We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Momentum

Momentum
405 Wigan Road | Westhoughton, Bolton BL5 2BS, England
01942811006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 281 Restaurants in Bolton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cannot fault it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Lovely staff, lovely decor and the food is out of this world. The owners have the place down to a tee, the chef is clearly very passionate about food and this comes across from just eating the meal. Never had a bad meal here, always spot on.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    38
    24
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leigh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointing service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have visited Momentum several times and recommended to many people which I shall continue to do, however I was there last night (Friday) as a party of eight, the place was busier than I had seen it and the staff were clearly struggling to cope.
There was a distinct lack of communication between waiting staff as we were either asked for our drinks order more than once (we were still waiting for them sometime later) or we had to ask again.
I was half way through my main course and my glass of wine had still not arrived.
I have to say though the food remained top quality and I will definitely be going again and recommending it, I shall be choosing the time I visit a little more carefully.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Momentum-ironic choice of name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I can't fault the food. It's great to be able to eat quality food in Bolton. All I will say is- Table booked for 8.30pm-starter came at 9.30pm and main came just after 10pm. You decide if that's ok for you. It wasn't for me. Shame as everything else was nice. Perhaps you could eat your evening meal at home first and then treat this as a light supper.
Oh, staff were great and apologetic. Manager was a little too defensive to harbour a good customer relationship.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fab place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have been here so many times now, and everything we get great service, great food, great cocktails, we love this restaurant, and I highly recommend it, the food is presented so beautifully, and I feel is a good price. We only go out about every 5weeks so we don't mind paying that little bit more.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food - great cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Great food one of the best restaurants in bolton. Will be going back to sample more dishes very soon.

Fantastic cocktails!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momentum also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Momentum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Momentum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.