We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tum Nuk Thai - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tum Nuk Thai
103 Bradshaw Road, Bolton, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Table of 10 for the 10 course NYE banquet booked 2 weeks in advance with deposit. We were promptly seated at 7.30pm, the wine was flowing and we looked forward to embarking on a feast.

First course of duck and pancakes was nice, second course of a sweet/sour could've been better - all the ingredients were in large chunks akin to an British casserole so texture didn't gel with the taste.

Sat for 90 minutes waiting for next course when a table of ten shots arrived, 60 mins after that another table of shots and no food - by this time it was 11pm. Several complaints inbetween the shots, at 11.30 (we were threatening to leave) they tell us that the kitchen and bar are separate entities and the chef was alone as he didn't think he'd need staff - this is on a NYE where all tables where booked in advance. Had to grab a pizza on the way home and rush at that to get us all back together for the bells chiming.

Was promised feedback and a refund of deposit but nothing came of that.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pam”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Looking forward to a pre christmas family meal we booked a table for 12 people, on arrival no table ready and so had to wait very annoying as had booked 2 weeks in advance, very little atmosphere, staff were friendly and attempts at humour good. Did the notice the price had gone up £2.00 for the festive period for exactly the same carvery. No Thai food available until later would have been good to know on booking. Ordered some sweets and coffee my mother in law ordered apple crumble she has a nut allergy no information given re nuts in the crumble even the manager did not know so when she had a reaction the suprise was obvious, I emailed the restaurant to explain how she had reacted but no resposne given. Very very disappointing. It took my mother in law 5 days to recover completely. Not suprising the restaurant was nearly empty.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Forget the carvery !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

As we live locally, we thought we would try the carvery at the Tum Nuk Thai.
The meat was OK, for the rest, it was an absolute desaster. I am not a chef but I would have done a better job at cooking the carrots, potatoes, broccoli,etc.
We might as well go to the tobby carvery and we would have had a better meal.
So for me - rubbish ! We wont be back !!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greater manxhester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“repeat visit with family”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

i feel quite sorry for this restaurant the food is good although i think the menu is a little limited in the afternoon, the service efficient and friendly prices reasonable although the portions a little small but the biggest problem is the lack of atmosphere due to an almost empty restaurant and the fact that it is a huge restaurant i believe they have now started doing carvery every lunch time and all day sunday not sure this is the way to go not exacty tia food

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“NOT even thai food its crossed with chinese and english”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

defo not thai food its crossed with english and chinese ive been thailand 12 times and run bolton thai boxing club i know whats thsi and this isnt sorry not good at all !" :-(

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tum Nuk Thai also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tum Nuk Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.