We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasant experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sottovento

Sottovento
69 Worsley Road,, Bolton BL4 9LU, England
01204 862952
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 278 Restaurants in Bolton
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always a pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My family go for meals here a lot and we always have a nice time. The staff are always pleasant and welcoming, regardless of whether you are a large party or in a couple. The food is always lovely and they are very helpful with making slight alterations to the menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    4
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good service, terrible food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Visited here tonight with partner and 2 children, service was good but for the food terrible, spaghetti carbonara swimming in what looked like melted butter and very bland in taste, my son had chicken nuggets which he did not like when I cut them up inside of the batter wasn't cooked properly, my daughter had pizza which was swimming in cheese and grease. Would not go back and wouldnt recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Sottovento was the choice for a recent family meal. All our party thoroughly enjoyed their meal & we found the friendly & attentive service to be excellent.After a drink in the waiting area near to the bar we were then shown to our table. We were given ample time to choose & not rushed at all
I opted for the Tuna salad - only slight gripe was that it was a little light on actual tuna content but salad was fresh, crisp & with just right amount of oil / dressing for my taste.Mains for me was a delicious Milano Pizza with side salad. Menu is fairly standard Italian type possibly a little light on fish dishes but there's something for everyone's taste. All the food arrived together for the six of us for each course & was piping hot !
Price wise a restaurant of this nature may seem out of context for the area, however as the restaurant was around 90% full on a Saturday night I think it's obvious people are prepared to travel for this quality of food & service.They do also seem to offer some value / special pricing during mid week. The website is very imformative for these details.
Restaurant was adequately staffed & we didn't have to wait for anything. They also looked after a birthday cake for one of our party which we gave to them the night before.
Overall summary really enjoyable evening, great food & even better service, will be back soon & I wholeheartedly recommend Sottovento. .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and i visited this restaurant recently and we will be returning very soon. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the food was delicious. We both had a starter and main course and left feeling really full as the portions were huge. See you soon Sottovento.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Living locally we have visited this restaurant a few times over the last couple of years. We have always enjoyed the food and it is really good value for money. The service is also faultless, whether just going as a couple or as part of a large group we still receive the same attention and service. Will be visiting again soon :))

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sottovento also viewed

Darwen, Lancashire
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Sottovento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sottovento, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.