We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Far for Too Little!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Strawbury Duck

The Strawbury Duck
Entwistle,Turton | lancashire, Bolton BL7 0LU , England
01204852013
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 226 restaurants in Bolton
Price range: $0 - $31
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bistro, Tea Room
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Whalley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Too Far for Too Little!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We visited on a Friday night in February 2013, a bumpy ride due to the number of pot holes getting there, down the lane. Given how far out it is, unless you are out that way during the day at the weekend – it needs to be an experience that excels all expectations – it didn’t!

The Pub was warm with a fair amount of people eating; the staff were polite and attentive - the food slow to come. Our starters were ok, frozen Brake Brothers produce (mass provider to the pub industry) I had a steak as usual that came with chips and onion rings but they forgot the tomato!
My spouse fancied some pork, lots to choose from but “sorry sold out” - I bet! So he had the cheese pie or should I say cheese flavoured soup with a (Brake Brothers) puff pastry lid it was discusting, microvaved to death sloppy and no content. The meals that were not a budget price, did not come with any vegetables at all, usually with a steak meal they chuck in a mushroom, and what is the cost of a few frozen (Birdseye) peas!
Anyway, spouse was quite disappointed with his "meal" so opted for a bread & butter pudding, which was perfectly acceptable but miniscule. Sorry not worth the trek.
Far better pubs, with Far better food that are not as Far.
The owners need to up the ante here and get it on a par with their other pub, the exceedingly good Sir Loin at Houghton which we highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    116
    88
    30
    39
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great lunch, lovely building.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Really great find. We were staying at the Last Drop village and went for a drive, looking for food for the kids and my google maps found this place or we never would have (it's across a bridge over a reservoir in what feels like the middle of no-where). Great old pub with stone floors and log fires.

Lots of dogs and kids and walkers, food was really good and the sample beers great, all well presented. Service a little slow despite a large number of waitresses.

I'll be coming back in summer when we can explore a little more.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3 nights at the Strawbury Duck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay there for 3 nights while working in the area. When i got to the pub to check in the welcome i recieved was spot on, the young lady was very helpful ( Holisters loss) All the staff were friendly and the manager John made my colleauges and I welcome. If you like gastro pubs, walking in great countryside then this is the place for you. The food was great, the wine was good and the local ale went down a treat. I am sure we will go back again to enjoy the hospitality of the Strawbury Duck.
The Welsh one!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just returned from a lovely walk around Entwistle Resevoir and Lunch at the Strawbury. I found the Strawbury Duck on the internet while looking for dog friendly pubs with good food. They had a very good review and it was right on both counts, our cocker spaniel wa happy there in the relaxed quiet room and the food was excellent. My only moan is not about the Strawbury Duck, but that if you are following a sat nav it will send you up a lane which is very narrow and with the biggest pot holes I've ever had to drive through, there is a way slightly longer(as we found out with help from the young lady behind the bar)but if you park up at Entwistle Resevoir - walk up pothole lane, its only three minites and far less stressful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Such a lovely setting......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

And food to match!!!!

The menu choice is so different to the run of the mill pubs you find these days it was a joy to select. The staff were friendly and helpful and although busy at the time they were apologetic yet served us with a smile and it didn't take long to feel at home.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strawbury Duck also viewed

 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Strawbury Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strawbury Duck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.