We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cut above” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taipan

Taipan
5 Savoy Crescent | The Theatre District, Milton Keynes MK9 3PU, England
(0)19 0833 1883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 402 Restaurants in Milton Keynes
Price range: $31 - $78
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Taipan is a Chinese restaurant based in the heart of Milton Keynes' Theatre district. Our food combines high quality and fresh ingredients to create a very modern take on traditional Chinese dishes. And because we are independent, we can craft new dishes and create bespoke meals to cater for individual tastes.Our chefs have worked in some of the most high profile restaurants in East Asia including the 5 star Shanghai Hilton and the Hong Kong Jockey Club (Formally the Royal Jockey Club). Because of their experience, we are able to offer a wide selection of dishes of the highest quality dishes, with Seafood and Dim Sum being some of our most established and popular dishes. At Taipan, we don't do anything by half measures. Our ingredients are hand-picked by our chefs from the highest quality sources - even our seafood menu has more dishes than most specialist seafood restaurants. The quality of our food is supplemented by our drinks menu, which includes a variety of some of the finest wines and champagnes from around the world. We'll help you decide what drinks best complement your food, to ensure that not a single taste is wasted. If you would like to know more about what goes in our food, please get in touch via our contacts page or Twitter feed and we'll be more than happy to chat.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A cut above”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had been a couple of years ago and was very impressed and wanted to take my fiancee for a 'nice' Chinese and decided on a trip up the A5. Not cheap, but definitely a cut above the usual, with great food (the prawn toasts were superb) and attentive service. Leftovers tasted great the next day too!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    48
    19
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A 65th Birthday treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived a 1pm for lunch and chose the Shanghai for the four of us. After getting through a plate full of gorgeous gourmet starters, we then had soup, crispy duck and pancakes and then, the Main course of four lovely dishes including the amazing crispy chilli beef and lots of sticky rice we ended our meal very satisfied and happy.

All of this lovely food for just £26 per person! The staff, especially manager, Brian, were attentive and very efficient, and we felt well looked after. This is a gem of a restaurant and we can't wait to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Food was good but they wanted us to rush our meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We eat here quite often, mainly early evening, however we decided to go with friends at around 9pm on a Sunday evening, we ordered our food and were half way through what we had ordered for mains, when at 9.50pm, we were asked if we would want anything else and this included drinks and dessert as the kitchen was closing. How rude??? We hadn't finished main course, and weren't at the point of deciding whether we wanted dessert or not and didn't want to order more drinks as we hadn't finished the drinks we were drinking at the time and they would have been warm by the time we got to drink them and would have taken up more room on the table. I made a point of saying that really wasn't what I would expect of them and I am really surprised, but we were just told that the chef was finishing and they would be closing at 10pm. Well they should have told us that when we arrived!!! It may be the first time this has happened here, but it will also be the last as we won't return, which is a shame as we have enjoyed ourselves previously, but once bitten twice shy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Pre Theatre Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The staff at Taipan are very welcoming and used to pre-theatre diners. I visited last week with friends and we were running very tight on time. We ordered the set menu, explained about the theatre and were fed a delicious meal all in 45 minutes. Amazing!

I would thoroughly recommend them for a tasty and speedy meal.


I have eaten here when not in a rush and it was delicious too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A tasty Chinese!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

A friend recommended this restaurant to me so thought I'd give it a whirl before visiting the theatre.

The food was great, staff really welcoming and friendly.

Thought the meal was slightly on the expensive side though, but will defiantly re-visit again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taipan also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Taipan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taipan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.