We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Bolton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Bolton Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Bolton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaumont Road, Bolton BL3 4TA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
wigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

stayed for one night, on a deal price of 29.50 for two guests with breakfast , ok the beds were hard , but the room was clean fresh clean sheets and towels breakfast was just ok but for the price can not complain at all and will be staying again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    88
    64
    31
    33
See reviews for
28
69
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We use this hotel when visiting family and friends and normally you can find a good deal online. Room was freezing as the windows had been left open. Beds are uncomfortable and needed to ask twice for extra pillows. That said, it is what it is and we will use again for a night, any longer not sure my back could take.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is basically OK, but looking a bit jaded...it just needs a lick of paint so that the rooms are spruced up....it was clean enough though. The food was lovely and I would recommend it for that. It's a handy stopping off place to somewhere like Liverpool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night - never before have we been in such a 'run-down, dirty establishment. The bath was so dirty we could not use the shower. Breakfast was something I would rather not eat, dirty crockery, cutlery and food of low quality. This hotel has absolutely nothing going for it. It needs a good wake-up call!!

Room Tip: I cannot recommend anything about this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Britannia Hotel for one night. I was appalled at the state of the bathroom, it had mould around the edges of the bath and the sink was not very clean.
The room faced onto a council estate that looked worse for ware when we opened out curtains, we were faced with rows of houses in a rough area of Bolton.
There is no entertainment until Feb 2013 and we stayed here Oct 2012 as a birthday treat and get away.
Never EVER NEVER again will I be staying here no matter what the offer price was. Happy hour was not so happy, staff were not so happy and the rooms were not so happy.
Meals were not fantastic and the evening was slow and long. Thank god for alcohol!

Room Tip: No room was good and people who stayed in other rooms on our trip tell us this place has not changed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed with National holidays on 13th October 2012. The room was clean and food was o.k. There was a happy hour advertised, which had been discontin ued months before. There was no seats in the bar, so we had to stay in the restaurant. On Sunday morning there was no hot water for a shower or bath, so we had to have a cold shower. The staff were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed for a night part of a National Holidays trip. Room was ok but no hot water for shower in the morning. A welcome letter had been left on our arrival which asked us to take advantage of the Happy hour in the bar, however bar staff informed us that happy hour was no longer available on Saturdays, I was rather annoyed to say the least why advertise a happy hour when there isn't one, the evening meal was just average, I found the chicken tough and I'm sorry but I like my carrots cooked. We weren't even allowed to help ourselves to dessert we were given set portions, I asked for a small taste of two separate desserts and was refused, the excuse being that it would reduce the portion size for someone else. I could put up with it for one night but won't be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Bolton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Bolton Hotel

Address: Beaumont Road, Bolton BL3 4TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Bolton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Bolton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Bolton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Bolton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.