We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Express

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pizza Express
396 Midsummer Boulevard, Milton Keynes MK9 3BN, England
+44 (0)1908 231738
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #180 of 401 Restaurants in Milton Keynes
Price range: $0 - $43
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
West Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I regularly visited Pizza Express when in Milton Keynes and the food quality was just a s expected for Pizza Express with friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    59
    26
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Not up to usual Pizza Express standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Visited a few Pizza Express restaurants and not had a problem. Like most Chains you usually get what you pay for and it's okay for the kids. This one needs looking into. Staff, should I say the one member of staff, we saw was overwhelmed, not trained properly and looked overworked. What was delivered to the table only vaguely represented what we ordered. The food however was well cooked. This experience won't put me off Pizza Express but YOU need to improve the customer experience which at the time of our visit was atrocious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Worst one I've been to”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

For a Pizza Express it's a bit tucked away, seemingly inside an office building, hidden from the main road. Things started badly though when I walked inside and had to wait several minutes to be seen, even though the restaurant was quiet. There were serving staff dashing around in the restaurant but eventually I was taken to my table by a man in shorts and a T-shirt who turned out to be one of the chefs. His children were in the restaurant and both he and the other staff regularly took time out from doing their jobs to play with them, chat etc.

I ordered my usual choices (I'm a regular visitor to Pizza Express as I travel on business a lot) and waited for my starter - bruschetta - which seemed to take an age to arrive despite there being three or four people working in the kitchen and the restaurant being half empty. When it came the bread was very tough and rather burnt at one end. My pizza was better when it came but the tomatoes on the top had a very strange taste, almost soapy.

I ordered a coffee and a sorbet (the "dolcetti" ones where you get a small dessert and a coffee) and when it arrived the waitress brought a full-sized dessert, saying that the waitress who took my order had failed to tell her it should have been the small portion, but that she'd only charge me for the small one, adding that it was my lucky day.

Once I'd finished I had to wait a very long time to catch someone's eye in order to ask for my bill. All in all, despite expecting a quick meal, I ended up spending just short of two hours in the restaurant due to the poor service and inattentiveness of the staff. As I was dining alone this was a very long time to spend in a restaurant!

All in all it was a poor starter, an OK main course, a good dessert, and very poor service all round. I won't go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went here for a quiet meal. That was the plan anyway. Despite being quite a large restaurant, and being virtually empty, we were made to sit right in between two noisy tables. I asked for a table closer to the outside doors, but was told no, that bit wasn't open, yet within ten minutes of being seated there were several tables occupied there! Bit of a cheek really. The food was ok. My pizza was overcooked so part was inedible. The waiting staffs grasp of English was limited so not much use making a complaint, or trying to ask what the deserts were. They were friendly and efficient though. Its a shame as I like Pizza Express but this one lets the chain down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice food and good staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very nice food... And pretty good value as well. The pizza was very nice with fresh taste if that makes sense. Will go back when in this area again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.