We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for one night!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Bolton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Bolton Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Bolton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaumont Road, Bolton BL3 4TA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fine for one night!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night recently on a coach holiday.We have been to Britannia Hotels before so knew what to expect but unfortunately the food let this one down spectacularly!
We honestly got the impression that as a coach party we werent valued, that any frozen mish- mash of food would do.Two out of our party of four couldn't eat anything and they genuinely arent fussy eaters. Perhaps Britannia need to remember that we are often the only customers buying drinks at their bar. The staff were very friendly and the room was comfortable but we would give this particular hotel a miss!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    91
    73
    35
    42
See reviews for
33
77
20
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just back from national holidays short break. This hotel was great value for money. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were basic but comfy and clean. Food was great. These people who moaned on earlier reviews what are they expecting for the price? Great stay.
PS: rated swimming pool and gym by mistake. Didn't see either.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Essex
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here overnight on the return trip of a coach holiday. The hotel is located in a quiet residential area not far from the M6.
Decor is fine (cannot understand why so many reviews say it needs to be re-done), the rooms are basic & failry comfortable with the usual facilities. Friendly staff. Meals were lovely, on a self serve basis but there was plenty available, even if dinner choice was a bit limited.
The bar was faily well stocked but getting someone to serve us was difficult as the staff kept dissapearing to do other things!
Our room was at the end of the 1st floor corridor and overlooked the car park. The room was clean enough but the bathroom could've been better cleaned (grimy looking shower curtain & previous guests hair still in the bath & on floor!). My duvet cover had a rip in which was quite noticeable but had been used anyway & put bed side down so as not to notice, matress was also bit lumpy. I do think the carpets in the room and corridors could do with cleaning as they looked rather grim. Ok overall if you need to stay in the area but absolutly nothing nearby to do in the area once dinner is finsihed. Bar area was pretty chilly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We went with a coach party for 3 nights including breakfast and evening meals. Staff were very freindly and made us all welcome. Room was basic but clean and there was happy hours between 4 and 8pm.
Down side - fridge didn't work - husband needed to ice pack knee after several hours due to recent knee replacement. Staff did however put ice pack in a fridge when he needed it.
The food let the hotel down, it was of poor quality and was undercooked. Waiter did offer to give us an alternative but as all the food was poorly cooked we declined. Luckly there was a pub up the road that served lovely meals at a reasonable price. Others on the coach trip said that the same vegetables were served the following evening and again they were raw.
Entertainment was meant to be on but we were told this would only be happening on our last evening there.
Although we enjoyed our holiday and it was not expensive, I don't think we will be returning to this hotel again.
I must express that I thought the staff worked very hard and tried to make our stay as pleasent as possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here on a weekend break with national holidays ,both myself and friends had a great time.Room was clean and warm staff were really friendly ,helpful and welcoming particulary chef and dining room staff will definatley be returning to this hotel next time we need a girlie weekend .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoltonBoltonian, Manager at Britannia Bolton Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
thank you for taking the time to write your review. the team will be delighted with your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel previous and decided to go back and stay with my daughter to attend a funeral. I felt very safe as a single parent and nothing was too much trouble from any of the staff what a credit they are too for the hotel. Food good bedroom clean and a comfy bed. The manager should be proud of her staff and her lovely hotel I would recommend to all and too single parents.....Well Done

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Needed a last minute room for the night when stranded in Bolton on business so found this hotel via sat nav. While the hotel itself needs a bit of a refurb (understatement) the staff made it for me. They were all friendly and keen to please. They did their vey best to make me feel welcome and look after me. The room was adequate and clean. And everything was well priced (food and drink). Good luck to them all. They worked hard and made me feel welcome.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Britannia Bolton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Bolton Hotel

Address: Beaumont Road, Bolton BL3 4TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Bolton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Britannia Bolton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Bolton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Bolton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.