We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish and chips in the North West!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olympus Fish & Chip Restaurant

Olympus Fish & Chip Restaurant
37-39 Great Moor Street, Bolton BL1 1SW, England
01204 523 887
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 278 Restaurants in Bolton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Preston, Lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in the North West!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have been to Olympus many times and have never been let down. Very reasonably priced and some interesting dishes! Always hot and tasty, definitely worth a visit!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    35
    18
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable pre-theatre experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our first visit to Bolton to support a friend performing at the theatre. The theatre experience included a meal at Olympus fish and chip restaurant prior to the show in the company of our friend. As this was his treat we cannot comment on price, but from the very moment that we entered the restaurant and were weclomed in such a personal manner, it was clear that this was rather a special place. The fish was of excellent quality - and could we be much further from the sea? - the service most attentive - and the atmosphere even further enhanced by the live piano music that was played throughout our meal. An excellent start to what was to prove a most memorable evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Breakfast visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A very friendly greeting awaited us and the service with a smile continued throughout.
Quick service - just what we needed.
Nice milky coffee.
The only criticism from the visit is that the bacon was too salty for us.
For a "chippy" the interior design (with grand piano and lovely light fittings) was pretty spectacular - I think it is probably what a famous fish and chip proprietor from Guiseley would have done if he was starting out in business today.
The washrooms were probably the best and most modern and cleanest (they had just been mopped) I've seen in a restaurant (never mind a chippy) in many a year.
Top notch.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“lovely fish & chip lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

went to olympus for lunch today on a family trip, we haven't been to Bolton for a long time. was greeted at the door by a friendly, and efficient gentleman, although very busy the staff looked after us very well. Great fish & chips 2 haddock lunches, 1 cod lunch and 1 child's nuggets meal. most of all i was most impressed with the good old fashioned customer service, gent saying hello, welcome with a genuine happy smiley face, saying goodbye holding the door open. beautiful. It may not be cheap, but if you want cheap i'm sure you can find it. just not here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“What is all the fuss about?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were attracted to the Olympus by the people queuing to get in. It must be good, we all thought. We waited about 15 minutes, which is 15 minutes more than I would usually wait, before being shown to our table. Then you have to go and queue to order. We went for the pensioners special at £7:20, wanting mushy peas we spent more. When it came it was a disappointment, not only was it a small portion but the fish was greasy and the portion of peas was about enough for one not the three of us. "Tartar sauce?" "Of course Sir." But when it came, in a small bowl, it had a skin on it and looked as though we weren't the first to use it. Yes, the toilets and the piano are great, I even tipped the piano player but he carried on playing, but the food was very poor. I can only think that there aren't to many eateries in Bolton, or the populace don't get out much!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympus Fish & Chip Restaurant also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Olympus Fish & Chip Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympus Fish & Chip Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.