We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bolton Whites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bolton Whites Hotel to your Saves list
Bolton Whites Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Havilland Way | Horwich, Bolton BL6 6SF, England (Formerly De Vere Whites Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights wanting to get away from your Ibis and Holiday inn, wanting to try something different. The hotel itself is within a perfect location and there is an ample amount of car parking spaces available. We booked the classic standard rooms. The rooms are very clean and the beds are the comfiest that we have slept on at any hotel. The front desk are very friendly from the moment we entered throughout our departure. The spa facilities - pool and sauna is quite average. The gym was very well equipped with all the standard equipment that you would expect. We did not get a chance to try out the bar/ restaraunt or try the breakfast so cant really comment on that. For the price we paid we thought that we would be staying at a similar quality such as the Ibis or Holiday inn but we where very shocked at how much better this hotel is for comfort, value for money and service. Overall this hotel exceeded our expectation on all levels. We will definitely stay here again when visiting Bolton.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear DeeandVee2010,

Thank-you for the fantastic review which you kindly left on Tripadvisor after having stayed with us at De Vere Venues Whites, Bolton.

I am naturally delighted to learn that your stay exceeded all of your expectations on all levels and my team and I sincerely look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to De Vere Venues Whites, Bolton in the very near future and until then we remain with.

Warm regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    200
    104
    30
    20
See reviews for
89
187
30
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very good all round, masses of car parking, providing there is no match on, Spacious room with excellent amenities including iron and board and free wifi. Very good meal with huge portions very well cooked and served. I will be back on business and won't be looking anywhere else round here. Feels significantly better than other De Vere establishments that I have visited.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear TJD744,

Many thanks for the fantastic feedback which you recently left on Tripadvisor.

My team and I are delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Warm regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here while visiting family. Lovely hotel, breakfast was great. Shopping close by. Didn't get chance to use amenities of hotel. Will definitely be going back to this hotel and will hopefully use the amenities next time we visit. Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear juiliecraigbeth,

Many thanks for the wonderful feedback that you recently left on Tripadvisor after having stayed with us at De Vere Venues Whites whilst visiting family.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and until then remain with,

Warm regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveleys
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

stayed 5 and 6 april , this is the 5 time we have stayed and we are returning on 26 and 27 april . but this time bringing friends . rooms allways clean standards never drop . well done all staff and management . food great value well cooked , and a great relaxing atmosther in the bar area . its right on the tip of the motorway so , ideal place to get to all the town centeres ie manchester bolton oldham wigan 45 min drive to blackpool . theres a great retail park right next to the stadiem all shops you can think of from tesco to asda to next . to no shortage . a shoppers dellight . at night if you dont want to eat in loads of restaurants to choose from around the hotel . or if . like us you dont want to venture they have a great leisure complex ie swimming pool sauna jacuzzi steam room and a well equipped gym .. THE HOTEL IS DOING A OFFER AT THE MOMENT FOR A SUNDAY SPEND 30 POUND ON FOOD IN THE HOTEL AND YOU CAN STAY THE SUNDAY NIGHT FOR TEN POUNDS FOR THE ROOM . again well worth the stay . and great credit to management and staff . see you on the 26 and 27 april with new quests we are looking forward to a return . well done .stuart gayle brierley ps we have brought our kids in the past so is child friendly lots for the kids to do

Room Tip: ive stayed in many rooms and all have been clean and tidy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear stuartcleveleys,

Many thanks for taking the time to respond with your fantastic review on Tripadvisor after having stayed at De Vere Venues Whites once again.

I am delighted to hear, as a returning guest, that you continue to enjoy the services that we provide and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back on the 26th and 27th of April.

Kind regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have been staying at the De Vere Whites Hotel for the past 5 weeks, and all i can say is, WOW! the service from all of the staff has been brilliant, and after long days and sometimes not the best of days at work, going back to the welcome from the staff there is brilliant, I am now on first names terms with most of the staff because of there friendliness and mannerism in the environment they're working in. The wardrobe in the rooms is slightly close to the bed but that's nothing at all to complain about, beds are fantastically comfortable, bathrooms are excellent, and the quality of both the bar and restaurant menu is fantastic along with the breakfast, the only thing i could suggest is that the portions for things like the chips on the bar menu are a little bit bigger than they are. Only major issue is the amount of children in the hotel from the Bolton Academy with the noise they make and running around the corridors, I found a group of Australian kids to be chucking water at each other down the corridor a couple of weeks ago.

Overall brilliant stay, and i look forward to checking in again next week for another 6 weeks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Jsully_13,

Many thanks for the fantastic feedback which you recently left on Tripadvisor!!

My team and I are naturally delighted to hear that you have had a great stay with us over the past five weeks and we look forward to welcoming you back once again when you return to stay for another six weeks.

Kind regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel looks good from the outside, but as a hotel expert i can say that its not up to proper 4 star standards, so if you want a sophisticated hotel experience you wont find it here.

The hotel offers good rates though and for these reasons, its worth while staying.

However;

We had to order our lunch at the bar and pay in advance, my meal was poorly presented, my lager flat and the plates were not cleared even after 30 minutes of us finishing the meal. There wasn't a waiter about the whole time. More reminiscent of a cheap Witherspoons pub including the clientele.

One of two lifts not working meaning lengthy waits, and one entrance door out of service. Spoke to a guest who informed me that the lift was broken last week.

Breakfast really basic, patisserie consists of a small wooden tray with tiny pastries (7) left at 9.30 and these were not of a high standard, scrambled eggs left for far too long, dry and powdery. Not 4 star at all.

This is the second time we have stayed, and both visits were roughly the same in all respects. We will be happy to stay again given our needs (location) and only hope he hotel improves to its potential.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear LWDOTCOM,

Thank you for taking the time to respond with your feedback on Tripadvisor after having recently stayed with us at De Vere Venues Whites, Bolton.

We very much value and appreciate your feedback and I am somewhat disappointed that the service levels that you have experienced on this occassion did not meet with your expectations.

One of the internal doors to the hotel reception was purposely kept locked to prevent cold air from entering into the building and a notice was displayed in front of the door to explain such.

We sincerely appreciate your constructive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to De Vere Venues Whites, Bolton in the very near future.

Warm regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspatria, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed on Friday night and have to say the hotel was lovely. Could hardly believe I only paid £20 for the room. Breakfast was an extra £15, but worth it. Thought we were going to have problems with youngsters running up and down the corridors, but my husband asked them to keep the noise down and it was fine. Planning our next stay already. Well done everyone

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Elizabeth S,

Many thanks for your recent review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay with us at De Vere Venues Whites, Bolton.

I am delighted to receive your feedback and your very kind comments have been passed on to all members of my team.

The team at De Vere Venues Whites continually strive to provide excellent levels of service throughout the property and it is our pleasure to hear such favourable feedback from your kind self.

Thank you once again again and we look forward to welcoming you back to De Vere Venues Whites in the very near future,

Kind Regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bolton Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Whites Hotel

Address: De Havilland Way | Horwich, Bolton BL6 6SF, England (Formerly De Vere Whites Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bolton Whites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, luxury 125 bedroom hotel with glazed atrium lobby, glass lifts, business & leisure facilities.The hotel is fully integrated into the Macron Stadium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bolton Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Whites Bolton
Hotel De Vere Whites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolton Whites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.