We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad start, but well recovered!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AM Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
AM Restaurant
29-33 Winchester Street, Basingstoke, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 139 restaurants in Basingstoke
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: Oriental buffet restaurant serving primarily Chinese but also Malaysian, Singaporean, Indian and Thai dishes. 2 branches in Basingstoke and Aldershot.
Restaurant details
Description: Oriental buffet restaurant serving primarily Chinese but also Malaysian, Singaporean, Indian and Thai dishes. 2 branches in Basingstoke and Aldershot.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad start, but well recovered!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Recently visited the other Chinese buffet, Wasungdan, over the road from AM restaurant, so thought this time we would try this one to compare. Initial impression was very poor, as when we walked in with our children, no one welcomed us and after watching a few other people enter, we realised the idea seemed to be just wander in and just find a table. Call me old fashioned, but I like a 'welcomer'. One sat down, our waitress could not have been more attentive, even showing my 5 year old how to use chop sticks, much to her delight! The food was generally good, although slightly disappointed at no hot and sour soup on offer, despite being advertised on their website. The selection was good, I would say on a par with wasungdan. Chicken dishes a little dry, but we were not expecting fine dining! The Chinese pork was easily the stand out for me, my wife enjoying the mushroom stir fry most. The kids loved the chow mein, chips and prawn crackers, and of course the unlimited ice cream.

Would go again, was great value, but if pressed, I would say wusungdan slightly wins between the two.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    11
    10
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

The food was good :-) it was nice to have a few others things that aren't normally classed as Chinese. There was more choice of ice creams too Compared to most buffets.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We went here as a group of 12 for my son's birthday and wasn't disappointed.
Gorgeous food,friendly staff and fab prices.they even gave us a complementary bottle of wine.
Been many times and can honestly say the quality of staff n food has always been great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AM chinese all you can eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

we have visited this restaurant three times now over the past 4years and it has been consistant in quality and price. You are welcomed at the door and there is no pressure to eat straight away. Food is replenished as soon as a serving dish gets half full and choice is good something for everyone including chips for the children. You are not made to feel piggy if you go up for seconds or thirds for some. The staff are very prompt to remove empty dirty plates. The only down side is dessert, which consisted of tinned fruit, tasteless jelly cubes and several different flavours of ice cream but to be honest it's the chinese you go for and if you eaten all you can eat whose got room for dessert.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So Good Ive Been More Than Twice!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

What can I say... everything about this restaurant is pretty good value for money; fresh replenished variety of food to choose from, good service, fantastic atmosphere certainly worth visiting. Much, much better than the DREADFUL Wusungdan restaurant opposite.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AM Restaurant also viewed

Basingstoke, Hampshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to AM Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AM Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.