We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Salsa

La Salsa
54 Bridge Street, Bolton BL1 2EQ, England
01204 364330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 278 Restaurants in Bolton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I really enjoy the experience here and love having a variety of tapas. The service is usually good.I would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    54
    24
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonning Common, Berks
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Almost good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The feature of La salsa is it offers a fixed price (£15) and you select from from 44 tapas dishes, having as many as you like. Not designed to help with the obesity epidemic! Beers and wine were good, but unfortunately the tapas dishes were very hit and miss. Good gambas, but very ordinary meatballs and patatas bravas. I arrived quite late (although they claim to serve until 11 pm) and I had a distinct feeling some of my dishes were thrown together very rapidly so chef could go home. A little more effort and it could be pretty good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noth west england
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

hard review to write as it is a mixed experience. from the outside it has no doorstep appeal looking more like a greasy spoon type café, brightly(harshly) lit, yucky suspended polystyrene tiled ceiling ,dingy paint. As we were a group of friends who went with someone who knew and regularly visited the place, we ventured forth. We were met by a lovely jolly waitress who explained how the 'eat as much as you like' worked, The food it very tasty, freshly cooked and arrives promptly, the sangria pleasant but the décor does not tempt you to linger. it is a shame because for a small investment in the cosmetics, it would change the whole ambience and dining experience.
overall I would return if with a group of friends as the food is good and offers value for money with pleasant staff but its not the place if you are seeking an intimate meal

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not a professional environment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It is a whikle since i had been here. Last time it was good and excellent value. This time i was highly dissappointed.
The food is ok. The drinks are not as good value as they no longer sell jugs of cordial or beer. The service was efficient enough but a smile would be nice and the waitress was not to happy we did not want mayonannaise on the dishes as the chefs needed to prepare the dishes quickly(all the dishes not in a sauce seem to come with mayonnaise which the kids don't like). Also a little improvement on the ability to speak English would help. I think because you just have to read the numbers from the menu for your orde it is presumed the waitresses don't need to be able to converse in English.
During the 90mins we were dining there was a child stood bored in the kitchen entrance staring out to the restaurant. It looks like his parent(s) must be working there. Just not the appropraite image for a restaurant.
The toilets are miniscule and the steps to them very steep. If i was a large person or disabled i would struggle for sure to go to the toilet. The tables are not very nice (sticky like a pubs at closing time). My chair had a broken bar between the legs.
Bizarrely the front of the menu states the restaurant is not related to any other La Salsa restaurant in the area, yet the menu is exactly the same and the prepared food the same as their namesake in Horwich. The menu also has not changed since i was last there many months ago..
We all left dissapointed. Lst time i ate here it needed improvement but i forgave that as the value was good. However standards have dropped in all areas at the restaurant and so we won't be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Tasty tapas and piping hot paella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Absolutely fantastic Latin food, served in a warm ambiance. The perfect environment to celebrate with friends. Some of the best Spanish food I've tasted outside of Espania. Can't fault the food. Attentive service and a cosy environment. Not only that it's affordable and excellent value for money

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Salsa also viewed

Horwich, Bolton
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to La Salsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Salsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.