We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably Busy extremly annoyed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Go Ape at Rivington, Bolton

Go Ape at Rivington, Bolton
Rivington Lane | Horwich, Bolton BL6 7SB, England
0845 643 92 15
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Activities in Bolton
Type: Game/ Entertainment Centers, Sports Complexes, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a 200 Metre Long Zip Wire over the Edge of the Rivington Reservoir. Our adventure at Rivington is officially an Enjoy England Quality Assured Visitor Attraction. It’s tree-top crossings and lengthy zip-wires take in some Lancashire’s most breathtaking views.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Busy extremly annoyed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We have just come back from a very disappointing day at Go Ape Rivington. I was treating my 14 year old grandson to a birthday treat along with his dad, We arrived early for our 11.30 appointed time, as I understood we had to arrive 30 minutes before our allotted time for a safety training session. This started at 11;45 and it was 12.15 before they set off, overall they had to wait on each platform for up to 20 minutes, the wait was ridiculous at 2:45 they gave up with still the last part of the course to complete. There were just too many on the course. We did complain but to to no avail and was told there had been a group of women who took a long time as they were frightened!! why the marshals didn't let other pass by I have no idea. The whole experience was spoiled. They have been to Grisdale previously which is far superior as the trees are much higher, I just wish we had gone there today instead.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoApeTribe, Manager at Go Ape at Rivington, Bolton, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Firstly we'd like to say thank you for coming to Go Ape Rivington and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

In general, after the training period, most customers proceed around the course at a reasonable speed. Occasionally, some of our customers are a little daunted by the height, the crossings and the equipment. Other customers feel comfortable enough to take photos and share experiences whilst still in the trees. Some customers, like yourselves, want to follow through the course in a safe and enjoyable manner without any unnecessary hold ups.

We’re sorry to hear that you were kept waiting around during your tree-top adventure at Rivington and do understand that this must have been very frustrating. Please be assured that this matter will be addressed with the staff involved and more training will be given in this area to prevent ‘bottle-necking’ and hanging around.

If you have any further points or would like to get in touch please email us at questions@goape.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    9
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Highs and lows”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Having been to two other of the Go Ape sites previously, it's a little disappointing in comparison.
It still provides a great opportunity for fun, but with only 5 sites (which includes the intro one?!?) and only 3 zips of any length, it left me wanting more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Day out to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I visited Go Ape at Rivington on bank holiday Monday, the sun was in the sky and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend Go Ape Rivington to all of my friends/family. A way go ape could improve would be to add more climbing frames, zip wires, jumps on the way back from the large zip wire instead of having to walk from one side of the forest to the other. Great day out and you will certainly have a laugh

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic adrenaline rush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was our first experience at a go ape site and we absolutely loved it.
The place itself is not the easiest to find and could be better signposted. Once we found it there is a free car park right next to the hut. We signed in and filled out all the forms and was then given a safety demonstration by our instructor illona.
Illona was very good at explaining everything too us and then it was time to venture off! Please note that there are no instructors in the trees to help you!
The Tarzan swing and zip wires are great fun, especially the zip wire that goes across the lake.
The whole experience lasted two hours but we were quite quick going around the course.
You simply must try it it's something completely different from the norm!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a Great day....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was our first time at Go Ape, Myself and My Daredevil 10 yr old daughter..
We had a great time, You go through a full induction, which is really good, you then go through a small trial area which shows you what to & not to do...(Thankyou Claire the instructor..really good..)
Then your off.....Up you go, you feel safe with the harness and connected on at all times..But if you havent a head for heights, this may not be for you..
You climb and go down run wires..
If your with a Junior ( or Baboon as they call em) then as an adult in charge, it's your responsibility to make sure all the rules of connecting on & off are followed...
You have a choice on the course of moderate or extreme routes..Up to you which way you go
The only thing with going with your 10 yr old daredevil daughter, is that you cant be seen to be scared...So if she wants to go the extreme route ( and enjoys it)...There's no way you can "chicken out" and be a wimp..youve got to dig deep and smile...like i did today..
Overall a really top day.Both of us really had a good day..
Theres a Lovely cafe there and it's free parking

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Ape at Rivington, Bolton also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Go Ape at Rivington, Bolton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Go Ape at Rivington, Bolton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.