We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wedding to remember!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Bolton Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Bolton Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Higher Bridge Street, Bolton BL1 2EW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Bolton
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wedding to remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I recently got married in the Cloister Suite of the Hotel and spent the whole weekend there. Everything was perfect from the moment I arrived, until I left on the Sunday. The staff worked very hard to make my whole experience perfect. A special thanks to Rebecca and the events team for working their socks off to make mine and my husbands wedding the most perfect day. I cannot thank you enough for all you did. I will remember the day forever. The venue and the staff were just perfect XXX

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with our hotel.

After reading this I am extremely proud that we managed to make your wedding prefect and ensure the day ran smoothly. I will pass your kind words onto our team.

From everyone here at the hotel, congratulations on your marriage and I hope to welcome you both back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    115
    81
    27
    25
See reviews for
55
79
28
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at Holiday Inn in Bolton couple of times but I have to say I was never disappointed. Staff very friendly and helpful from reception to housekeepers who serviced my room. Rooms bit dated but always very very clean.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with Holiday Inn Bolton.

I am pleased to read that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly; they always try to extend the highest level of service to our guests and I am very proud of all the members of staff here for doing so nearly every time.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Dieter Koch
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Location of this hotel is excellent for the proximity to the town centre. Easy walking distance to the shops, businesses and train station.
Great welcome from the reception staff on arrival, couldn't have been more accommodating with a request to change rooms - i had been given a smoking room first. Staff in all areas were very friendly and even remembered my name on my second visit the next week - impressive.
Room was spacious, clean and had everything i needed.
The food served in the restaurant was delicious especially the curry night on Wednesday's. Fresh ingredients and a good choice on offer. Did feel that drinks were a bit pricey though.
Breakfast was vast choice of buffet style items and also had others cooked to order such as pancakes - recommend these! , boiled eggs , kippers etc. Book breakfast the night before and you get it for £10 instead of £14.95 on the day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that our members of staff were accommodating and ensured that you were moved to a more adequate room.

We strive to use only the best ingredients in our restaurant and I am pleased that the freshness really came through in your meal. I’m very happy that you enjoyed our food so much.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We just wanted a couple of nights away and this was close, and didn't use too many of our Holiday Inn Priority Club points. We thought we might eat out for evening meal but a diners club card gave us a discount at the hotel restaurant; there was also a standard offer of a meal for two (2 courses, and a glass of wine each) for £29.99 so that's a good deal. Breakfast at £10 pp if booked on arrival - good full English, with kippers if you asked. Food was fine, and plentiful (on the set deal or a la carte).

Obviously a slack time for a mainly business hotel, but we found the staff very friendly (e.g. happy to google for local info). There was 30 mins internet free with your own laptop in the lounge, but at a price in your room. Very comfy bed, but aircon rather noisy. TV had poor picture. Leisure facilities a bit limited (gym, sauna, small pool) but better than nowt. Room on west side so got a sunset over Rivington Pike.

Suited us for what we wanted - and they promise better TVs soon.

Room Tip: West side avoids street noise, but might get some noise from external extractor fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that while with us you managed to take advantage of our new ‘Two Dine for £29.99’ menu. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us including your breakfast and our members of staff were helpful too.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Check in easy mid week and early afternoon got us up to our room in 5mins. The room was a bit jaded and looking tired. I think the room was generally clean but the bathroom was not to the usual standard not filthy but certainly not in the bath and tiles a little bit of elbow grease would go a long way.
We like the hotel and have stayed here several times over the last couple of years as its location is great for the local casino and the restaurant is brill. We paid £92 and DBB and with the £23pp allowance for evening meal and a drink thrown in for eating before 7.30pm it was a good deal. Think a quiet word with housekeeping is required or maybe a little overhaul before things really start to go down hill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback on your recent stay with Holiday Inn Bolton.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us but I am sorry that you found your bathroom to not be of the standards we usually hope to extend to our guests.

If you could email me on hibolton@qmh-hotels.com quoting your name, room number and date of stay I will launch an investigation into the cleanliness of the rooms.

I hope this hasn’t tainted your view of Holiday Inn Bolton and you will give us the chance to make it up to you.

Kind regards,

Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

POOR , INATTENTIVE, UNFRIENDLY, AGRESSIVE STAFF. AVOID THIS HOTEL. ROOMS ALSO BELOW PAR, SOFT MATRESS SLEPT BADLY TOO ... DEFINTELY MADE TO FEEL UNWELCOME ...WE WILL NEVER VISIT AGAIN

Long wait to check in. I said we would wait in bar until they had room cleaned. Eventually I went back to reception and got a room. WHY DID RECEPTION NOT FIND US IN BAR 15 FEET AWAY ! ! !

Room only so so for a H/Inn, I have had much better in this chain. Old tube TV's, limited channels, Fridge plugged in, switched on but broken as room temp.

Agressive male checkout desk employee then totally ruined stay , agressive reminda about vacating rooom, threat to charge my room a full extra day if not out in less than 15 minutes AND this hotel has unusual, unexpected 11am checkout which was never mentioned at checkin. Employee then lied to his manager in front of me

Room Tip: Rooms dated, tube TV;s etc, no useful advice possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing your review following your recent stay from which I was very disappointed to hear your comments. I have fully investigated all the points you raise with the department heads concerned and would like to assure you that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests.

The Terms and Conditions of all our reservations are displayed regarding check out times and these should have been explained to you by our Reception Team. The check out time is 11 a.m. which then allows our Housekeeping Team to turn the bedroom around for our guests to check in at 2.00 p.m. It is our Company policy to charge guests for a late check out as the room cannot be used for a 2.00 p.m. check in. If our Reception Team appeared unprofessional or unsympathetic it was certainly not their intention.

If you would like to discuss the matter further with me please contact me on 01204 879988 or via e-mail on gm.hibolton@qmh-hotels.com

Regards

Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Attended a wedding here recently. The wedding ceremony started at 2.30pm and unbelievably were told that we couldn't book in until 2pm. I tried to reason with the receptionist, she was immovable. Even though I said we were travelling a distance and needed to get ready, she suggested the toilets. There isn't any exceptions between normal guests and wedding guests, noot goood. We arrived at 1.50 and there was a queue to book in, only 1 trainee member of staff on reception, not her fault.

The wedding was in the old part off the hotel in the church itself, it was beautiful as was the table set up. The food was good, the service was okay, we waited a long time after asking for more gravy, as there clearly wasn't enough for 8.

The drinks were hotel prices ...

The room was modern and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast the following morning which is buffet style was excellent as were the staff, polite and efficient.

So all in all I would recommend this hotel, but there are things that can be improved upon. Early check in for wedding guests would be a start

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with Holiday Inn Bolton.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed us as a wedding venue; the church really is stunning.

I'm glad that you also enjoyed good service and food at breakfast as well as your rooms.

Kind regards,

Dieter Koch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Bolton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bolton Centre

Address: 1 Higher Bridge Street, Bolton BL1 2EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bolton Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre is within easy reach of the M6, M61, M62 and M60 motorway networks making us ideally situated for both business and leisure. A large hotel boasting 132 bedrooms including 7 Executive bedrooms all with individually controlled air-conditioning. For conferences and events, Holiday Inn Bolton Centre can accommodate upto 340 delegates. We will ensure your conference, function or event runs like clockwork. Our superb facilities include wireless internet access. So for a successful conference in Bolton , look no further. We also boast the perfect venue for civil ceremonies and weddings in Bolton with our very beautiful Cloisters suite, a converted church and hidden jewel of the North West. And for a place to dine, the stylish Lounge Bar and Restaurant offers cuisine to suit all. Our leisure club, includes an indoor swimming pool, sauna, and gym. Local attractions include The Reebok Stadium, home to Bolton Wanderers, Old Trafford, home of Manchester United and City of Manchester Stadium, home of Manchester City FC the Trafford Centre, is close by aswell as other places of interest such as The Lowry Centre, Bury, Blackburn, Horwich, Chorley, Manchester, Oldham, Heywood, Rochdale and Darwen. In accordance with English law this hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Bolton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bolton Centre Hotel Bolton
Bolton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Bolton Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.