We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding reception” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Marco

San Marco
Douglas Valley A6 Blackrod By-Pass, | Blackrod, Bolton BL6 5HX, England
+44 1257 475095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 303 Restaurants in Bolton
Price range: $23 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Italian restaurant and bar with a large function room popular for weddings. Situated on the A6 Blackrod Bypass, San Marco is an Italian restaurant and bar open for lunch and dinner every day and is warm and cosy with a rustic feel and original artwork adorning the walls. Diners can choose from an extensive selection of classic Italian dishes from the main menu, as well as from a special board which changes daily. Monday to Saturday lunchtimes we offer any Pizza, Pasta or Panini for £6.95. Sundays, there is a traditional roast and the wine list is all-Italian. Attached to the restaurant there is The Willows Function Room that can seat up to 120 people, has its own bar and toilets and is a popular choice for all kind of celebrations and events, including weddings. San Marco Restaurant is part of S M Restaurants NW Ltd which is incorporating La Roma Restaurant on Ringley Road, Stoneclough, Bolton and Cafe Italia on Moss Bank Way, Bolton.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our wedding reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

From booking The Willows function suite in August 2012, for our reception on 9/8/13, staff have been so helpful and accommodating on every aspect of making our day run smoothly. Food was amazing- every plate went back empty and the hardly any of the buffet at night was left! Had such good feedback from all our guests and would highly recommend this venue! Thankyou so much Fabrizio and all your staff, you helped make our day very special x

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    31
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice and clean very good venue barstaff very effiecant and friendly. Beer prices very reasonably welcome and a good pint of thwaites smooth aswell

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Had a visit to this restaurant in Aug 2013 with family to celebrate a 51st birthday. It's a very clean and smart looking place with an Italian atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the food is delicious.
To top it all off, the staff sung the birthday boy a rendition of happy Birthday when his sweet was brought in. a great night out, We will visit again soon

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Il miglior ristorante italiano della zona!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Frequentato per mesi,da feb.2013,non ha mai deluso. Complimenti allo staff! Im an italian working in THE uk. For months and months i have been coming to this restaurant, THE food is just like Being in italy!!! We would recommend for anybody looking for quality italian food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lunch time delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Have visited San Marcos many times in the evening and the food is always superb so we decided to try the lunchtime menu, as we thought the food again was excellent as was the service. We have always recommended this restaurant and look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Marco also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.