We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy vegan & vegetarian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kitchen on Great Moor Street

The Kitchen on Great Moor Street
Unit 4, Commercial Union House | Great Moor Street, Bolton, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 225 restaurants in Bolton
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Restaurant details
Manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Yummy vegan & vegetarian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a one of my favourite cafe's to eat lunch at, when I am in Bolton. It is run as a workers co operative by friendly & efficient staff. I have eaten here many times and have never been disappointed by the food or service.

They serve fresh wholesome & tasty vegan & vegetarian meals with lots of choice. Everything is affordable, healthy & freshly hand made with local produce (rather than the bought in mass made products that a lot of eateries use) and the price of meals are very reasonable with generous portion sizes. The decor is fresh & uncluttered, the only problem is that the cafe is small (seating for 25 people) and it is very popular so getting a table at peak times can be difficult, but they do offer take away. Oh and the cakes are yummy!

They also run a vegetable exchange programme for people who grow their own fruit & vegetables, they weigh produce to calculate the wholesale value & in return give vouchers to spend on cakes and drinks in the Café.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious, great value veggie food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Amazing value - you can get 3 courses for less than £10. Very tasty but healthy food. I especially recommend the mushroom gozleme (Turkish stuffed bread) and make a special trip to Bolton when I have a craving, as I can't get them anywhere else. Lovely staff and ambience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Delicious healthy food in an ethical co-op”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our group had vegans and meat eaters and we were all happy with the range of food in this veggie/vegan restaurant/cafe. It is informal, convenient for the station and the main shopping area and the staff are very friendly.
The choice was amazing for such a small place, my husband and I are adventurous in taste and our companion is very traditional and we were all happy. The range of desserts was equally wide and we tried three and they were all great. We felt great about supporting a co-op, eating vegan and healthy whilst having a delicious meal. Well worth the 1hour journey to get there and will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic quality food and good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I often go here for lunch, and really love it! I am not a vegetarian, but there is always something that I really enjoy on the menu, with lots of interesting dishes to try that you don't get elsewhere in Bolton. It's the sort of place that you often get in the bourgeois bohemian type places like Chorlton, but the value for money is much better, and there are all kinds of people in there. I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen on Great Moor Street also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Kitchen on Great Moor Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kitchen on Great Moor Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.