We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just keeps getting worse... AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Bolton Central River Street

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Bolton Central River Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Bolton Central River Street
River Street, Bolton BL2 1BX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Bolton
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just keeps getting worse... AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed in this hotel a couple of months ago as you can see and it's getting worse...
Upon arrival we were once again treated to broken check in computers and a filthy reception area. The "girl" who appeared around the corner was rude and scruffy looking with a massive chavvy stud hanging off her lip!
Upon checking the room (we booked a twin) we found a double bed and no bedding. We proceeded to return to check in, informed the "girl" on the desk who replied "oh." then walked off.
She returned shortly with who I assumed to be a manager who informed us that travelodge do not offer twin rooms and that their website, which we visited to book, does not have twin rooms, which it does!
We finally obtained some bedding and when I was returning upstairs I found the staircase was falling apart with carpet torn and plaster missing from the walls and thrown all over the floor.
The toilet flushes once a night max after which it continuously trickles all night long!
All in all rude staff especially manager, shoddy filthy hotel and terrible rooms!
AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Bolton Central River Street, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear GrumpyNortherner,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear you have cause for complaint, and that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

In addition, we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to securely provide us with your confirmation number and full details of your complaint.

We will then be able to fully investigate your concerns with the Hotel Management team, and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    39
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
29
21
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A group of us stayed at Bolton travelodge to attend a wedding.
Travelodge was ideal, staff very friendly and moved our rooms so we was next door in order to arrange wedding details and help with getting the children ready.
Breakfast was lovely and fresh, restaurant clean. My only moan was that there was only ONE member of staff on duty on reception and bar, so waiting a good 10-15 minutes to get a drink or served for breakfast due to people checking in & out!
Rooms clean & quiet.
Would recommend

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed 2 nights Sept 7 and 8. Hotel is a 10 minute walk from train station. Hotel was clean. Room very nice but had trouble logging onto the "free Internet" in the bar my second night. When I asked for assistance I was rudely treated and felt that this was unacceptable. I spent 15 days in the UK and this was my only bad encounter with rude staff.

Room Tip: Don't expect great service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Travelodge Bolton Central River Street, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear David D,

Thank you for your post.

It is always good to get positive feedback from our customers after they have stayed with us. We will make sure the hotel receive a copy of your compliment.

With regards to the concerns you’ve raised, your comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel due to a family emergency. The Manager was great and very helpful. Overall 5 stars as where else can 3 adults stay for £40 a night?

The only small problem was in the restaurant. The food was ok but the beer on tap was flat and the bottle beer near to date. So the taste was not great.

All in all would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here with my partner and Mum & Dad over the bank holiday weekend. It's reasonably priced if you book in advance and is less than a 10 minute walk to the station and town centre.

Rooms - Beds are reasonably comfy however I would advise requesting extra pillows. You get one spare but you need two pillows each as they are so thin they're hardly worth having. You get a small kettle with tea and coffee which the maids refill - however they didn't change the cups. There is also a TV which seems to have about 10 channels but only 2 had programmes on the rest were news and radio
The bathroom is really small and no lock on the door but you'd probably get knock on the head by it if you're sitting on the toilet and someone comes in! The shower is big but shower head is fixed to the wall which made it hard when I didn't want to get my hair wet. One bar of soap is provided.

Breakfast - WOULD NOT ADVISE IT! You get the option of croissants, toast, cereal or fried breakfast (bacon, small cumberland sausages, tomatoes and scrambled egg which is buffet style). I personally did not enjoy the fried breakfast, bacon was undercooked. Egg tasted like powdered, not a fan of cumberlands either. Unfortunately it's not really because the staff aren't trying their best but both mornings they had one lady putting out the glasses, filling the jam, butter, bread, and hot food and often they ran out quickly - one day they even ran out of bread which is a bit ridiculous. Also you have to queue up at the bar to get your plates, bowls and cutlery - I would advise not sitting down until you have as many as you need because they're so rushed off their feet you're unlikely to get any more.

Bar - Around £3 for a spirit with mixer and £3.50 for draught beer which for Bolton was expensive.

Staff - Are all very polite and helpful I just think the company don't realise how much work they are assigning to so little staff and think they could do with more on especially at breakfast.

Overall quite good for the price, breakfast let them down but would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times since it opened earlier this year and am not overly impressed.
Upon arrival one of the self check in computers was knackered but checked in with the lovely girl on reception.
The building looks secure, key card needed to unlock automatic door at main entrance between 22:00 and 07:00 and also to activate lifts or get into staircase.
Rooms decent size but beds highly uncomfortable both double and sofa bed feel solid.
Was lucky enough to get a bath/shower combo with non slip flooring but virtually no water pressure on 4th floor and two temperatures, magma or arctic...
Television was barely audible even at the top volume of 75, although I suspect this is partly due to traffic noise from the adjacent dual carriageway which had a steady traffic flow all night as well as a nightbus stop outside.
Lighting is woeful, much like the shower, two settings, catwalk or dungeon.
Not a bad location for visits to Bolton or Greater Manchester/East Lancs as Bolton Interchange is a 5-10 minute walk away depending on your speed and there are good bus links with Manchester, however there only seem to be 15 car park spaces for around 90 rooms.
Overall a basic hotel, room cost £29 so weren't expecting Grosvenor standards but not brilliant to be honest.
One thing I can say is the girls on reception seem nice and friendly but I may just be biased as a single 20 year old ;)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Bolton travelodge was a great place to stay for our wkend away. About 5 mins walk from the main street, which has plenty of pubs/clubs. The hotel is clean and our towels were changed after the first night, they also topped up the tea/coffee/ milk etc. The staff are friendly and helpful, ideal for what we wanted. We didnt use the bar or food service but it looked nice.
In Bolton the drinks are REALLY cheap (which was great) The cheapest we paid was £1.50 for a vodka & coke or half a lager was 65p!!!! There was another bar that did £1.50 for any drinks between 8-11 every Friday and Saturday night, it is amazing.
There is every kind of shop needed and a really nice Council house where there are dances etc on in the afternoon.
The people of Bolton are very friendly too. We got the train into Manchester which took about 15 mins and cost about £3.50 return. It is a lovely place but as you can imagine expensive. We got off at Deansgate which is near the canal and there are numerous bars there, a little more expensive at £4.50 for a vodka & coke :-( A few places you can go to are; Picidilly it's a nice area with a market and a grass park to sit in surrounded by shops, canal street is worth a look it's very pretty and also china town :-) We only went for the day so not sure of nightlight but I'm sure it's great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Bolton Central River Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Bolton Central River Street

Address: River Street, Bolton BL2 1BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Travelodge Bolton Central River Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Bolton Central River Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.