We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting omelette” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bolton Whites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bolton Whites Hotel to your Saves list
Bolton Whites Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Havilland Way | Horwich, Bolton BL6 6SF, England (Formerly De Vere Whites Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting omelette”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed a this Hotel for 2 nights whilst on business and was most impressed overall.The Conference facilities were light and spacious and just the right temperature,but the long corridors to access them from the main Hotel are quite tiresome.
The rooms were clean and quiet,in fact I slept very well,but I think they need to upgrade to flat screen TV's in the rooms and Air conditioning because it is very noisy from the road when the windows were open.
My only criticism was the breakfast,it was generally very good until I decided to order a ham omelette! After 15 mins. this omelette had still not arrived,on inquiry I was told the Chef had burned the first one and was now making me another. After another 15 mins. the elusive omelette finally arrived,by this time the rest of my colleagues had finished their breakfast! This omelette was the most disappointing I have ever eaten, greasy and over cooked with the ham just sprinkled on the top,not folded in.
Generally I would recommend this Hotel to even non football fans,like me,but don't order an omelette for your breakfast!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Herbertina,

Many thanks for your feedback, after having recently stayed at De Vere Venues Whites, Bolton for 2 nights whilst on business.

I am delighted to note that you were most impressed with the overall levels of service and that the rooms were clean and quiet and that you slept very well.

I am pleased to confrim that we are in the process of updating all guest bedrooms with flat screen TVs and that I have also spoken with the chef, whilst you found the breakfast to be generally very good, you were disappointed with your ham omelette. I wish to confirm that all chefs have now been trained on how to prepare and present an omelette and I am absolutely confident that you will enjoy a fantastic freshly prepared omelette upon your next visit to the hotel.

I would like to once again thank-you for your very constructive feedback, which I truly value and appreciate receiving and that my team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to De Vere Venues Whites in the very near future and until then remain with,

Warm regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    183
    96
    28
    17
See reviews for
75
169
30
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a bank holiday and we loved it. The service was the really good. The room was very clean with sky sports on TV for the lads. The breakfast was extra and we were glad we decided to have it as it was really good. We got back to the hotel late and the bar was closed but they could not do enough for us and opened the bar so we could have a night cap. We will go back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear fun2bwiu,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave such amazing feedback on Tripadvisor after having recently stayed with us at De Vere Venues Whites.

I am particualy pleased to note that you found our service to be really good and that your bedroom was very clean with sky sports on TV for the lads.

I have passed on your great feedback to the head chef regarding our breakfast, which I note you thoroughly enjoyed and despite getting back to the hotel quite late on in the evening, the night porter could not do enough for you an duly opened the bar so you could enjoy a night cap.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming ou back to De Vere Venues Whites in the very near future and until then remain with.

Warm regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed here before and it was good to see the service is as good as before. The check in staff are helpful and smiley, which is nice. Free WiFi that works on the 4th floor.
Breakfast is very good - excellent porridge and fresh cooked bacon and eggs. Only tiny gripe was the limited choice of room drinks (only 1 chocolate sachet). View form the front of the hotel is boring - carparks, some rooms apparently look onto the Bolton football ground (The hotel is part of the Reebok stadium). Local taxis easily booked.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear manieast,

Many thanks for your recent feedback on Tripadvisor.

As a returning guest, I am delighted to hear that you once again enjoyed the level of service at De Vere Venues Whites and that you found the staff at check in to be helpful and smiley as well as enjoying free Wi-Fi throughout the property.

I note that you were also happy with the quality of the breakfast with particular regards to the quality of our porridge and freshly cooked bacon and eggs.

Please note that I have spoken with my head housekeeper to ensure that all rooms have sufficient quantites of coffee, tea and hot chocolaate sachets available in all bedrooms.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to De Vere Venues Whites in the near future and until then remain with,

Kind regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We booked a room here as we held my Uncles wake at a suite in the hotel, the staff went the extra mile the whole time including taking a group of the kids down to the pitch and a mini tour, amazing. The food was lovely and the breakfast had something for everyone. The room was clean and comfortable but did get really warm and as was patio doors leading to the terrace it was locked so couldn't get any fresh air in, lovely view of the pitch from room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear JulieandMark9-10-11,

Many thanks for the fantastic feedback which you recently left on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to learn that your were so impresd with my team going the extra mile, taking a group of children down to the pitch on a mini tour.

I have passed on your feedback to the chefs with regards to your comments of the food being lovely and appreciate and thank you for your comments in that you also enjoyed the view of the pitch from your room.

My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welocming you back to De Vere Venues Whites in the very near future and until then remain with.

Kind regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our first stay at Whites and we were impressed with the welcome we received at reception and the modern 'Art Deco' feel of the place. There was more than ample free parking, although I don't know what it would be like on match days. The location just off the M61 and near Horwich Parkway train station is very accessible and convenient. Manchester is only 30 minutes away by train.
Our room was comfortable but we were a little disappointed with the old style TV. The bath was a good size but the shower screen lacked a base seal and it was impossible to prevent water escaping onto the bathroom floor.
The buffet breakfast was acceptable, though a little cool on the first morning, but one of our cups and the coffee pot were cracked. Something I would not expect in a four star hotel.
Although we were generally impressed with the friendliness of the staff, the hotel information guide in the room stated "Please note guests are not allowed to bring their own food and drink for personal consumption on the property. A £30 fine will be imposed if seen or reported." In my opinion, this is somewhat threatening and not the warmest welcome to extend to hotel guests. However, the hotel is next to a large retail park with a good selection of restaurants and fast food outlets, so there is no need to eat in the hotel. There are also M&S, ASDA and Tesco stores nearby. So you could buy sandwiches or snacks to take away: not that I would suggest trying to sneak them past reception and eating them in your room!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Lancestrian,

Many thanks for your recent feedback on Tripadvisor.

Please be advised that plans are afoot to replace all TVs in our guest bedrooms within the hotel and I have instructed our maintenance manager to address all seals in showers, which is part of the regular ongoing maintanance programme.

I am pleased to note that you were generally impressed with the friendliness of the staff and the food and beverage charges are there to prevent people bringing meals in from the retail park which is opposite the hotel and I apologise if you found this to be somewhat threatening and not the warmest welcome to extend to hotel guests.

Please do not hesitate to let me know if i may be if any further assistance. I remain with,

Kind regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Horsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Not having visited the Reebok Stadium ever before, I was soon to realise that the De Vere White's Hotel was quite a unique venue.Whilst being a part of a number of exhibitors at the event, it was extremely convenient to have a hotel right next door to the exhibition venue that I was attending.

However, if you are attending an event I found that there were two ways to get through to the hotel from the exhibition area which essentially is the main reception for football ground, a short walk outside the building in a clockwise direction using the hotel entrance as "6 o'clock", takes you round to the men public entrance for what appears to be the conference/exhibition Centre. However if the weather is bad, the last thing you want to do is to walk outside. There is a route through from the exhibition Centre which takes almost the same amount of time although you do have to have your human GPS skills switched on. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and extremely well-run hotel with good facilities. Would stay again.

Room Tip: If you want to see the pitch then ask for one of the rooms with a view. The wary of any rooms that y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear JJWhitmore,

Many thanks for your recent review.

I am delighted to hear that yu had an enjoyable stay with us and that you look forward to returning back to De Vere Venues Whites.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and until then remain with,

Kind regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Extremely clean, lovely staff, amazing architectural staircase, mid-blowing views over Bolton Wander's football pitch. Excellent conference ushering and food, 2 great evening meals. Free spa facilites. My only mild complaints - too many fluorescent lights and dark drawn curtains for the conference, and having to go up stairs to go down is a bit disorientating!

Room Tip: First hotel I have seen which actually looks like its photographs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Karen A,

Many thanks for the fantastic review which you kindly took the time to write on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the venue in the very near future.

Kind regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bolton Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Whites Hotel

Address: De Havilland Way | Horwich, Bolton BL6 6SF, England (Formerly De Vere Whites Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bolton Whites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, luxury 125 bedroom hotel with glazed atrium lobby, glass lifts, business & leisure facilities.The hotel is fully integrated into the Macron Stadium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bolton Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Whites Bolton
Hotel De Vere Whites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolton Whites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.