We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Momentum

Momentum
405 Wigan Road | Westhoughton, Bolton BL5 2BS, England
01942811006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 278 Restaurants in Bolton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Alex prepared a fantastic lunch for us of crab, yellow fin tuna and scallop. delicious tasty and great presentation

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    35
    23
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Lancashire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Continues to impress.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I'll try and keep it short. The service and food always impresses. Try the Five day salt beef hash. We started with a couple of cocktails and the bar staff were really helpful with their advice and helping us to choose. The food was great. We always enjoy visiting this restaurant. The staff work hard and credit to them, we always have a great evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mum's birthday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

After ringing to check if the a la carte menu was on at lunchtime today we arrived for a late lunch at 1.30pm to celebrate Mum's birthday a day early. We were warmly greeted and although disappointingly we were the only 3 people in the restaurant we set about choosing our dishes. Mum chose the Lancashire duck breast with morello cherry & green peppercorn sauce, which she was told was served pink. She asked if it could be cooked a bit more well done and when it arrived it was perfect to her taste and she relished every mortal. Chris chose the 8oz fillet steak with dauphinoise potatoes & glazed carrots cooked medium and said it was excellent. I could not see any salad dish on the menu so I asked if any of the dishes could be served with salad rather than chips or potatoes. I opted for a starter dish of maple glazed hot smoked salmon with beetroot puree, soft egg & crispy bacon and asked if I could have more salad with this than just the garnish, which the host obliged. Although I found the salmon slightly salty for some reason I still enjoyed the combination of the dish. Chris had the treacle tart & vanilla ice cream for dessert. It would have been nice to have had more people in the restaurant to create an atmosphere but we had plenty to catch up on and nothing was too much trouble for our host, who was friendly and hospitable. It was a lovely way to celebrate mum's birthday with excellent food cooked to order. We will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Went to momentum with work colleagues (7 of us)to celebrate a 65th birthday. Pleasant surroundings, staff very friendly. Bar staff quick and efficient. Food was excellent! We all got served at the same time and the food was piping hot. The staff were attentive without being intrusive. The food was really tasty, everyone enjoyed their meals. Would definitely go again and would recommend to family and friends. Maybe a little bit pricey, but def value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lavish lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Did not know this one time "pub" was now a lush restaurant! My sister discovered its services and we lunched there. We were well served by a very pleasant lady. The surroundings are pleasantly modern, seating spacious, a very pleasing ambience. We were catered for well, as we're both avoiding carb-laden dishes!, but I can assure you, I will certainly re-visit, and succumb to a carb-laden dessert when my low-carb diet ebbs!! I can confidently recommend this place to others, and cannot wait to return for a dinner some night!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momentum also viewed

 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Momentum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Momentum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.