We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bolton Whites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bolton Whites Hotel to your Saves list
Bolton Whites Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Havilland Way | Horwich, Bolton BL6 6SF, England (Formerly De Vere Whites Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
manchester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Recently stayed for one night on Christmas party, although have stayed on a few other occasions. The overall experience was very good with nothing major to complain about. The hotel is quite modern and lively at this festive time. Staff were pleasant and very helpful. The bedroom was a disapointment being very small although clean, tidy, and lacking nothing - except space. The gym and pool were very good. The bar area exceptional although drinks quite expensive for an out of town hotel. Location ideal for motorways with short distance to Bolton or Manchester town centres. Breakfast was fine and christmas party was exceptional.

Overall very good and will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear WEVSI,

Many thanks for the lovely feedback which you recently left after staying at De Vere Venues Whites Bolton.

I am delighted to learn that you had a fantastic time and we look forward to welcoming you back to De Vere Venues Whites in the very near future.

Kind regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    200
    104
    30
    20
See reviews for
89
187
30
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
oldham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

booked a" classic double "on an offer but got 2 singles shoved together with the quilt barely covering them..
on getting in them discovered that they had a bigger dip than the big one at Blackpool...
room no better than a travelodge...
perhaps these are the "offer" rooms..
reception and leisure club staff very pleasant and room/hotel clean and tidy but wouldnt stop again unless they renew the beds....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear WoodyOldham,

Many thanks for the feedback which you recently left after staying over at De Vere Venues Whites Bolton.

Please be advised that a process has been implemented earlier on this year to replace all of our beds and i apologise in that you were allocated one of our rooms which was a zip and link bed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to De Vere Venues Whites in the very near future.

Kind regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Visited the Reflections restaurant for my nephews 21st having travelled up from Bournemouth. Room and table overlooks the BW pitch and is a spectacular view. Since there was no game on, it meant we had the whole room to ourselves. Team at DeVere's were excellent - super friendly and very accomodating. Nothing was to much trouble - even allowing the birthday boy to chose whatever he fancied to eat was a really nice touch. The whole group felt well looked after - and with nobody pushing us to leave - it was relaxed afternoon with the whole family who do not get together very often. I was secretly wondering if we would be made to feel like second class citizens since were not premier league players - but reality couldnt have been further from the truth. Service was very good and shout outs for Beth Mason, Emma Murray, Katie Voce and another female colleague (didnt get the name, but dark hair if it helps) from the bar who ran back and forth looking after our every drink need. Food was good lunchtime fare -though not spectacular which was the only slight negative - but that didn't really matter since the whole experience was terrific. Thank you for a memorable afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear BournemouthCowboy,

Many thanks for the lovely feedback which you recently left after celebrating your nephews 21st in our Reflections Restaurant at De Vere Venues Whites Bolton.

I am delighted to learn that your party had a fantastic time and we look forward to welcoming you back to De Vere Venues Whites in the very near future.

Kind regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here for one night and have stayed here before.

This is an imposing building which forms part of the Reebok stadium. Some of the rooms overlook the pitch, as does the restaurant. Eating in the restaurant was an odd experience. The food was, perhaps, slightly better than a Toby Carvery, but only just. The service seemed hurried. As the restaurant was nowhere near capacity, this seemed unnecessary.

The place is just beginning to look a little worn at the edges now. The bar prices are, as one would expect, on the hefty side. Most of the guests here during the week are not paying out of their own pocket though. The bar was sticky and need wiping.

Breakfast is buffet style and the range of food on offer is OK, but could only be described as 'warm'. The glass I used for my orange juice was stuck to the surface, which tells me that cleanliness was not thorough.

The rooms are a good size and the beds are comfortable. The shower blasts hot water properly and the towels were a good size and fresh. My only gripe here is that a cathode ray television sits where a flat screen should be. It is nearly 2013!.

By and large then, this hotel is adequate. Nothing to write home about, but if all you want is a meal and a bed for the night, it will do.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Officerincharge,

Many thanks for your review which you kindly left on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at De Vere Venues Whites.

I would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the very best regards for 2013.

Warm regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here a few times when De Vere have there special offers on rooms. A night away in a nice hotel for £19 room only is very good. Clean hotel with friendly helpful staff. Rooms are nice and beds comfortable. Small swimming pool, hot tub, sauna and steam room. Good shopping development behind with plenty of places to eat and a large Vue cinema. Not too far away from Manchester and if you like football you'll love the restaurant with it's view over the pitch!!

Room Tip: If you are a family and booking 2 rooms, get the one with the connecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Julie S,

Many thanks for the lovely feedback which you recently left on Trip Advisor after having stayed with us at De Vere Venues Whites, Bolton.

I am delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable experience with us and my team and I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and until then remain with.

Kind Regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel because of a deal they had sent us. The hotel was in an excellent position for either watching Bolton play football or for wandering around the middlebrook shopping centre. Our room was very comfortable and the breakfast was very varied with a lot of choice. If any more deals come our way we would not hesitate to go back to this hotel for maybe more than one night. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The pool and jaccuzzi were very clean and not busy either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Audreyellen

Many thanks for the lovely feedback which you recently left on Trip Advisor after having stayed with us at De Vere Venues Whites, Bolton.

I am delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable experience with us and my team and I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and until then remain with.

Kind Regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

First thing I noticed was the very large room.The hospitality tray was spot on. The room was clean but some very minor things let it down. We stayed in room 104, the picture frame has what looks to be tin foil around it and its coming part quite badly. The bed isnt the comfiest. Its 2 x single beds put together and i found myself falling between the two! My backs a bit sore this morning.
However the staff are excellent, the lady on the reception was very helpful and friendly as were the staff who made our lovely hot chocolates before bed. I will be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whites1, General Manager at Bolton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Andy L,

Many thanks for your very kind feedback which you recently left on Tripadvisor.

My team and I are truly delighted to receive such lovely feedback from your kindself and we look forward to welcoming you back to De Vere Venues Whites in the very near future.

Warm regards,


Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bolton Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Whites Hotel

Address: De Havilland Way | Horwich, Bolton BL6 6SF, England (Formerly De Vere Whites Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bolton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Bolton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bolton Whites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, luxury 125 bedroom hotel with glazed atrium lobby, glass lifts, business & leisure facilities.The hotel is fully integrated into the Macron Stadium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Bolton Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Whites Bolton
Hotel De Vere Whites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolton Whites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.