick check in, dropped our bags in the room which smelt of smoke! Didn't have time to complain!
Went to watch match at MK Don's Stadium.
In the morning, the newspaper we requested had not been ordered. The queue for breakfast took over half an hour for toast and coffee. One poor man was doing his best to keep the breakfast area cleared but really! He needed help!
Will not be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I would like to thank you for your feedback in reference to your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes and the positive points that you have highlighted such as the location and the service you experienced on arrival.

The hotel adopts a strict no smoking policy as all of our rooms are non smoking.

Breakfast is an area which we are always working on to improve, especially at weekends when the serving area can be extremely busy.

I am disappointed to learn that you do not intend to return to this property and hope that your time with us has not put you off staying with other Holiday Inn Express.

Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very good room - clean, comfortable and quiet. In the first room however the toilet didnt flush, but this was very quickly rectified by the reception staff who promptly moved us to another room. One of the better Holiday Inn Express rooms I have been in. Comfy mattress, good shower, big TV and quiet! Went down to breakfast on sunday morning and had to queue for about 20 minutes just to get to the trays! The array of food was as expected but surely there is a better system? The queue snaked across the whole breakfast area. The fruit juice machine ran out and various other things werent being replenished in time because of the amount of people. Some were taking food items from the buffet for their lunch - shouldn't be allowed! Ample free car parking. Harvester restaurant directly opposite which was also good.

Room Tip: Rooms in the west wing are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah8118, Duty Manager at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for feedback, our reception team prides themselves on their customer service levels and it is always rewarding to see our guests recognising this.

We are pleased to learn that the comfy mattresses allowed you to get a good night’s sleep and that you found the facilities of the room to your liking.

Breakfast is an area which we are always working on to improve, especially at weekends when the serving area can be extremely busy.

We are also glad that you enjoyed the dining experience of the Harvester and am sure they would appreciate some feedback from you on there page if you haven’t already.

Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes

Address: Eastlake Park, Tongwell Street, Fox Milne, Milton Keynes MK15 0YA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Milton Keynes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Milton Keynes
#5 Family Hotel in Milton Keynes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes hotel, set in a peaceful area one mile from the M1.Our contemporary hotel offers 178 air-conditioned guest rooms with flat-screen TVs and is located close to junction 14 of the M1 & 3.5 miles from Milton Keynes town centre. Feel free to leave your vehicle in our complimentary car park and help yourself to hot and continental options at the complimentary breakfast buffet, served daily in Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes' sociable Great Room. Stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi and host training days for 12-65 people in our 8 contemporary meeting rooms. It's just a short stroll from Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes to Fox Milne and Northfield business parks. Hurtle downhill on real snow and test your nerve on the rock-climbing walls at Xscape indoor ski and leisure complex, 3 miles from the hotel. You can catch top international bands at the huge Milton Keynes Bowl and shop till you drop at thecentre:mk. Experience the thrill of race day at Silverstone, 12 miles away.A range of international dishes are on the dinner menu in the inviting great room at Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes. Mingle over drinks in our laid-back 24-hour bar with complimentary wireless Internet. Children under 18 stay free when sharing a room with a paying adult, making us a good-value choice for families. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes Hotel Milton Keynes
Holiday Inn Milton Keynes
Milton Keynes Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Milton Keynes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.