We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming property with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Audleys Wood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Audleys Wood to your Saves list
Audleys Wood
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alton Road, Basingstoke RG25 2JT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Basingstoke
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Charming property with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I tretaed ourselves over Easter 2013 to a night away in a 4 star hotel. We were not disapponted. The room turned out to be a suite (free upgrade) which was very comfortable and large. We dined at night in very unusual suroundings in the Conservatory/Brasserie restaurant which is designed like a conservatory but instead of glass it is light wood panelled - very unusual.
The food and service were excellent and we enjoyed a good nights sleep in our comfy massive bed. In the morning the breakfast was cooked to order and was excellent although the service was a bit slow, but this was forgiven as they were very busy and everything else was very good.
Overall an enjoyable experience - so if you fancy a treat...................

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AColley, General Manager at Audleys Wood, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest, I am pleased to learn that you had a relaxing Easter break with us and that you were able to take advantage of the great value packages that we had on offer over this period. I shall pass you glowing comments onto the team, who I am sure, will be very pleased with the feedback. Please do keep an eye on our website as we will be offering other seasonal packages throughout the year. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    148
    50
    19
    15
See reviews for
52
192
11
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dartford
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We chose this Lovely hotel after previously staying at another Handpicked Hotel. We had arranged to have an afternoon tea on arrival & found the table all set and waiting for us. The sandwiches and scones etc were all freshly made for us and they have a tea experience!Which was different and gave us something different to chat about.We experienced excellent food in the superb dining room.All the staff were friendly and very attentive. I would recommend a stay at Audleys wood.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AColley, General Manager at Audleys Wood, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments following your visit to Audleys Wood. I was glad to read that your friend's birthday celebration went very well and that you enjoyed your afternoon tea. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed here before as my company encourage it when visiting their head office. The place is quite nice, if a bit tired in places. However the major issue is that they have a real issue with professionalism, organisation and management. They seem to regularly mess up bookings, mix up rooms, lose bookings and take ages to check in and out. I have been waiting 30mins to check out on occasion. They always seem to put trainees on the reception, un-assisted, and clearly this then results in a ton of disgruntled customers which takes even longer to sort out. I have been stood next to people complaining about such things as a couple being put in a single room together, business colleagues being put in the same room when they had booked two etc. I won't be staying there again, which is a shame as it would only take a kick up the *ss of management to make this a decent place. Oh, and the traffic is quite often queued right up to outside the hotel at rush hour so it's impossible to get anywhere. Other hotels in the area are a better choice.

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AColley, General Manager at Audleys Wood, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us earlier this year, I am sorry you felt frustrated with certain aspects of the service you received. We do offer a very efficient express check-out service for all of our guests in order to avoid delays upon departure from the hotel, and we can electronically send receipts to pc and mobile devices. Many of our corporate guests who stay with us during the week do use this service and have found it very useful. I am wary of anecdotal tales concerning other guests, as details can very often become distorted.For example, we do not have any single bedrooms at the hotel, and companies do book twin-bedded rooms (two double beds) for their employees which sometimes is not a popular option. We have now completed the training program that some new members of the team were undertaking earlier in the year and currently do not have any trainees working as part of our reception team. I do hope that in time you will reconsider your decision not to stay with us, and I would like to think that we will be able to welcome you back to Audleys Wood later in the year. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire,
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Audleys wood is a charming place to stay when visiting Basingstoke. It is close to the city centre, although you need to be driving as it is off a busy mainroad.
The hotel itself was very comfortable, with lovely, clean rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was tasty with choices for everyone. There were wedding dues on every evening, but this did not affect the regular hotel customers as the main venue was in a marquee in the gardens away from the main hotel, so noise from late night disco was not a problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AColley, General Manager at Audleys Wood, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for letting us know that you had a very enjoyable time with us last weekend. I will certainly pass your comments onto the team who were working. We look forward to welcoming you back to Audleys the next time you come down to Basingstoke. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked a night through one of their packages; room plus 3 course dinner and breakfast.

The room was a real highlight, no view but it was spacious and very comfortable. We were in the Attwood suite, one of their character rooms and we'd both recommend it.

It started going downhill at dinner. The website had not made it clear that the hotel has two restaurants, one for a la carte and another, serving 'bistro' style food. We were in the latter.

The Conservatory is the converted orangery/glasshouse and was one of the most blandly decorated rooms I have ever eaten in. (Quite a feat given it's impressive size). We were given a table in the corner, facing a pair of shabby fire exit doors.

Having worked for this chain of hotels, I was confident the service would be excellent but again, we were disappointed. Staff were confused, unattentive and lacked basic training. Drinks order was taken after food, no crumb down, no wine top ups, no explanation of food and food taken to wrong tables.

Said food was a serious let down.

My starter of ham hock terrine was dry and flaky with tiny drops of gingerbread sauce (???) and even tinier cucumber cubes. Main course of duck was tasteless and served with undercooked root veg and a gravy thinner than Kate Moss. Pud was a highlight but sadly nothing special.

Bland, boring and lacking in any finesse, this it wasn't even function worthy food.

The next morning our ordered paper never arrived and we had to wait for a breakfast table to be cleared and laid. Coffee and toast arrived after a 15 min wait, though the cooked breakfast was tasty.

Overall I would say we were disappointed. The 3 stars above are for the room and building itself.

Audleys Wood has a very, very long way to go before it is anywhere near what it promises.

Room Tip: The suites are very nice and cheap if you book package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AColley, General Manager at Audleys Wood, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for providing such detailed feedback following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you felt that your dining experience was disappointing, and that you did not discuss your comments with the hotel management prior to your departure from the hotel. It is always very helpful to us to be able to discuss such feedback face to face. I agree that we do not make it very clear about the dining options that are available to our guests, and we will update our website to try and make this clearer for future guests, as both The Conservatory and The Simonds Room do offer very different dining experiences. I was pleased to read that you liked you room and had a comfortable night's sleep. We will continue to offer the best value packages on our website and trust that you will be able to take advantage of one of these in the coming months. We hope to see you again soon at Audleys Wood. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A wedding venue which on the Internet looked lovely, after contacting the hotel twice with my details to arrange a visit I eventually heard back some 3 months later.

On arrival we walked up to a glassed door entrance at the front of the hotel which was covered in finger prints, we then waited at the reception desk for a good 15 minutes until we were eventually seen. Whilst waiting I decided to look at the literature on the walls only to find it was decorated with cobwebs, we were then taken out to the marquee past a window which had lip marks on and through a set of double doors which again had brass plates covered in fingerprints.
We also enquired how often the outside of the marquee was cleaned and it was very green and dirty looking on our arrival (considering this marquee was new in the February we viewed it in the September) We where informed that the marquee was cleaned every 6 months but if we wanted it cleaned for our wedding it would be an extra £300.

We then got shown to a bedroom which again looked very tired and in need of some good maintenance and modernisation.

Considering this was an open evening to promote this hotel I expressed my concerns to the duty manager that evening who informed us that the hotel was cleaned twice daily. I am not quite sure how this hotel received four stars and would not be recommending this to any future brides within Hampshire.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AColley, General Manager at Audleys Wood, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear lolz32, thank you for your e-mail regarding the visit you made to the hotel with your family in September 2012. There has been a long delay in you deciding to post your comment on this website even though your comments were discussed with the team on duty on the evening in question. I do hope that you have now found a suitable venue. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed with a friend after a very stressful month. This was the tonic I needed. Wonderful staff and the service superb. Rooms were lovely and the beds really comfortable. Bathroom clean and a nice powerful shower. Meal was fabulous only down side was the cost of the wine which was very expensive. The hotel has lovely grounds and the garden room where the weddings take place is beautiful. The hotel needs a spa to make it perfect. Go if you need to chill and have lovely food.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AColley, General Manager at Audleys Wood, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest, I was glad to read that you had a relaxing stay with us. Your positive feedback has been shared with the team and was gratefully received. We have taken note of your comments regarding a spa/gym and will pass them on to our Head Office team for consideration in the future. We hope you choose to return and "chill-out" with us on many occasions during 2013. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Audleys Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Audleys Wood

Address: Alton Road, Basingstoke RG25 2JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Basingstoke
#2 Romantic Hotel in Basingstoke
#3 Family Hotel in Basingstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Audleys Wood 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Audleys Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audleys Wood Basingstoke, Hampshire
Audleys Wood Hotel Basingstoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Audleys Wood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.