We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but served too quick” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lime Leaf

The Lime Leaf
25 London Street, Basingstoke RG21 7PG, England
01256 355272
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 151 Restaurants in Basingstoke
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Street Food
Description: Resounding with traditional charm, this is the culmination of the owners' vision for a Thai restaurant supported by knowledgeable staff, and enhanced by an enticing menu and elegant interior. The setting of this modest 2-floor building, dating back to a time around the 16th century, has proven to be ideal for The Lime Leaf's needs and feel. Still retaining plenty of its traditional elements, these complement the bright and vibrant new interiors well. The menu offers an excellent selection of Thai cuisine, featuring familiar classics to a range of lesser-known regional dishes, and all are prepared using the finest ingredients, sure to tempt any palate. Children are also welcome and able to eat at half price from the Express Lunch and Early Bird menus.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food but served too quick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I've been here 4 times and the food is very good. Many people have attended with me and it gets the universal thumbs up. Tonight though they served 3 courses in just 30 minutes which was too quick.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to review our restaurant.. I'm sorry you felt rushed on this occasion. I've reminded the staff that diners need to be given time to enjoy the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    76
    25
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, very good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great Thai food. The service and attention is very good and the food is excellent. This was my second visit. Easy parking in Jacobs yard pay & display near by.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tasty meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed the food and the coziness of the restaurant. The Thai food was the best we'd had in a long while. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Eaten here many times and never had a bad meal. Sharing starters are a must, and all main meals have been nicely presented and delicious. Personally never had pudding here so cant comment, but have washed a meal down with one of their cocktails- yum!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor flavorless food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Pop in for a mid week dinner been here before (at the weekend ) and a nice dinner but this time sping rolls not home made really guy pop to Tesco and buy the same rubbish my partner ordered the tiger stake that some how they seam to have extracted all favor always nice when paying over £10 for I has some curry that was ok but still a poor effort I lived in Asia and very much enjoy this type of food . Just think they need to work on there details more and be consistent

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
We always welcome the opinions of those who have dined at our restaurant but it is disappointing when they make unsubstantiated comments. I can assure all readers of this review that our spring rolls are all made on the premises. As for the other comments, I would only point out that they are in stark contrast with those of the vast majority of other reviewers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lime Leaf also viewed

 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to The Lime Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lime Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.