We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Bolton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Bolton Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Bolton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaumont Road, Bolton BL3 4TA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
1 review
“Best hotel stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lovely hotel very dog friendly I stayed here with my dog diesel for nearly 2 weeks found the room excellent serviced everyday,staff very friendly and approachable and keen to help whenever there service was needed,the food was top rate and all needs catered for I would highly recommend this hotel ,even my dog was made so welcome by staff and other guests ,keep up the great work you are doing u make an excellent team and are amazing people thank you for make our stay an amazing one

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    91
    74
    35
    42
See reviews for
33
78
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
wakefield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on the 10th Aug 2013 and found it to be very good. Hotel is set in its own grounds away from everything just outside Bolton. The restaurant is self service and breakfasts are buffet style.Food was good and staff are all very polite and helpful. The bar has a 4 hour happy hour each evening and the bedrooms are clean and comfortable. we were in room 133 and although a wedding was on that night we never heard a thing. A very pleasant stay, well done Britannia.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakeblues1982
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed on 10/08/13 in an "executive" room on our wedding night. We arrived late and had plenty of bags and the wife still in her wedding dress, we headed straight for our room and more or less went straight to bed. When we got up the following morning we realised there was blood on the toilet seat, a half full bin of used sanitary towels in the bathroom and a HUGE patch of blood and what can only be described as a manky scab on my pillow. We spoke to reception and they said there was nothing that could be done as "they have no management in at weekends". We were given a phone number for customer services and told to ring them on the Monday, no apologies or money back as good will. We did eventually speak to another member of staff that looked at the room and just confirmed that it hadn't been cleaned since somebody stayed in it the previous Wednesday night. Again no apologies or any good will gesture.

The breakfast experience was not much better, everything was cold and either rock hard or bounced like a rubber ball! We asked why the food was like this because the last time we stayed it was really nice. The only answer we got was that the "good chef" was on the sick and there's only a trainee in the kitchen for the time being.

And if you want a coffee before 3pm you will have to walk to the local shell garage as the bar doesn't open til then, no matter how many times you ask. However as we were setting of at 12:15 they gladly opened the bar for another guest.

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND TO MY WORST ENEMY!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We booked a room in February for a 1 night stay in August for a 60th birthday party nearby. Rang the hotel on the day to confirm the room and were told that they had overbooked the hotel by 75 rooms that night so we could not stay! After 4 hours on the phone trying to sort this out they were going to have to pay for us to stay at another hotel and pay travel expenses. They then conveniently found us a room in the first hotel. When we arrived we soon realised they had put 2 beds in a staff room!!!!!
It was dirty,no mirror, not enough cups, shower did not work, the room led onto another "staff" room with a shared bathroom and the breakfast was inedible. If the event was'nt so important we would not have put up with this!!

I will never stay in a britania hotel again!!!!

Room Tip: Do not book with this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel as clearly seen better days, carpets held together by tape in the public areas, a bathroom which could urgently do with a refurb, water dripping tap stains in sink, surperfluos holes in the tiles, no food available after 8pm,
really awful breakfast that was only half cooked. To be honest i was glad to leave not the best experience I have had in a hotel that appears to rely on coaches to fill it up.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Lovely staff;helpful,friendly & always ready with a smile & a laugh.Food good & a little friendly banter helped make my day.As part of a coach group the 99p bar helped & the bar staff were very efficient.Room clean with air conditioning & a fridge.All in all a good place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a twin room,not much drawer space but shelves instead.TV old style but ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

National holidays 4 days / 3 nights B/B EM Lancashire tour day trips to Lancaster and Canal trip. Bury Market and Boundary Mills also called into Skipton on way down and trip to Bowness in the Lake District on the way back to North East. driver Darren good, we were based from this hotel, included in price was a 99p bar 6.00pm till 9.00pm then £3.25p a pint for warm lager. Well I was always taught if you cant say anything good don't say nothing at all. so i am not going too only to say this is a Sad hotel looking for someone to shake it up and give it some positive direction, could do with a mystery shopper from the Brittania management HQ to see for themselves. good luck .we wont be back.

Room Tip: only stayed in room 4 easy access ground floor and twin and single bed,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Bolton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Bolton Hotel

Address: Beaumont Road, Bolton BL3 4TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Bolton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Britannia Bolton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Bolton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Bolton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.